Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!
Street fighting meets hip hop lifestyle. An interesting mix but an enjoyable one at that. This game is definently no holds barred and great for fans of beat em ups and fighting sims. If you are a fan of the Smackdown! wrestling game series proceed with caution; the controls are more UFC styled and are difficult to master, it took me a while to get into the way of the...
Published on 18 July 2005 by tupaclives_3

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two Stars
arrived much earlier than predicted however the game doesn't work.
Published 9 months ago by Ian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not for the faint hearted!, 18 July 2005
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
Street fighting meets hip hop lifestyle. An interesting mix but an enjoyable one at that. This game is definently no holds barred and great for fans of beat em ups and fighting sims. If you are a fan of the Smackdown! wrestling game series proceed with caution; the controls are more UFC styled and are difficult to master, it took me a while to get into the way of the game. The only other flaw this game has is the hip hop lifestyle can be too in your face and a bit overloading, the original was more leniant and had less of the attitude but the same amount of thrills. The brutality of the fights and vicious moves will keep gamers happy though, so if you're thinking of buying this game go ahead, you wont regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best games Ive ever played, 5 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
Brilliant story, decent character creation (Which you use in the story mode), best fighting gameplay Ive ever had in any of these kinds of games ie fighting/wrestling. Developing individual skills, unlocking content based on reward points earned outside of the game in free mode and also unlocking content from story mode. Trophies, a story you can play at your own rate/tactics, character fighting style, clothes, tattoos, skills and abilities all alterable this is a game to rival most PS3 or XBOX 360 games.

Great for 4 player if you need a multiplayer game without online (This is PS2 afterall) and also it has several modes to fight in and a HUGE number of venues to fight each with its own special tools, landmarks to use and in some cases special KO-S to be had (Most noteablly throwing people under a train in the subway level).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Haters Keep Hatin' And Doubters Keep Doubtin', 28 Jun. 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
I got this game a few days ago and within five minutes of playing it, I was totally addicted to it. I love this game so much and I hope to see more of the series coming out year after year, etc. If you read some negative reviews on the game and ain't quite sure about whether this game is worth to get or not, I'm tellin' y'all out there right now.. IT IS WORTH EVERY SINGLE PENNY, DIME, POUND, CENT, DOLLAR.. GET IT! You will not regret it, man! Truss' this game has a great create-a-fighter mode, great story mode, other great battle modes, the fights are great, the people in there.. Mann, all deez' hip hop stars are in it, it's awesome.

I seriously love this game, and even though I already completed it once.. I'm ready to start it all over again! Woo! Yeah, you'll be entertained for hours on end and will seriously just want to play it whenever you can (it's how I completed it within days of getting it). Anyone who thinks different, oh, well.. And if you wanna' hate or doubt.. GREAT! But, this game is worth it.. Don't take my word though, just get the game and see for yourself. After all, if you don't end up taking a 'like' to it, you can sell it to someone else.. As I'm sure plently of people probably want this game STILL even though it's been out since 2004.

The story mode is a bit short, but, again.. That could be 'cuz I played it a lot. If you want to know more, ask questions and want answers, etc.. Please don't hesitate to contact me!

Kthx.

- Christina.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best and funniest fighting videogames ever made., 14 Feb. 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is a must have for all those people who like good fighting games. It is like a mixture of mortal kombat and the smackdown vs raw games. It is brutal, but you will not see body parts blowing in the screen. Its gameplay is simple and fast, but not easy. There are a lot of real characters, each one with a lot of moves and final moves. You will be using constantly the scenary and the public to hurt your opponents. Its variety and brutality makes me give it a 9,5/10 in fighting games.
A must have in PS2.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best fighting game I've tried on PS2!, 11 July 2007
By 
V. Holm (Copenhagen, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
I only play 3 different games on my PS2 (have tried lots of games) and this is the one I've been playing the most. The game is so great that me and my friends still (for years now!) have 4 player fight night tournaments with the adaptor hooked up. We play every man for himself or 2 vs. 2 and all modes work perfectly and have long lasting appeal. Every game is a different fight and its funny as hell to beat up your homeboys.

I love the fact that each fighter is so well created both graphic wise and with the real voice of the rapper or fictional character. They each have different basic moves and a unique "blazing move". My favorite character is Fam-Lay, even though he's not a well known rapper he's a strong fighter in the game with his Hay-maker punch. I'm still trying to master the counter attack move which is another thing... almost every move can be countered by another in this game, and you actually get better every time you practice. So many possibilities and the game never loses its appeal. Story mode is phenomenal too, I've finished it 3 times now.

BUY THIS GAME if you want a solid fight game you can play with your friends for years to come!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars BEST FIGHTING GAME TO DATE!, 14 April 2009
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
Whether you like defjam or not, even if your not a fan of hip-hop, this game is legendary. A great videogame, featuring great fighting techniques and a very entertaining storyline. The game features all of the great DefJam rappers and allows for an amazing level of customisability. You can choose your clothes, jewelry, fighting style, physique, look, hair style, tatoos, finishing moves etc. This game is amazing. It has something for all fighting game fans. For those who like challenges it also features a trophy stand in which you need to gain achievements in order to gain them, also included are leaderboards with records to beat. This game really is a great and definately worth purchasing. Trully superb with very, very little faults, if any, to be found. Would give it 6 stars if I could. RECCOMENDED TO ANY VIDEO GAME FANS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Who's gonna knock you out?!, 4 Oct. 2004
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
If you remember the original Def Jam (Vendetta) you may well instantly want to steer clear of Def Jam Fight for NY, Vendetta seemed to be an average wrestling game engine with some rap artists in place of the wrestlers you'd normally expect to see. The graphics were ok but they didn't blow you away and the 'fighting' was often confusing and awkward. So after seeing a preview video for Fight for NY and thinking it looked pretty much the same I somehow managed to end up buying it....?
I have to say I didn't regret my choice (like i did with Vendetta), after getting past the over-the-top intro video (some of the rappers look truly lifelike!) and going straight in for a one-on-one I realised the Def Jam had finally come good. EA have released a few games recently that follow on in a series (most notably Burnout 3) and these games (to EA's credit) have been excellent 'evolutions' of the series rather than just redressing the graphics and sticking 2/3/new subtitle on the end of the title like so many games do. You'll realise this in Fight for NY the first time you shove Busta Rhymes into the baying crowd only for one of them to grab him turn to face the bloke next to time and witness the genius that is 'crowd interaction'; bottles get smashed, pool cues broken, steel pipes bent as the crowd add a whole new level to the fighting genre. This is a work of genius and it doesn't stop at simple weapons, throw your opponent into a huddle of people and 'call' for a double team and you and the participating crowd member bat your hapless opponent between you with a series of hits, or even end up performing various holds and grapples while a severe kicking is administered to a multi-million selling rap artist!
This is another area in which Def Jam excels itself, the graphics will make your eyes pop out of you head when you see it moving, it's sometimes like watching a scene from a rap video (albeit poorly made) as you see the light wrapping around each character (around 60 - I've not unlocked them all!) while they go about their business. It's not just this though the environments are fully destructible!! While this is usually a very small area (the crowd cover the rest of the surroundings only leaving a few gaps for you to make use of) the level of destruction is very satisfying mainly thanks to the impacts this
game has, I've not played another game (including UFC/Smackdown) where the characters have made me wince so much as they've got pummelled against the floor/pool table/fence etc.. You really have to see these to fully appreciate them.
As always with Def Jam the main story mode offers a tale of betrayal and is surprisingly involving (especially as YOU now appear in the cut scenes - or at least your identi-kit character does) with the usual scraps over 'honies' (although disappointingly the photo galleries have been removed) and double-crossing of various characters in your (and other) crews.
As you'd expect from a Def Jam game the music is impressive, although there are few 'main stream' rap songs on here (which could be a plus/minus depending on how heavily into rap/rap culture you are) for the most part even the fairly unknown ones are pleasent enough and provide the right atmosphere for each showdown in the game. The main negative I had with the music was when you come up against a difficult opponent in story mode; as their stage has their signature tune on it, each time you re-match them the same tune is left playing and if it takes a while to beat them this quickly begins to grate.
The in-game voice samples are all from the rappers themselves, with some genuinely smirk-inducing comments made (Redman's 'intro' is one example), this goes a long way to making you believe the story that this game tells.
What didn't I like? Well, as stated about the repeated stage song can be annoying against a tough opponent as can the difficulty level at times, characters like Sean Paul seem to be frustratingly difficult so early on in the game (especially as that interactive crowd is on his side!). The only other criticism that could be levelled at this game is that there's not often enough of an explanation about various options (especially at the gym where you build a fighting style) which could have made this game so much better, but then again the fact that you're not told exactly how to do things may encourage you to play through story mode again (?).
As fighting games go, Def Jam is the new king, great graphics, soundtrack and meaty impacts along with the best crowd implementation I've seen in a game make this a sleeper hit.. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Def Jam, 22 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
One of the best fighting games of the PS2 era. If only they still made games like this! All aspects of the game are great fun even in this "next-gen" world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING GAME! but...., 31 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
This is a very good game! i am a boxer so i really like the martial art game. this is " realistic " game with more 4 martial style.
The first item has been delivered broked. it did't works at all. I sent an e mail and they sent it one more that works properly!
ENJOY IT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 22 Nov. 2010
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) (Video Game)
Fantastic game much better than icon which was a bit of a let down since this is the first time ive played since ive been sick all day good graphics and gameplay for a game thats 5-6 years old one of my fav fighters of my lifetime but since im 14 thats not very long. PEACE OUT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2)
Def Jam Fight for NY (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: £7.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews