Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


59 of 63 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Everything a terrahawks fan could possibly want
I love terrahawks and it was the first programme I clearly remember watching as a child in the 1980s. I was horrified by Zelda but loved watching the episodes over and over again on our first ever family video recorder. I am 23 now , not scared of Zelda so much , but I still adore this series. Terrahawks is bright , fun , exciting and very inventive in its storylines.The...
Published on 16 Sep 2004 by Mr. Paul M. Sheehan

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic let down by a poor transfer (Terrahawks The Complete Series [DVD] [1983])
Amazon have a habit of putting reviews for one product against another of a similar name, so I want to make it clear this is about Terrahawks The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] released by Reflection (revfilms.co.uk).

This edition has one of the worst transfers to DVD I have ever encountered. Clearly they were taken from old VHS tapes, not the original source...
Published 12 months ago by Aeomer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars this was a present, 6 Jan 2013
By 
L. C. Tromans - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I have been told this was absolutly great,brouht back many apast hour forgotten memories gallore will be watched again and againand again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A box full of nostalgia, 2 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
I remember watching this on TV when I was about 5 years old and was hooked then. Years later I've seen other series from before my time come back (Thunderbirds, Captain Scarlet and Stingray), but never this, so I was pleased to find this seemingly forgotten series available now in its entirity and bought it as a Christmas gift for my Dad.
It's every bit as good as I remember it and, just like it was in the 80s, me and my Dad sat glued to the TV watching the first few episodes and there are plenty more to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Return to Hawknest, 22 Jan 2012
By 
Paul Tapner (poole dorset england) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Here, in one box set of ten DVD's, are all thirty nine episodes of Terrahawks.

During years of working on puppet shows in the 1960's, Gerry Anderson had been desperate to move on to live action shows. He got his wish in the end but that experience didn't last. So come the 1980's, he returned to tv production with a return to the field of his greatest successes. Puppets.

Terrahawks promised action and excitement and fun in a similar style to the Anderson shows that had gone before.

Terrahawks are an Earth defence organisation in the near future, operating from a secret base. When evil androids led by crone like Zelda take over Mars, and set their sights on the planet Earth, Terrahawks are all that stands between her and conquest of the Earth.

But to many, it never quite delivered, and it was never quite the runaway hit that it should have been.

It was made in 'Supermacromation' as opposed to the 'Supermarionation' of those earlier shows. The former is basically glove puppets rather than full marionettes of old. And this works fine. The characters go back to the characiture style of the older shows rather than the realistic look of Captain Scarlet and Joe 90. The feeling being that those lacked charm.

Erratic TV scheduling didn't help the show. But at the same time the writing and characters do lack a certain something. Possibly the absence of Gerry's old partner Sylvia Anderson didn't help. Her input into the characterisation of the older shows can't ever be underestimated.

Terrahawks leader Tiger Ninestein can be too serious and stuffy and that annoys. His second in command Mary is far too prissy and annoys as a result. And their comrades Kate Kestrel and Hawkeye and Lt. Hiro have very little to them in the first place.

Theres a lot of fun to be had from their robot soldiers, the spherical Zeroids, of which there are over one hundred. But very few of them actually feature, and Tiger's stuffy attitude to their leader Sgt Major Zero getting ideas above his station is supposed to be funny but also irritates.

Over at the villains Zelda's son Yungstar stars out sinister but then becomes an idiot. And her sister cistar spends most her time crying wonderful and seeing her wig fall off. All of which irks early on.

The scripts do try to put in the occasional worldplay as a nod to the grown ups but a lot of this is very corny and more irritating than funny.

And yet....

As you watch the show, you get used to it. Later episodes do move away from the monster of the week format and try and do different things. It does make an effort in due course to get a bit more serious and bring in more hardware and action and explosions.

And a lot of fun can be had from Stew Dapples, assistant at the record company Kate works at. He's the kind of person who would say LOL and OMG all the time if he was real and existed today.

These later episodes also have the confidence to make jokes about the show's old cliches [such as cistar's wig] and this can be actually genuinely funny.

The cast does get a bit crowded when the final thirteen episodes bring in a new villain, Zelda's grandson Itstar, and thus some characters do get a bit shortchanged. Hawkeye only being briefly glimpsed in three of the last ten episodes.

Terrahawks also comes from the days before CGI, and features consistently top notch model work.

So whilst it's not a patch on the Anderson shows that went before, it has a fair amount of charm of it's own. If you saw this back in the day and liked it - or was disappointed by it - then it's worth another look. For the former it should bring back fond memories. And if you're in the latter group and prepared to give it a chance, it might give you some fond new ones.

Each episode runs twenty three minutes [approx].

The only language option is English.

There are no subtitles at all.

The first nine discs have all the episodes on them, and a copious amount of extras. Most of which are publicity material of the time giving character and hardware profiles. There are transcripts of all the episode scripts. And a couple for episodes that didn't get to the screen, which might be of interest.

Watch post the end credits of episode twenty seven for some new footage of the voice actors at work.

On disc ten you can find:

A thirty five minute long interview with the voice actors [but not Windsor Davies]. This does appear to have been made about eight years ago, to judge by one reference to Doctor Who, but it's a very good interview with some excellent interviewees and well worth a watch. There's some outtakes of the actors at work after the end credits of this.

The disc also has a couple of very short bits of unusued footage. With no sound.

Gerryhawks: a seven minute long puppet spoof of the show that was shown at conventions back in the 80's. It could be corny but it does have some funny moments.

There are also three interviews with various of the production staff that are decent in depth features and worth a watch.

Plus the end credits for the american broadcast of the show.

And a slightly different and earlier version of the opening titles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great price just what I was looking for, 11 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Great price just what I was looking for.
would not hesitate to buy from this seller again.
It's Great To Be Able To Relive My Childhood
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still love the theme tune, 8 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
The memories. I can see why this used to scare me as a child.
Still love the theme tune. Always wanted a full size replica of a zeroid
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A classic let down by a poor transfer (Terrahawks The Complete Series [DVD] [1983]), 9 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Amazon have a habit of putting reviews for one product against another of a similar name, so I want to make it clear this is about Terrahawks The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] released by Reflection (revfilms.co.uk).

This edition has one of the worst transfers to DVD I have ever encountered. Clearly they were taken from old VHS tapes, not the original source material. Recordings from TV are of a higher quality.

I hope we'll see a more loving release of this silly, but engaging series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 30 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
ArRived in good time, birthday present, great memories
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 20 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Probably not as good as you might remember..., 18 Jan 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
This series was not one of Gerry Anderson's finest and rapidly becomes rather tedious. The picture quality is pretty grim (think old VHS tapes that have been well used.)Apart from poor conversion to disc, the original 16mm format used to film the show was of relatively poor resolution compared to the 32mm used for classic shows like Thunderbirds - due to budget constraints. The drop in quality really shows. Not so much of an issue on small TVs in the 1980s but some degree of remastering is now really needed to smarten them up a little.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 Nov 2014
By 
Banky "OBA" (Sugarland, Texas) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983] (DVD)
Excellent Product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Androids vs Robots, 15 April 2009
By 
Junglies (Morrisville, NC United States) - See all my reviews
My children and I come from differing backgrounds, mine British, theirs, American having spent most of their lives here. Part of the time we spend together is exploring my cultural heritage as I have observed theirs at first hand whilst they grew up.

We have worked our way through the Gerry Anderson productions with mixed results: Fireball XL5 and Supercar brought the house down while Space 1999 and UFO were more appreciated.

When it came to Terrahawks, they were rolling in the aisles at first until we discovered that it was very different to the Anderson of yore.

Firstly, it is more of a tongue in cheek type of show aimed at children although I have to say that Anderson's skill in producing Puppets without visible wires is outstanding.

Secondly the show is based on a simple premise, that of tic tac toe, given away on the end credits. Simple enough really once you see the shapes of the two opposing robot soldiers. You win some you lose some.

Of course this does reflect a cold war standoff in a way if you want to be political, given when the show was made.

In the end, there is not much else to say as the episodes reflect that paradigm. My kids are lapping it all up and the worst thing is, the eldest is 18 and the other, three years younger.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Terrahawks - The Complete Series [DVD] [1983]
£44.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews