Customer Reviews


92 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (23)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promising debut from London's loves
Despite the music press hyperbole and self-proclaimed greatness (if I had a penny for every comparison to the Gallaghers...), this album is actually very good, its only short coming being its slight lack of variation. Borrell's lip curling vocal echoes Lou Reed and Tom Verlaine, and the group have clearly been hanging around in their local record store's 'post-punk'...
Published on 2 July 2004 by sereneminduk

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected
I won't lie, I think Razorlight are ok..but I expected this album to be something pretty darn good. People that I know who either own it, or have heard it said that it was brilliant; and yet when I got my hands on a copy I couldn't really see what all the fuss was about.

There's isn't much kick to be honest; I think that's the main problem with it. There is the...
Published on 15 Aug 2006 by Shazzeth


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A promising debut from London's loves, 2 July 2004
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
Despite the music press hyperbole and self-proclaimed greatness (if I had a penny for every comparison to the Gallaghers...), this album is actually very good, its only short coming being its slight lack of variation. Borrell's lip curling vocal echoes Lou Reed and Tom Verlaine, and the group have clearly been hanging around in their local record store's 'post-punk' section. The album starts blindingly, losing its way a little at the midpoint before being resurrected by shoe-in singles 'Golden Touch' and 'Stumble and Fall' and then the excellent 'To The Sea'. Much has been said about Borrell's 'grown-up' songwriting, but it seems that his lyricism, while at times highly accomplished (although Dylan-esque is perhaps too strong), is frequently lazy and repetitive. His 'falling' imagery, for instance, grates a little as it is not particularly original and is over-used. But these are only very small imperfections that marr this very promising debut. It seems to me that when Borell's songwriting does reach an artistic maturity, should their potential ephemeral 'great white hype' tag not bury them, then Razorlight will be a very important group indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT AN ALBUM!!!, 11 July 2004
This review is from: Up All Night [CD+DVD] (Audio CD)
from start to finish this album is full of quality songs, none that you can call weak.I heard of the band just before the release of their album and read about the hype surrounding them.for once the hype has been justified with this album and to make it even better, on the dvd you are able to see the band perform live tracks,worth the extra few pounds.without doubt the album of the year.what are you waiting for...BUY IT NOW!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars There are two things that really irritate me about the Indie/Rock music scene..., 30 July 2006
By 
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
There are two things that really irritate me about the Indie/Rock music scene.

Firstly - the over-hyping of mediocre new bands by institutions like The NME and Radio 1. And Secondly, probably even moreso, the people who see this branch of music as purely a fashion accessory.

These jokers instantly take a disliking to a band once it receives too much hype and common folk start catching on. They will tell you the lyrics are not deep enough, the melodies are simple and the guitarist's rubbish - and then babble on about some new album 'not on general release' by a band you have never, and will never hear about. This all boils down to accessibility. If a band is accessible and some songs might actually be liked by your mum, it means they're going to get big - and our Indie fashion victims don't like that. You see, music can't be ultra popular and ultra trendy. If these guys were to admit they liked bands that have become mainstream, it would mock their belief that ordinary people can't be as highbrow as themselves when it comes to music appreciation - and we couldn't have that, could we?

This is Razorlight's problem, of course. They have become a little too mainstream - especially with the release and subsequent hype of their second album. Nevertheless, Up All Night is a really great album and certainly one of the best of this Millennium. It offers some true originality compared the other British offerings from this Genre, and more importantly, includes some fantastic songs. The title track, 'Up All Night' and 'Golden Touch' to name but two are fantastic tunes. Some will say too melodic, but what's wrong with a melody? Are The Beatles also to be marked down for the same reason?

If you genuinely like indie/rock for what it is, and aren't too concerned whether it's fashionable or 'underground' enough, then you will no doubt love Up All Night. Some of the later tracks take a few listens but there is very little on this album that won't have you appreciating seriously good, modern British music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not what I expected, 15 Aug 2006
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
I won't lie, I think Razorlight are ok..but I expected this album to be something pretty darn good. People that I know who either own it, or have heard it said that it was brilliant; and yet when I got my hands on a copy I couldn't really see what all the fuss was about.

There's isn't much kick to be honest; I think that's the main problem with it. There is the odd absolutely cracking song - Golden Touch for example is wonderful - but the rest of it is a little samey.

This is something to listen to if you've got nothing better to do. It's ok if you want to chill out coz you don't really have to concetrate that much on what you're listening to. The music isn't technical...it's just there really. Not the triumph everyone made it out as.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Johnny Borrell-amazing songwriter? no, lovely voice? yes, 25 July 2004
By 
O. Frawley "thebigmeowski" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
Its best to review this album by putting Razorlight's singer/songwriter Johnny Borrell's confident/cocky remarks about his own songwriting excellence to the back of your mind. The short and short of it is that Up All Night is a very enjoyable album sure to brighten up your day and stay in your CD player for ages, but it is not the greatest thing since sliced bread as Borrell would like you to believe. There are some moments of brilliance in tracks like Rip It Up, which is impossible not to dance to, and Stumble And Fall which is the perfect song to represent how indie is supposed to sound. The real magic is in Golden Touch and Dalston, the former being one of the best singles of the year so far and the later being a moving message to Borrell's old mate Peter of The Libertines which is one of the albums stand out tracks with its plea "Don't go back to Dalston/Just come on back to me" showing that it can be the simple lines which turn a ballad into a touching anthem when complimented by Borrell's rasping vocal stretched to breaking point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bloody Good Album!, 4 July 2004
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
If you liked the singles Stumble and Fall, Rock and Roll Lies and latterly Golden Touch then you will love this album. It's fresh, frantic and energetic. It rock and rolls along nicely and Johnny's strong and distinctive vocals give the album a real edge. There aren't really any weak tracks on the album - although Golden Touch and Vice are real anthemic highlights, Johnny rightly deserves praise for his songwriting abilities.
Nothing amazingly original, but this is a solid album with great songs - what more could you ask for?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good album shame about the singer, 15 Nov 2006
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
For me the stand out tracks on this album are Vice and Stumble and Fall. Golden Touch, Rock & Roll lies, Which Way is Out and To The Sea are also good. Overall I would recommend this album to most people. I only have 2 complaints:

1. Some of the songs drag on for too long e.g To The Sea

2. Johnny Borrell is a complete egomaniac!! It's a shame because Razorlight are a good band but his arrogance puts people off. I think people should ignore anything he says and listen to the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Razor-sharp Debut, 13 Sep 2005
By 
G. Don Fielder (Sussex, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
Sparkling, clean, simple, energetic, tuneful, punky. Imaginitive lyrics, excellent vocals and guitar work but special mention to the drumming on these tracks - it really is cracking. The guitar & vocals remind me very much of Tom Verlaine's Television, particularly their Marquee Moon album - but with more energy - and I also get hints of Jarvis Cocker, Dylan and The Spin Doctors (whatever happened to them by the way?). A great debut album, deservedly successful. And lucky me, I've got the release with the bonus track, which I've listened to a dozen times and ain't tired of yet! To you Teenage Whingers, doom-laden hamsters etc. who bought the earlier release - look, it's seven quid - shuddup and go and buy another one! And think yourself lucky - I'm 54 but I don't go on about it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What an album, 26 Feb 2005
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
This is a great album. I bought it from HMV for about £9, and it's the best £9 i've ever spent. In fact, as I write this now, I have it on in the background. Almost every song on this album is a winner. Thier blend of guitar and drum sounds fntastic and thier lead singer is great. The lyrics aren't the best but just concentrate on the sound and you'll agree with me - it's astonishi ngly good. If you like artists like Kasabian or The Killers you'll love Razorlight. Seriously, this album can't be recommened enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The boy with the Golden Touch, 14 Jun 2004
By 
This review is from: Up All Night (Audio CD)
Johnny Borrell's reputation precedes him. Having famously proclaimed himself to be the greatest songwriter of his generation, you could easily be forgiven for dismissing him as just another conceited and deluded young hopeful. That is until you realise that he has the material to support such a claim - with this first offering from Razorlight threatening to be the most significant debut since The Stone Roses fifteen years ago. Flanked by two Swedes, Björn Ågren's jagged guitar and the pounding bass of Carl Dalemo augment Johnny's songs, who, with a voice that belies his tender years, makes sharp observations of London life – telling seedy tales of love and rock'n'roll from the bars and backstreets of the city, far removed from the glitz and the glamour. The maturity and intelligence of the writing is startling coming from one so young. The spiky early singles "Rock n Roll Lies" and "Rip It Up" showcase the band’s energy and vigour, whilst the edgy and menacing "Up All Night" is a worthy and fitting title track. The standout tracks on the album are the majestic single "Golden Touch", sure to fill the airwaves this summer, and the thrillingly anthemic "Vice", which sounds like The Clash covering Costello. Other highlights include the frantic "Stumble & Fall", and Johnny's impassioned Dylan-esque torrent of words on the live favourite "In The City". An album with no weaknesses, and the sort of record that you like the first time around, love after the second listen, and can't stop playing from thereon in. Razorlight can seemingly do no wrong at the moment, and thankfully you get the impression there is a lot more to come from one Johnny Borrell...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Up All Night: +7 [VINYL]
Up All Night: +7 [VINYL] by Razorlight (Vinyl - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews