Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very 'eavy, very 'umble, and very good
This was the first Uriah Heep album that i bought .It was recommended to me some 14 years ago now, having never heard of them or one of their songs , i bought it and was glad i did.

If you like rock music of the early 70's e.g. purple, sabbath, zeppelin, etc, then you'll like this too.

It is a great debut album, the music is very raw and there is a...
Published on 14 Nov 2006 by K. EDE

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING DEBUT
from a band always destined to play 2nd fiddle to zep/sabbath and purple,like wishbone ash and hawkwind this band never got the credit they deserved,certainly better music would be made in future albums but the class was there to be heard in gypsy/dreamare/lucy blues etc a variety of styles all on the one record,first heep album i bought,thanks to the sleeve,those were...
Published on 6 Dec 2008 by Mr Blackwell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars very 'eavy, very 'umble, and very good, 14 Nov 2006
By 
K. EDE "music lover" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
This was the first Uriah Heep album that i bought .It was recommended to me some 14 years ago now, having never heard of them or one of their songs , i bought it and was glad i did.

If you like rock music of the early 70's e.g. purple, sabbath, zeppelin, etc, then you'll like this too.

It is a great debut album, the music is very raw and there is a great variety of tunes.

The late David Byron had an amazing voice and vocal range, Mick Box and Ken Hensley both provide top quality guitar and keyboard playing, that along with the rest of the band makes for some great music.

Uriah Heep were slated by the critics and yet have put up with it to this day , still around and still touring !

I give this album 4 stars because its not my favorite U H album,

but that said it is well worth a buy .

So if you've been sitting there for ages wondering what UH are like ? try it , you'll like it .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'Umble rumble, 20 Mar 2007
By 
D. J. H. Thorn "davethorn13" (Hull, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
Slaughtered by the music press from the beginning, Uriah Heep were always a prime target for the cool brigade. Indeed, they were one of the most obvious bands to go up against the wall when punk rock hit town. That's a shame, as this debut album reveals that they were a proficient outfit with some craft and imagination. 'Gypsy', which opens the album, is the oustanding track by some distance. The striking opening bars make up for a protracted introduction, David Byron draws you straight into the story the song tells, and the main theme drives the whole thing forward. In the six minutes allotted, the band vary the combinations between guitar, organ and rhythm section. Across the album, they also vary their style.

If there is a problem with UH, it is that, whatever they tried, there was always someone else who did it better. Deep Purple rather stole their thunder using the same band format, having the edge on musical talent, finesse and, sometimes, material. That doesn't make UH a pointless exercise, however, as they were no Purple clones and much of their music rocks harder. Some of the material is a tad ordinary: 'Lucy Blues' is competent, but blues was a dead end for a band like this. 'I'll Keep On Trying' isn't all bad, but hasn't aged too well and it's one of those tracks on which th band seem to forget to rock. Even so, this is the first of a series of five fine rock albums by UH in the early 1970s.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some great stand-out tracks, but also some filler., 18 Feb 2009
By 
J. Robson (Dorset, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two or three stand-out tracks on this album make "Very 'Eavy..." a must-have, namely Gypsy and Dreammare (both stunning), and - if you can swallow a vague distrust of sentimental-anti-war-ballads - Come Away Melinda.

A lot of the rest is vaguely bluesy filler.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING DEBUT, 6 Dec 2008
By 
Mr Blackwell (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
from a band always destined to play 2nd fiddle to zep/sabbath and purple,like wishbone ash and hawkwind this band never got the credit they deserved,certainly better music would be made in future albums but the class was there to be heard in gypsy/dreamare/lucy blues etc a variety of styles all on the one record,first heep album i bought,thanks to the sleeve,those were the days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Debut album from a much under-rated rock band, 12 Nov 2004
This review is from: Very 'eavy, Very 'umble (Audio CD)
Uriah Heep was never a cool outfit. Second-stringers in the heavy metal stakes, like a poor person's Deep Purple. Now after many years of disinterest, consigned to the bargain bins of eternity.
Except that, on this evidence, David Byron and Mick Box had created a red-hot rocking band of which they should be proud. This reissue of the 1970 debut album, with additional tracks, is a real eye-opener. There is archetypal 70's heavy prog on display, with screaming guitar, wailing male falsetto and throbbing organ (Gypsy)! There is unexpected light and shade, with acoustic guitars and relatively sensitive lyrics (Come Away Melinda). There are rare bonus tracks (including well-recorded BBC sessions and B-sides) to make this a worthwhile purchase even for owners of the original 33rpm vinyl. Also included is Bird of Prey, which was included on the US release of Very 'eavy Very 'umble but which, in the UK, was held back until the follow-up album Salisbury was released in 1971.
All in all, an unexpectedly enjoyable romp through nostalgic heaviness. Time for a thorough re-evaluation of these early 70's progsters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE START OF SOMETHING BIG, 23 Jan 2007
By 
P. Heed "DJ MUSIC LOVER" (CLACTON ON SEA ESSEX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
GREAT FIRST ALBUM, SAW THEM LIVE LOTS IN EARLY 70'S GREAT LIVE AND STILL GOING MUST BE DOING SOMETHING RIGHT. WELL WORTH A PURCHASE IF YOU LIKE ORGAN GUITAR ROCK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! Well worth buying!, 10 Dec 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
First saw Uriah Heep in the early seventies on the Students' Union circuit when they were promoting this album. Great night, it was. Obviously, I still have the vinyl in pristine condition, but will be getting the cd version to protect the original classic.
To my mind, Mick Box is an outstanding guitarist, who can hold his own in any company, past or present.
So do yourself a favour, and buy it. You won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid stuff!, 10 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
Worthwhile purchase. Solid mainstream hard rock early material from these long stayers of the rock music world. Great to hear again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the first, 20 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
the first album wot can i say this is the one that started it all its excellent if your a heep fan you must own this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wow, 28 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble (Audio CD)
Haven't heard this in nearly 30 years, but brought it for the nostalgia factor and really glad I did. It's as fresh as it was all those years ago
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble
Very 'Eavy Very 'Umble by Uriah Heep (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews