Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best UK comedies ever
This DVD is the first series of the classic BBC comedy 'One Foot In The Grave', introducing one of the most memorable sitcom characters of all time, Victor Meldrew (Richard Wilson) and his wife Margaret (Annette Crosbie).

It all starts when security guard Victor has been forced to retire as his job has been replaced by an electronic box. This then sets Victor...
Published on 1 Oct 2007 by Dr Evil

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was disappointed by this DVD. The programs aired here in South Africa did not include the blasphemy that appeared in this DVD. While the swearing was perhaps in character the blasphemy was not necessary and was extremely offensive.
Published on 31 May 2011 by BLD


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best UK comedies ever, 1 Oct 2007
By 
Dr Evil (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is the first series of the classic BBC comedy 'One Foot In The Grave', introducing one of the most memorable sitcom characters of all time, Victor Meldrew (Richard Wilson) and his wife Margaret (Annette Crosbie).

It all starts when security guard Victor has been forced to retire as his job has been replaced by an electronic box. This then sets Victor on his journey through retirement, trying to cope with various health worries, troublesome youths, a swarm of bees, irritating friends and neighbours and a funny smell by the sideboard.

Overall this is one of the best and funniest comedy shows ever to come out of Britain and is an absolutely essential purchase that anyone young or old should enjoy. It is impossible not to love Victor's constant complaining and it will have you in stitches thoughout each and every episode. Although this series was made in 1989 it still seems very modern and has aged very well indeed and is one that can be watched and re-watched again and again, making this extremely great value for money. I'd give this DVD 10 out of 5 if I could!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't believe it... from the word go!, 12 Aug 2004
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Starting with Victor's early retirement at 60 after being replaced by a box Victor suddenly finds his world turning completely mad.
The first series is as funny as the rest thanks to brilliant writing, and outstanding talent from Richard Wilson (Victor) and Annette Crosbie (the ever patient Margaret). The format of each episode tends to be a few sub-plots of different events coming together a few mins before the end for the big laugh.
The DVD is nicely put together, the cover looks good and the menu is clear and easy to navigate. The audio is in good sounding stereo (heading for 2 decades old now) and includes English subtitles. Playback is in PAL format and Regions 2 and 4. Presented in its origional full picture (4:3) and consists of 6 episodes (Amazon lists above).
You may be expecting a little more in the extras department, but the 'Britain's best sitcom featurette' rounds the package off nicely.
Overall, a good first series set for any fan of the show. Lets hope series 2 follows soon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Start of a Fine Series, 7 Nov 2006
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Series One of "One Foot in the Grave" is, perhaps, more subdued than future series and is almost gentle by comparison. The six episodes here focus almost entirely on Victor, his wife Margaret, and Mrs Warbuoys. Less outrageous than later series, the episodes are still marvellously written and very funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars comedy genius., 28 Jun 2005
By 
withnail (Cambridge, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Absolute belter. After a long wait for the DVD release, revisiting these comic gems was an unbridled joy. David Renwick's beautifully complex, surreal, interwoven plots, jam-packed with laugh-out-loud jokes and moving sentiment, and the 'Swiss watch' comic timing of not just Richard Wilson, but all the cast, make this one of the finest comedy series I've ever seen. Often quite wrongly pigeonholed as a run of the mill sitcom, the episodes just get darker and darker as time goes on.
All good things must end, and I suppose they killed this one off at just about the right time, but the consistent high quality of this back catalogue means that Victor's legacy goes on....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Five Stars, 24 Oct 2005
By 
Bill W (Durango, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Some years ago a good friend from across the pond turned me on to this show. This hilarious series is an absolutely perfect balance of humor with an ever present reminder of the dark side of reality. At the time, various episodes were being sporadically aired on various PBS stations and I gleaned onto VHS every episode I could. Sadly, the Meldrews have long since faded from the airways over here. The smattering of episodes I was able to record are becoming no less faded and grainy from repeated play and custody battles with friends and realatives reluctant to surrender them. And now, finally, my hope and patience that someone over here might realize the genius of this series and market it in this neck of the woods has waned. Without regard for this region coding nonsense I've ordered all of the so far available series from Amazon UK. I'll get whatever equipment I have to to be able to watch these DVDs. Presumably, anyone reading this review will be able to view these discs without messing around with new equipment so you really have no excuse for failing to get your own copies of this fanatstic comedy. You'll laugh yourself silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome DVD! Perfect condition!, 26 May 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
Awesome DVD!

Perfect condition!

I love this SitCom and have had my collection for several years...When I had to replace DVD #1 you met the need! Thank You!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Subtle, 9 Jun 2010
By 
Annet Chabot - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
This really is splendid comedy, ever so subtle. Fortunately there are subtitles. Sometimes, however, specific phrases or words are used that refer to UK idiom with which I, being Dutch, am not familiar. So I ask my British friends and then I understand the pun. Overall it's a wonderful series. So far I only bought two dvds but I am certainly going to get the whole series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good comedy, 12 Sep 2009
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
I think in someway you can relate to this series. It is well done, the actors are really good and the humour at life is spot on. Really good comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The BEST TV Show Of All Time, 19 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
One Foot In The Grave is quite simply the greatest show of all time. It beats all the other 'great' sitcoms. Unlike 'Only Fools and Horses', everyone should buy this DVD as it just is not repeated apart from graveyard slots!
Go out and buy it- it will be the BEST investment you have ever and will ever make.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i dont believe how good this dvd is, 12 July 2005
This review is from: One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] (DVD)
one foot in the grave as we all know is one of the most popular comedy series of our times which now has come to dvd. we are launched into the troublesome life of that never happy complaining old man Victor Meldrew and the antics that he has to put with. as a huge fan i couldnt pass on buying the dvd and i havnt regretted it since. in all there are 6 episodes from series 1 to laugh the night away at and i found myself watching it over and over again to hear that hideous catchphrase..... i dont believe it. this dvd is well worth buying and every real fan should not be without it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD]
One Foot in the Grave - Series 1 [1990] [DVD] by Richard Wilson (DVD - 2004)
5.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews