Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic anti-war screwball comedy
This is a classic 1966 subversive anti-war drama from Richard Lester the director of the previous two Beatles films 'A Hard Day's Night' and 'Help'. The satire is akin to Stanley Kubrick's 'Dr. Strangelove' although a lot more abstact and even surreal! Michael Crawford shines in his role while John Lennon is good in his supporting role.
I highly recommend this film...
Published on 20 Feb 2009 by Mr. C. Beauman

versus
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very sixties film.
The first thing to strike you with this film is the strength of a young Michael Crawford to lead the film. His performance as the hapless army officer is a showcase for his infamous physically involved performances and he impresses on screen.

The next thing you realise is that you only ever half an idea what's going on! This is a prime example of 1960's...
Published on 3 Oct 2009 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A very sixties film., 3 Oct 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
The first thing to strike you with this film is the strength of a young Michael Crawford to lead the film. His performance as the hapless army officer is a showcase for his infamous physically involved performances and he impresses on screen.

The next thing you realise is that you only ever half an idea what's going on! This is a prime example of 1960's experimental cinema and as you watch it you appreciate the artistic merit but scrabble around trying to find a discernible plot or message amongst the action on screen.

I was a massive fan of the Beatles during my teenage years and I idolised John Lennon, therefore this is a film I always intended on watching but I never found it available on VHS, it was a long wait before I finally watched it and it was good seeing my former hero in a more 'grown up' film than the likes of 'Help!' or 'The Beatles - A Hard Day's Night'. Lennon doesn't have a huge part but the lines he delivers are along the same vein as can be found in his books 'In His Own Write & A Spaniard in the Works' - and fit in perfectly with the abstract feel of the film.

This film is sometimes quite dark, and there are some funny moments. A lot of the humour comes from wordplay, for example; Crawford as officer Goodbody reports to his senior as he stands next to a toilet and announces - "I'm here at your convenience". You're not going to split a rib with laughter but it does at least bring light relief to a film which is pretty hard work to sit all the way through.

In a nutshell: This is psychedelia but without the bright colours. A nonsense film which isn't particularly entertaining but does capture the spirit of a decade which celebrated free reign over creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Classic anti-war screwball comedy, 20 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
This is a classic 1966 subversive anti-war drama from Richard Lester the director of the previous two Beatles films 'A Hard Day's Night' and 'Help'. The satire is akin to Stanley Kubrick's 'Dr. Strangelove' although a lot more abstact and even surreal! Michael Crawford shines in his role while John Lennon is good in his supporting role.
I highly recommend this film to anyone who is a fan of The Beatles or Lennon or just classic filmmaking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 26 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
great comedy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dvd, 2 Jun 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I have not seen this film in years and i always wanted to see it again, very happy with it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT COMEDY, 8 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
GREAT ITEM AND GREAT COMEDY AND VERY GREAT QUALITY TO WAS GREAT TO WATCH SO GRAB YOURSELF A COPY X
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An interesting film starring John Lennon as Private Gripweed., 8 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
Great! No problem! Would recommend this to any Beatles Fan!
Subtitles exist, and it is a very hard to find film. Well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A waste of good actors, 3 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
On the dvd case it says 'Suitable only for persons of 12 years or over' Surely that should be '12 years or under!'
This slapstock 'comedy' is only slightly ahead of custard pie comedy. What a terrible waste of good actors: Robert Hardy, Michael Hordern, Paul Daneman etc. It was painful to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars no problems, 25 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
arrived on time, was packaged well and box was untouched. disc plays fine and cost was cheap. VERY average film, but something i felt as though i needed to see for the Lennon factor!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 11 Nov 2010
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film when I first saw it but was disappointed to find that it failed to live up to my recollections. The idea was effective but the execution was flawed: too much Goon-type humour was squeezed in, whereas a simpler adherence to the main anti-war theme would have been considerably more effective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars How I Won The War, 1 April 2011
This review is from: How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] (DVD)
As a big John Lennon fan, this film is both intriguing and disappointing. All I can say is if you're hoping to see John Lennon acting a starring role, think again, concentrate and don't blink or you'll miss him. The tiny glimpses of John are cool. He looks great, in the prime of life but I think a major opportunity was missed here. John should have been given a role as important as Michael Crawford. Why not? The film was a farce, who cares about the quality of the acting, when its such meaningless rubbish. John could have made it his own, easily, without any bother, then we would have had a true document to the many talents of this exceptional young man.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How I Won The War [DVD] [1967]
How I Won The War [DVD] [1967] by Richard Lester (DVD - 2005)
4.66
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews