Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (36)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it people...
This is the compilation which defines the most criminally overlooked rock band in history. One of the greatest songwriters of the late 20th century, backed up by a troop of amazing guitarists, with Gorham, Robertson and Moore blasting out riffs and, more importantly, some of the greatest guitar solos ever throughout each song on this compilation. This band is a monolith...
Published on 28 May 2006 by Patrick Hamilton

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great for their main hits
The big hits are here but the rest is very samey. I tended to skip many of the tracks to get to the iconic recordings.
Published 3 months ago by Dr. Michael J. Atkins


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is it people..., 28 May 2006
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is the compilation which defines the most criminally overlooked rock band in history. One of the greatest songwriters of the late 20th century, backed up by a troop of amazing guitarists, with Gorham, Robertson and Moore blasting out riffs and, more importantly, some of the greatest guitar solos ever throughout each song on this compilation. This band is a monolith of rock music and thankfully this compilation shows this very well.

my only quibble is that perhaps this shouldve been called 'the very best of' or something like that. In that case southbound and massacre couldve been added too, as well as the rest of the black rose album. The packaging is great also, as well as the music, and the story of lizzy is presented inside along with some great photos of the band etc, in fact the whole package is amazing.

For a new listener to thin lizzy, this album is something which is essential and which is enduring - most serious rock collections i believe should have this amongst them. Also, at such a cheap price here this would make an important addition to any collection and i honestly believe that you will enjoy this, trust me and buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Array Of Thin Lizzy There Is, 22 Jun 2004
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I already owned the Wild One : Best Of, which is good, don't get me wrong but this Greatest Hits package has a broader selection of songs from the greatest band to come out of Ireland apart from maybe U2, who were heavily influenced by Lizzy anyway. Notable inclusions on this album which I was pleased about were "Wild One", a gem from the "Fighting" album, Lynott's solo material, "Dear Miss Lonely Hearts", "King's Call" and "Yellow Pearl", which I was mostly unfamiliar with before I bought this album. Another inclusion I was pleased with was "Black Rose", an epic of spiralling Celtic guitar riffery from Moore and Gorham. Songs taken from "Live and Dangerous", Emerald and Rosalie are superb albeit to be picky I would have gone for the studio version of "Emerald" for sheer impact. One song which didn't make it onto this package was "Massacre" which was sadly never a single but was sheer quality, this can be found on the "Johnny The Fox" album as well as a more powerful version on "Live and Dangerous". So if anyone has the slightest interest in Thin Lizzy, buy this album for starters then I would recommend, "Fighting", "Jailbreak", "Johnny The Fox", "Bad Reputation", "Live and Dangerous", "Black Rose" and "Thunder and Lightning". DON'T HESISTATE, BUY IT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest bands ever!, 19 Aug 2010
By 
Alison Petrie - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
I was fortunate enough to see Thin Lizzy four times between 1976 and 1981 and they were just amazing in concert, best live act I've seen and I've seen a lot.

This 2 CD set is the best collection I've seen of their songs and I still play it constantly. I never ever get tired of the Lizzy and feel that they never received the recognition they so clearly merited. If you're unfamiliar with Thin Lizzy but just want some power driven, melodic rock, buy this and you'll appreciate the genius of the band. Their best known track is "The Boys are Back in Town" but there is far more to them than that. At last a collection that does justice to the wonder of Lizzy and, if you're not familiar with the band but love hard rock, this is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thin Lizzy Greatest Hits Compilation, 25 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
For all of us, there are certain groups or albums that define our teenage years and for me, Thin Lizzy was one of those groups.

From the initial "Whiskey in the Jar", through "Dancing in the Moonlight" / "Boys are Back in Town" etc etc, the group produced a solid string of hits with a strong baseline signature.

During those times the "Alive & Dangerous" album was the one to own and, in truth, they were probably one of those groups that excelled best on a live stage.
Sadly I never got to see them.

Phil Lynott had a troubled personal life (apart from Leslie Crowther being his Father In Law!) and there was always a sense of inevitability about his future.

This is an excellent compilation (& history) of a group with quite a few songs that I never tire of and still sing along to. They still sound as fresh (& relevant)today as ever which is testament to the quality of the songwriting & execution. The remastering of the tracks improves them further.

They were what they were - an honest band and what you saw & heard is what you got - quality and boundless energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard-rocking Irish group of the seventies, 16 April 2005
By 
Peter Durward Harris "Pete the music fan" (Leicester England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (No. 1 Hall OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Ireland seemed an unlikely place from which a group like Thin Lizzy would emerge - we all had an image of Irish music based on traditional folk and country music. Van Morrison (and his short-lived group Them) had ventured from the Emerald Isle into rock music and made a significant impact, but he seemed to be a one-off. Thin Lizzy changed all that, firmly establishing Irish rock music as a significant force . The Boomtown rats (with Bob Geldof), U2 (with Bono), the Undertones (with Feargal Sharkey), the Cranberries and many other Irish groups have followed Thin Lizzy in making a major impact on the world rock music scene.
Thin Lizzy first made an impact with a hard-rocking version of a traditional Irish folk song, Whiskey in the jar - it made the UK top ten in 1973. If you've heard the song performed in a more traditional style (perhaps by the Dubliners, who typify the traditional image of Irish music), the cover by Thin Lizzy may come as a bit of a shock, but the song sounds great whether performed in a traditional way or by Thin Lizzy. However, that track wasn't really typical of their music. Thereafter, Thin Lizzy abandoned their Irish heritage altogether and focused exclusively on rocking hard but it took a while for them to establish their career.
Three years after their first hit, Thin Lizzy returned to the UK top ten with The boys are back in town, which is much more typical of their sound and was the first of fifteen UK hit singles that Thin Lizzy had between 1976 and 1983, during which time they also made the UK singles chart with an EP. Only two further hits after The boys are back in town (Waiting for an alibi, Killer on the loose) made the UK top ten but several others made the UK top twenty including Don't believe a word, Dancing in the moonlight and Do anything you want.
The first CD of this compilation begins with those fifteen UK hit singles between 1976 and 1983, together with their 1991 hit (Dedication) ant three other tracks. The second CD begins with Whiskey in the jar. The remainder of the second CD contains selected album tracks and some solo recordings by Phil Lynott. Overall, the second CD is not quite up to the quality of the first but it's not far behind.
This is the best Thin Lizzy collection out there. If you like hard rocking music, you'll love this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazon cloud, 3 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
not only did I get this CD, but all music purchases from amazon now provide you with a digital version, which I downloaded for my mp3 player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars really like it., 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Love certain tracks, Phil Linnot knew how to rock, excellant songs and lyrics,had abrilliant futur ahead of him but the rock and roll life killed him fast and furious
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another walk down memory lane, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
This is another album that brings back loads of different memories of my younger days ice skating to many of Thin Lizzy songs while hand in hand with my girl friend of that time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Friday night - dressed to kill!, 23 Jan 2014
By 
MR J PEARSON (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Simply the best rock band of all time - Phil Lynott is legend & this collection is brilliant. Essential listening before a night out with the lads.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Life affirming, gorgeous sounds, 16 Jan 2014
By 
Radiojock (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hits (MP3 Download)
This band had my interest very early on. I just love The Boys Are Back In Town. Every other record listed here also, for me, has the same significance. I don't do concerts these days. I sit here listening to my beloved old songs that I can choose at will to buy on Amazon's fantastic music platform.

I spend much of my time browsing favourite songs and albums. I've used a shorter version of this album in my radio days. This one has all those tracks I used to play, and more. There are 34 moments of musical magic which erupts from the very first song here, and carries on right throughout the album. Man, you'll never guess what's playing now. Goosebumps are sprouting! Dancing In The Moonlight is another old favourite.

This is definitely one album not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6b2387c)

This product

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Thin Lizzy (Audio CD - 2004)
Click for more info
In stock on April 29, 2014
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews