Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there were chart justice, this would be number 1!
If you love Squeeze or Glenn Tilbrook's earlier solo work, you'll love this as well, no question. And if you love classic pop music (think the Beatles and the Kinks rather than Liberty X!), then look no further. This one grew on me a bit more slowly than The Incomplete Glenn Tilbrook, but it's now glued to my CD player for the long term. Glenn worked with amazing...
Published on 1 Jun 2004

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More pong than ping...
Not sure about this one, folks. Having bought and adored Incomplete (even now when I listen to it, I notice something that wasn't there before) I wondered how anything could possibly compare. Incomplete was quite dark in places, I really felt for Glenn on some of the tracks and it's good to hear that he's obviously happier now, but I'm disappointed with this one - it...
Published on 8 Jun 2004


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If there were chart justice, this would be number 1!, 1 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
If you love Squeeze or Glenn Tilbrook's earlier solo work, you'll love this as well, no question. And if you love classic pop music (think the Beatles and the Kinks rather than Liberty X!), then look no further. This one grew on me a bit more slowly than The Incomplete Glenn Tilbrook, but it's now glued to my CD player for the long term. Glenn worked with amazing musicians and songwriters to create a worthy successor to the Squeeze back catalogue, and a great companion to his manic and highly entertaining solo gigs. This album goes from goofy humour to introspectiveness without breaking a sweat. A total winner - highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lively, varied and brilliant return to form, 27 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
"Transatlantic Ping Pong" is superb - as good as some of Glenn's earliest recordings that have always been my favourites. The Squeeze songwriting team of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook wrote absolute classics in the 70s and 80s like "Cool For Cats", "Up the Junction", "Labelled With Love" and "Hourglass". They continued into the 90s with greater artistic success with "Some Fantastic Place", but less commercial success. Glenn Tilbrook wrote all the catchy melodies, played a superbly understated electric guitar and sang his heart out.
Now, he's brought out his second solo album. The single "Untouchable" is full of Glenn's characteristic hooks, twists, turns, key changes and lively production. But there's more depth to this collection than a single hummable poppy tune would have you believe. There's a darker underbelly in tracks such as "Hot Shaved Asian Teens", and pure comedy in the country ballad "The Genitalia of a Fool".
In short, it's an incredibly surprising return to form, with clear production, charming songs, a dynamic young band and a bit of bitterness thrown in to spice the whole thing up. Just classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's about time, 11 Jun 2004
By 
Craig (Washington, D.C. United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
Glenn has finally released the album he should have released a long time ago. After his disappointing first solo outing (The Incomplete Glenn Tilbrook) this comes closer to capturing the sound of his live act than anything he's ever done.
The beauty of his melodies are highlighted by the production instead of being muddied by them as in the case of his first solo effort as well as the last Squeeze CD. Stand out tracks include Neptune, Untouchable, Hot Shaved Asian Teens and Hostage. Glenn has also improved as a lyricist as he proves in Neptune--a scathing attack on former Squeeze partner Chris Difford. While not being as harsh as Lennon's How Do You Sleep, it comes pretty darn close. The bad blood must not be too deep though, as Difford co-wrote one song here (When Can I Be Your Friend)
This one could be a hit with the right promotion. He deserves it. He works harder than almost anyone else. If you haven't caught his live show, you should do, man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brillaintly crafted entertaining selection of songs, 27 May 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
"Transatlantic Ping Pong" is superb - as good as some of Glenn's earliest recordings that have always been my favourites. The Squeeze songwriting team of Chris Difford and Glenn Tilbrook wrote absolute classics in the 70s and 80s like "Cool For Cats", "Up the Junction", "Labelled With Love" and "Hourglass". They continued into the 90s with greater artistic success with "Some Fantastic Place", but less commercial success. Glenn Tilbrook wrote all the catchy melodies, played a superbly understated electric guitar and sang his heart out.
Now, he's brought out his second solo album. The single "Untouchable" is full of Glenn's characteristic hooks, twists, turns, key changes and lively production. But there's more depth to this collection than a single hummable poppy tune would have you believe. There's a darker underbelly in tracks such as "Hot Shaved Asian Teens", and pure comedy in the country ballad "The Genitalia of a Fool".
In short, it's an incredibly surprising return to form, with clear production, charming songs, a dynamic young band and a bit of bitterness thrown in to spice the whole thing up. Just classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars untouchable glen, 26 Feb 2006
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
Simply a great album from Glen Tilbrook, his second solo attempt. The tital track, Untouchable, is Glen at his best as all fans will testify to. For me , the best track is entitled Ray and Me, a lovely song reflecting on Glen's care-free childhood with the added touch of long lost friendship we all can relate to. The humour of Genitalia of a Fool is worth buying the cd for on its own. I'm sure anyone who gives this album the time will love it and play it again and again, I know I do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars More pong than ping..., 8 Jun 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
Not sure about this one, folks. Having bought and adored Incomplete (even now when I listen to it, I notice something that wasn't there before) I wondered how anything could possibly compare. Incomplete was quite dark in places, I really felt for Glenn on some of the tracks and it's good to hear that he's obviously happier now, but I'm disappointed with this one - it didn't jump out of the speakers at me. The band's good, the sense of humour is still there, but not a classic for me. Still love and respect the man though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Transatlantic Ping Pong, 31 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A Great album from one of the best singer/songwriters to come out of this country. His music just gets better and better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars At least 5 very good songs., 12 Nov 2011
By 
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
The first 3 songs on the album are totally brilliant and then there are about 4 other good songs. This is more than you can expect from any album I feel. Plus he's a great bloke and fantastic live!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars When Skill and Greatness Are Not The Same, 23 Jun 2004
By 
Juan Mobili (Valley Cottage, NY USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
This is one of those albums that I find hard to review. Both, because of what I admire in it and what I find frustrating, makes its rating a challenge on exercising fairness. Actually, if you read the reviews written prior to mine, you'll find that I may not be the only one having equally, arguably opposite reactions to the material here.
First, let me say what I do not only respect but cherish about "Transatlantic Ping Pong." Tilbrook, in his own right, is a master "song-craftsman," each song –even those I'm not particularly bowled over by– demonstrates a level of songwriting skill that can put to shame many people currently getting five stars, in the Pop & Rock scene today.
It is delightful to listen to Tilbrook's ability to develop melodies, seamlessly blend lyrics, arrange tastefully, and top everything off with a singular voice that has not lost its touch.
That said, when compared to prior output –perhaps I'm thinking of Squeeze more than his first solo album– what becomes apparent is that "high compositional skill" and “songwriting genius” are not, conclusively, the same thing.
By and large, most of the songs in this CD feel like Tilbrook plagiarizing Tilbrook, impressive in their execution but lacking in originality or any obvious attempt to push musical boundaries.
Of course, there are exceptions, "Untouchable" is a solid and honorable single choice, and "Ray and Me" is a Pop gem. As far as the rest, it ranges from the "well done but already done better" to –in my opinion– witty, somewhat self-indulgent exercises like "Hot Shaved Asian Teens” or “Genitalia Of A Fool.”
Perhaps you can blame my comments as too harsh, I’d rather suggest that you consider them a tribute to the high expectations I had from a great songwriter who has given us so many classic Pop beauties. So, this may disappoint you if you expect, like me, gems from a man so capable of producing them.
In the other hand, if you will be satisfied with grooving to a mood and sound that, although unsurprising, can still hold its own with most of the Pop being done these days, this album may turn up to be a four or five-star choice, for you.
Lastly if what you are looking for is some of that Squeeze magic, you may be more gratified with Chris Difford’s solo album, released a couple of years ago.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 15 Nov 2014
By 
Mr. A. Finlayson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Transatlantic Ping Pong (Audio CD)
Disappointing from such a great song writer..but thats a personal opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Transatlantic Ping Pong
Transatlantic Ping Pong by Glenn Tilbrook (Audio CD - 2008)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews