Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece.
Teen Wolf is a very fine film, which seems to be one of the forgotten links in the Michael J. Fox cannon. The film centres around the lead character, M.J.Fox, a high school student and member of the school basketball team, who in his teenage years suddenly realises that he is a werewolf. Hilarity ensues, with the lycantrophy aptly serving as a metaphor for difficult...
Published on 12 Dec 2003

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for Part One, 1 Star for Part Two
'Teen Wolf' stars a young Michael J Fox as a high school student who sucks at basketball, doesn't have much luck with the ladies and is in general a bit of a geek. That is until one day when he finds out that he is a werewolf. He uses this to his advantage and begins to get the girls, win at basketball and even become something of a legend in school.

The...
Published on 9 May 2008 by Dr Evil


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece., 12 Dec 2003
By A Customer
Teen Wolf is a very fine film, which seems to be one of the forgotten links in the Michael J. Fox cannon. The film centres around the lead character, M.J.Fox, a high school student and member of the school basketball team, who in his teenage years suddenly realises that he is a werewolf. Hilarity ensues, with the lycantrophy aptly serving as a metaphor for difficult adolescant development in the early stages of the film. There has
never been a more talented teen movie actor than M J Fox and his talents are clear for all to see here> Especially memorable scenes include the heartwarming scene in which Fox discusses his problem with his father and some car roof surfing and breakdancing> You wont forget this masterpiece>
The sequel is also included and includes the teen wolf driving a red ferrari> Unmissable>
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 4 Stars for Part One, 1 Star for Part Two, 9 May 2008
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
'Teen Wolf' stars a young Michael J Fox as a high school student who sucks at basketball, doesn't have much luck with the ladies and is in general a bit of a geek. That is until one day when he finds out that he is a werewolf. He uses this to his advantage and begins to get the girls, win at basketball and even become something of a legend in school.

The second film in the set , 'Teen Wolf Too' is similar to the first but stars Jason Bateman (who!?) as the furry teenager who is the cousin of Fox's character in the first film. The story is pretty much a re-hash of the original but is about boxing instead of b-ball and is at university instead of high school.

I got this for the small price of just 3 in my local supermarkert, so I can't complain about the price, even if this package is only really worth buying for the Michael J Fox film (yes, the second one is that bad). It's not the best movie ever, espeially when compared to Fox's other classic 80's movies like the Back to the Future series, Doc Hollywood and Secret of my Success but is still a good laugh with some good make-up for an 80's film and is definitely worth picking up if you can get it cheap. Just don't bother with the second movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly enjoyable 80's flick, 2 Sep 2004
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
________________________________________________________________
Teen Wolf follows the adventures of Scott Howard, a normal, shy teenage basketball player (played by Michael J Fox on top charismatic form) who has always dreamed of being special. So when he finds out that he is actually a werewolf, all his dreams come true.
When all the kids in school find out, instead of getting very scared (which would be ALOT more probable if this were true story) they seem to look at Scott's new-found werewolfism as a good thing and welcome his new hairy self with open arms. Suddenly, he's the most popular kid in school. He gets respect, the best looking girl in school and due to his, ahem, 'accelerated werewolf strength and speed', he can now play basketball better than any pro.
Totally bizarre and ridiculous, I know, but that's half the fun of watching this movie.
The acting is actually quite good, considering the movie's obvious low budget and overall silliness. As I already mentioned, Michael J. Fox really does shine in this movie and is supported brillianty by a very welcoming cast.
The werewolf "FX" (ie-makeup) is a little crude but it is done well enough to just about suspend disbelief.
As a whole, Teen Wolf has got all the ingredients that make teen comedies work and then some (wolf). It's got laughs, nudity, a valuble life lesson (in this case- "Just be yourself") and an all-round simplicity that many of today's writers/directors should take note of.
4/5
________________________________________________________________
Unfortunately though, the less said about the powerfully bad and rushed sequel, the better. Never before have I seen a more perfect example for the dreaded "Exactly-the-same-as-the-first-movie-only-not-as-good" syndrome. Michael J. Fox made the wise decision of not returning to be in this messy, messy state of affairs. Instead, we get Jason (Who?) Bateman who trys so very hard to hold the torch that Fox passed to him but falls ever so flat on his face.
Oh, and on top of all that, the whole movie happens to be boring as hell.
0/5
_______________________________________________________________
So when you buy this DVD, don't think you're getting any kind outstanding value because there's two movies on it. You're not. You're only buying one movie. Trust me.
_______________________________________________________________
-Koeago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic., 25 Oct 2005
By 
x-101 (Manchester, Lancashire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
'Teen Wolf' 1985
Michael J Fox is superb in this High School Comedy from 1985. He plays the character (Scott Howard) who is a Basketball Player in his local school team. The film is full of great comedy moments and has a good story.
(Scott Howard) works in his Dad's hardware store part-time, his Dad is played by (James Hampton). During class time he's after the attention of Pamela Wells but the person who truly loves him is his best friend Boof.
The build up to when he becomes a werewolf is excellent, on the night he turns into the wolf he finds his Dad is also a Werewolf, and it runs in the family. He becomes very popular as the werewolf and becomes an incredible Basketball Player and finally gets the attention he's wanted from Pamela Wells.
In the end he finds being the werewolf brings him attention from the wrong people and realises people just want him to be the wolf, not himself. He plays the Final Basketball game as himself even though most want him to be the wolf and he wins the game, he then realises Boof was the true friend who stuck by him through everything and he turns away from Wells.
A classic film, not to be missed.
'Teen Wolf Too' 1987
(Jason Bateman) plays the werewolf this time as (Todd Howard), he's a decent Actor but the story just doesn't work in 'Teen Wolf Too'. It's basically the same story as 'Teen Wolf' only this time the sport being played is Boxing and (Todd Howard) is the Cousin of (Scott Howard) from 'Teen Wolf'. (James Hampton) plays the Uncle of (Todd Howard) who is the Dad of (Scott Howard) in the first film, sound confusing?, it is!. When I first watched the film I found the story was too complicated, it took a few views of the first 20 minutes to get to know the Characters.
Also it is nowhere near as funny as 'Teen Wolf' and I must admit I got pretty bored watching it after 40 minutes.
This is just a weak copy, I would give it 2/5, and the 5 goes to 'Teen Wolf'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Very Much Films of Their Times., 7 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
Some films simply cannot age well, and this is a fact with the Teen Wolf movies. I loved the first one when it came out, and loathed the sequel. But in all honesty the first movie isn't that great either.

It's all rather silly and stupid, and lacks any genuine humour anyway despite the craziness of the story. It's nice to see a young and healthy Michael J Fox, who just plays an extension of Marty McFly. But surely Teen Wolf is really a metaphor for puberty and nothing much else.

The sequel reeks of a cash in. By the time this hit Fox was a Hollywood A star and wouldn't go anywhere near the franchise.

One word of caution if you want to show this to kids. There are quite a few sex and drug references, even though this is a PG film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh my! I forgot what PG rated films were like before the addition of the 12 certification., 8 Mar 2013
By 
D. MALTBY - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
I hadn't seen teen wolf in years and this was a fav as a child and I remain a fan of Michael J Fox. This didn't have the same impact as other 80's Movies that I have revisited in my adult years but nostalgia is a great thing. I brought this twin set as the single was more expensive and I hadn't seen the Jason Bateman sequel. THERE ARE NO WORDS!!!!! There are great Movies which my friends and I refer to as "leave your brain at the door Movies" great in many ways and because they don't require much if any thinking. After watching the sequel to a 80's classic and I stress THE SINGLE DVD WAS MORE EXPENSIVE! its a good job I left my brain at the door as I would now be scrambling mindlessly over the world wide web looking for a inattentive company who's ground breaking technology offered brain washing services. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Still so much fun., 2 Aug 2011
By 
Chris Morse "faraway_pictures" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
Nobody plays the teenager in a bit of a muddled mid life crisis as well as Michael J Fox. He is basically playing the same character he was in back to the Future here, but of course with a Werewolf tendency.
You've all seen it on the TV, it's still good fun and highly watchable.
The sequal I'd not watched before. Old sequals don't have a great track record, so never bothered with it. Which was a shame, because it turned out to also be a very easy to like movie.
A great little bit of nostalgia that lives up to the memory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great, 2 Feb 2004
By 
twirlinmerlin (Darlaston, West Midlands United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
great wicked movie top notch took me right back to the dayz of my childhood howling great the order took no time to get here packaged great thankyou Amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant 80s easy-watch film, 18 Dec 2005
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
Back to the future, which also stars Michael J fox is one of my favourite films of all time and although Teen wolf is not quite in the same league it is also very good.
Being a basketball fan and occasional player i particularly like some of the moves the wolf performs on court. But offcourt this is an enjoyable and funny story with a moral message riding in the background throughout (just watch what happens to the 2 main girls in the film)
Having not seen Teenwolf for years, i was still very pleased with how it has stood the test of time. For me it is still as good today as it was 20 years ago.
I strongly recommend this great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great film, 19 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] (DVD)
old time great film always loved it & the best actors in the film as well i'd recomend it 2 anybody
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD]
Teen Wolf/Teen Wolf Too [DVD] by Rod Daniel (DVD - 2004)
10.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews