Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Light in the Darkness
Ghost Light is a superb little story and very, very underrated. It's one of the most dazzlingly original and imaginative stories in the show's history, and a superb looking production. The sets are amazing and really feel like an authentic, creepy victorian house. What I think a lot of fans are put off by is it's dense, convoluted plot - there is so much going on and so...
Published on 10 July 2009 by M Evans

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a bad story but the picture quality?
This isn't a bad story at all and gives an insight into the portrayal of Sylvester McCoy's Doctor, very dark.

The picture quality on this DVD leaves a lot to be desired as it is very grainy, has a soft focus in places and is unwatchable in some parts. I thought it was a defective DVD or perhaps a fault with my Blu Ray player, but after searching on the...
Published on 18 Aug 2010 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's another world..., 8 Jan 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
So totally different to the rest of the show (and to the modern version, though 'Blink' seems to contain a few sly references) that it's almost impossible to compare. And, of course, utterly unlike anything else on TV at the time. Believe me, back then I didn't want this to start making sense...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, 25 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Ghost Light was simply one of the best Doctor Who stories. It is sometimes said to be too complicated for its own good, but I never found it that hard to follow. It bears watching more than once, as there is a lot to the script, but that doesn't mean it is incomprehensible. If there is a criticism of this DVD release it is that the commentary and some of the special features spend far too much time pandering to the view that it was complicated and trying to explain the story and script. The short feature showing the filming of the last studio session is very interesting, however. It shows McCoy et al at work - nice "behind the scenes" footage.
By the time Ghost Light was shown I was convert to the Seventh Doctor. After the fairly ghastly first season, Sylvester McCoy had changed his Doctor and brought some mystery back to the character for the first time in many years. This story, more than any other, showed the potential in McCoy's desire to play a darker Doctor and that there were new writers who could move the series forward. Sadly, of course, the programme was cancelled, so Ghost Light is a reminder of that unfulfilled potential. It is very good Doctor Who, with an excellent cast and McCoy and Sophie Aldred at their best. Incidentally, for those who believe the Doctor betrays Ace in The Curse of Fenric, think again ! For me, this is the Doctor at his most questionable. Why does he take her to a "haunted house" she told him she never wanted to see again.....Watch and see !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Medium Of The Last Classic Group And IT'S GOOOOOD!, 3 Aug 2006
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Compared to 'Remembrance Of The Daleks' and 'The Curse Of Fenric', 'Ghost Light' looks like rubbish. But, since they are both of high quality, 'Ghost Light' is still good. To be honest, it would say it's the most confusing Doctor Who romp, and took me a fortnight to understand, and I'm possibly the best Doctor Who fan of the new generation! But the story is an under-rated gem like 'Battlefield' and 'Paradise Towers' (Both are good stories packed among better or worser stories, so people think that they're bad).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars worst Dr Who I have ever seen., 27 Oct 2009
By 
L. Whitehurst - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
The story, like most of this era is practically non-existent. I just couldn't get into it. It didn't make any sense. Even 3 episodes was too many.

It's as bad as Paradise Towers, Nightmare of Eden and Horns of Nimon.

I don't wish to be so negative about McCoy as the Doctor, but Curse of Fenric and Survival are much better! Buy those.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Why did it get cancelled ? This is why !, 24 April 2005
By 
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Ghostlight explains why the "Classic" Doctor Who series was cancelled. Despite good performances from Sylvester McCoy & Sophie Aldred the naff makeup, semi-unitelligible plot and awful sets just make Ghostlight a disaster. The writing is poor and what starts with a couple of good ideas - de-evolution and the sinister servants - rapidly collapses into a muddle.
A shame but you can see why it had to go. It was nearly as poor as its replacement - Eastenders.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star Doctor, 15 Mar 2012
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
I really wanted to like this episode as i try not to find fault in any of the Doctor Who classic stories, but i couldnt to me the acting is bad and the story seems to go nowhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Claustrophobia!, 16 Feb 2009
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Oh dear. Ghost Light is an example of when it shows that the bbc put no money & even less time into rushing Dr Who out. And even the Actors & crew, with the fate of Dr Who on their sholders could not Salvage this story.

You find yourself frowning in confusion all the way through if you didn't loose interest by the second episode. All done in a studio the size of the Ghost Busters office, weird, quirky & will leave you feeling like you've just been let out of a mental institute!

Yes it's original. Yes there are a few scary scenes for the kids. Yes the set is good (if not typical of the BBC) but it's without many of the aspects that made Dr Who great from the 60's to the 80's.

Sylvester was becoming a Dark & Fascinating Doctor but was often put back by unbelievable stories & everything else camp that JNT had control over. Like the Question mark Jumper.

"Even Remains Change!" Well er Dr.. Your wrong! This story remains as confusing as it did in 1989!

If you want to see Sylvester at his best.. Watch The Curse of Fenric or Survival & he shows up the new student Dr Who pretenders that are on TV now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, but not worth buying., 24 May 2005
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
This was by no means a bad episode of Doctor Who, and Sylvestor McCoy and Sophie Aldred were good at acting. The monstrous Husks were quite frightening, and there were some hideous transformations that were not mentioned, but I found them chilling. The second episode was one of the scariest in the series, and the first episode's build up was wonderful, and it got you really tense. When I was watching the second episode with my friends, one of them was petrified. That, as you may think would get a five out of five review, but no. I watched the first two episodes, terrified, and I was expecting a horrifying final episode. But there are no scary moments at all. The character of Light is terrible, and it never really makes sense. There are no scary transformations, no tension, no horror whatsoever. Light is well animated, and the part where he turns people to stone are the only good things about the final episodes. Don't worry, this is not a terrible episode, and if you bought it, don't be alarmed. This is definately worth watching, but I wouldn't buy it if I were you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 23 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ON IT'S KNEES...., 29 Jun 2008
By 
Adam Jackson "Symphonic Metal Fan" (Stoke On Trent , England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Basically the series was really on it's knees by now! The worst ever Doctor, the most juvenile companions and some of the lowest budgeted episodes conspired to bring about the end!
The special FX and sets, throughout the McCoy era, had degraded to a level that was far, far below the work seen as far back in the Pertwee (early 70's) era. Seriously, it reminds at times of BBC2's whimsical, The Adventure Game!
People tend to be more polarised about Sylvester McCoy's take as the Time Lord than any of the other actors. You'll either love him or hate him!
Nothing personal aginst the man, he's a nice guy in interviews & I am sure he tried his best but sorry, not for me! To be fair, he couldn't really be blamed for BBC's fiscal problems back then, and the rot was actually setting in during Colin Baker's stint. The Baker & McCoy eras for me were the absolute pits!
If you are new to Who, then start with Pertwee & Baker (the CLASSIC years), then maybe Peter Davidson and then skip the next 20 odd years to Eccleston & Tennant.
My apologies to McCoy lovers, but fans of the 2005 + stories will surely find the production values & performances cringeworthy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 32 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The last nail in the coffin..., 27 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] (DVD)
Oh dear! Doctor Who for many years was thought provoking, imaginative, innovative or just down right exciting stuff. By 1989 it had nose dived into guady, pantomimic nonsense and this, despite some fans liking of Ghost Light, is a really good reason for it to be axed for so long. It is well acted, but the acting on Doctor Who was never really the problem. The story matter on the other hand, is just naff, it alienates its audience and looks more old fashioned than some stories from many years previous. The blams surely must lie firmly with John Nathan Turner, who made so many poor, ill-informed decisions during his stoic tenure that it is a suprise it has ever been re-made at all. It is unfair to compare this to Russel T. Davies'excellent remake, but unavoidable, as it is the same show and character. Sylvester McCoy was as good (if not better) as he possibly could be with occasional naff scripts and daft stories, but there is little doubt that this is not a great story and Mr. Cartmel who penned this tale wrote something that may improve with several viewings, but when it was shown to the great Brithish public nearly 20 years ago, that's not what they wanted. This myopic writing sytle was a highly contributing factor to the show being shelved for so long. We have missed many unmade classics due to writers' selfish need to be 'original'. Let us all be thankful that these days Russel T Davies has a better understanding of what makes good television. Handy hint... avoid this and go for pre-Davidson or post-McCoy Doctor Who. It's reputation was built on these periods and not this awful charade!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989]
Doctor Who : Ghost Light [DVD] [1989] by Sylvester McCoy (DVD - 2004)
£6.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews