Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cary Grant at his best.
I Was A Male War Bride is one of the best Cary Grant comedies.
The format follows the Howard Hawks format: Boy meets girl, boys and girl suffer from miscommunication, they make up and finally fall in love. You know from the being where the film is going, but sit back and enjoy the journey.
The film is a little slow to start, but don't let that put you off, the...
Published on 15 Dec. 2000

versus
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible comedy
In post-war Germany, a WAC (Ann Sheridan) and a French Captain (Cary Grant) fight like cats and dogs, quickly marry, and then face endless red tape when he tries to immigrate to the US with his new bride.

Wow, did I hate this movie. It wasn't funny, it was horribly miscast, and it felt like it would never end. Grant inexplicably plays a Frenchman, even...
Published on 13 Oct. 2012 by Kona


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cary Grant at his best., 15 Dec. 2000
By A Customer
I Was A Male War Bride is one of the best Cary Grant comedies.
The format follows the Howard Hawks format: Boy meets girl, boys and girl suffer from miscommunication, they make up and finally fall in love. You know from the being where the film is going, but sit back and enjoy the journey.
The film is a little slow to start, but don't let that put you off, the final third of the film is by far the funniest, particularly when Grant is looking for somewhere to sleep. No one can match Grant for his 'everything that can go wrong, will go wrong scenes'. If in doubt give this film a go - I don't think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime comedy, 2 Mar. 2009
By 
Philadelphus (New Quay, Wales) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
I have loved this film since I first saw it some 40 years ago. I still do. And this despite my never having seen the appeal of the suave Cary Grant - definitely not a romantic hero to me. But in the right comedy he makes me laugh more than almost anyone else. "The right comedy" is 1930's or 40's with a strong female opponent. The best of all is "Bringing Up Baby", also directed by Howard Hawks and also at one point sticking Cary Grant in women's clothing. This is a strong runner-up.

Ann Sheridan gives as good as she gets and seems to be having terrific fun, especially on the long motor-cycle journey through post-war Germany (lots for the social historian). Cary Grant gives his usual performance in this sort of screwball affair, but what else would you want? In the final third, after the marriage, when they are unable to find anywhere to sleep he is superb. Small parts are wonderfully taken.

Pure joy, and makes recent Hollywood comedies seem vapid and bland (and where are the strong women?)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Government forms are the same every where, 5 April 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
The time, just after WWII. The place Occupied Germany. After two people that clearly dislike each other have been forced to work together, French Capt. Henri Rochard (Cary Grant) and U.S. Lt. Catherine Gates (Ann Sheridan) they decide the only thing the can do is get married. All this would be fine except for one thing. The U.S. government forms for bringing a spouse back to the U.S. assumes the spouse is female (hence bride.) After several attempts to correct this oversight it is apparent the there is only one way to get on board the ship. A horse is missing a tail and a lanky spouse is having problems with high heals. Will this work or is it just the beginning?
There are many great one-liners. Also misinterpretations and some slapstick moments. Through all of this you get the Grant expressions. The film itself was made in 1949 in several locations in Württemberg, Germany.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Funniest Film I have seen in a long time, 6 Dec. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
Cary Grant is brilliant and so is the female lead, Ann Sheridan.
It is really funny, predictable in parts, but all ages will be laughing.
it is in black and white, but dont let this put you off, if you dont normally watch B&W films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic you must have, 3 Oct. 2011
By 
Kristina Suder (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
This is a classic you never stop laughing at - even if you see it a hundred times. Cary Grant knows how to deliver a line!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ...and this is how SHERIDAN TOOK GRANT!, 10 Feb. 2013
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
Funny and romantic occupation comedy shows the better side of Grant and Sheridan. He's forced to go through a series of humiliations (a la Bringing Up Baby) before and after marrying no-nonsense Sheridan. In order to get on a ship with his wife he's even forced into a VERY unconvincing drag (remember, we're talking about Cary Grant here). Very nice photography and directing mask a patched-together story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice Place, Germany, 1947, 19 Oct. 2013
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
Quite a biting satire with 'French' Cary (no accent, no excuse for not having it) doing his thing this time with Ann Sheridan, delightfully sparky and 'mannish' as Cary has to endure numerous feminine underminings of his 'French' masculinity. Some sparkling moments of late screwball comedy in Hawksian highjinks of post-war daftness. Altogether delightful if 15 minutes too long.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I was a MALE?? War Bride, 11 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
What a great show, Cary Grant was a bit odd playing a French Officer but I can see why that had to be, as he after all was being immigrated to USA as a War Bride.. many laughs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars funny, 20 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
Bit tired of wrting reviews, but if you like good verbal sparring and a bit of light relief, then you can't go too far wrong with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ANOTHER GREAT FILM, 14 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] (DVD)
VERY ENJOYABLE. GREAT VIEWING. ANOTHER FILM BY THE GREAT CARY GRANT. HAVING SEEN THE FILM ON TV I WAS DELIGHTED TO GET THE DVD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949]
I Was A Male War Bride [DVD] [1949] by Howard Hawks (DVD - 2004)
£22.11
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews