Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger and Better
Colin Mcrae may not be currently doing much in the world of rallying but with Codemaster's on his side he bestrides the world of rally games like a colossus.
If you have played previous games in the series particularly 3 and 4 then this new version will be comfortably familiar to you. There are no radical changes in interface from no 4, but there are a few changes in...
Published on 27 Sep 2004

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not as good as I hoped.
OK, let's start this thing off by saying that I love driving games - always have done, always will do - and if I say so myself, I'm pretty handy when it comes to throwing a graphical representation of a car around a track. Secondly, I also love rally games, as long as you can feel the weight of the car and use that feedback to gauge the steering and throttle control - and...
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by MightyBlues78


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger and Better, 27 Sep 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
Colin Mcrae may not be currently doing much in the world of rallying but with Codemaster's on his side he bestrides the world of rally games like a colossus.
If you have played previous games in the series particularly 3 and 4 then this new version will be comfortably familiar to you. There are no radical changes in interface from no 4, but there are a few changes in playability.
Loading the game you are faced with three main play options: Challenges, Championship and Career.
The first option gives you access to time trial and single rally options. It's here you will notice the first real changes. As well as the mainstay rallies of Australia, GB, Japan, Greece, Spain, Sweden, Finland and USA, you have a new rally in Germany. This coupled with 9 stages per rally instead of the usual 6 (plus a few super specials). This means nearly twice as many stages as in the previous two. Also there are many more vehicles available split into several different categories and all can be used in rallies.
Championship mode seems to be a direct port of the main part of no 3. You complete a season as Colin Macrae himself. The main difference is that you get to select from 5 cars instead of having to drive just one.
The highlight of the game though is career mode. Here you create a driver and launch a career (obviously.) You start with 5 cars and access to a few rallies. Winning rallies unlocks cars and events. All the cars in the game can be used although only certain vehicles can be used for specific rallies. for instance one of your early rallies is the Escort MK 1 cup, a rally round 6 uk stages only available to MK 1 Escorts, this gives great variety to your career.
The stages themself are as always beautifully crafted and can be very confusing at times if you don't concentrate on your co-drivers pacenotes. A nice touch is that although some of the stages are through the same locations as previous games the course layouts are different. Causing cocky drivers (like me) to go right instead of left in Greece cos that's what you did before.
Overall then this is a worthy evolution of the Colin Macrae franchise and well worth purchasing. If you can't decide between this and Richard Burns then buy this. It may not have the level of realism but it has 50x the playability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wicked Game, 16 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
This game is really enjoyable it has a mixture of things to do the career option is fun as you gain old classic rally cars and the championship makes a great 2 player game. Ive bought this game and love it if you like rally cars and driving games this is the one for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For pure, undiluted fun.............CMR '05 is number one., 25 July 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
I've played numerous Colin McRae rally games. Watching gameplay footage of the first Colin McRae, for PS1, on YouTube floods back a huge number of memories. Even right down to the sound effects and the music. At the time, CMR was state-of-the-art fun on a console. Codemasters created a revolution, and the centre of it all was the rally legend that was the late Colin McRae. May he rest in peace...and while he's resting in peace he can be satisfied knowing every damn person on God's earth is remembering him...and are never going to forget the legend he was. His legend will, surely, live on.

So what makes Colin McRae Rally '05 the best game I've played this year? Well, it's not the graphics...but it's scarily close, and by no means is it the variety of cars - although there are over 20 rally cars to choose from - and by no means is it its sound effects or originality. What it is is that one magic aspect of a game that everyone seems to have forgotten about...fun. The fun has been rekindled in such a way that you don't want to stop playing, in the same way people "don't want to put down" a great novel. It's simply staggering. The gameplay is absolutely stunning, and the car control makes you feel like you are Mr McRae himself...behind the wheel of a rally car in reality.
There is absolutely no driver aids. It's raw man and machine...exactly how it should be. There are countless stages to rally on, and the variety of cars is fantastic...it ranges from a 1960s Mini Cooper to a 440 bhp Metro 6R4 with lightning fast acceleration and out of control antics.

If you want to pick up your PS2 controller and be bombarded with sheer fun, this game is king. For everything else...you can do better. But not much better.

I think for all the world's sake, this deserves 6 stars. But, unfortunately, you can only give 5 stars. I'll give it 6 stars now, everyone ... ******.

May Colin McRae rest in peace, and may his legend live on for the rest of eternity.
And may Codemasters keep producing absolutely fantastic entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Improved By The All New Career Mode, 6 Mar 2008
By 
N Thompson (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the third Colin McRae release on PS2 and to be honest, they had got it right from the start. It wasn't really possible for them to vastly improve the graphics or sound from the last release because they had pretty much exhausted the PS2 capabilities in this respect, instead we would just have to hold out for the next generation release. Code Masters are not going to waste the opportunity to make money out of another annual release though so here comes the career mode.

The career mode is actually a welcome addition. There is nothing wrong with the traditional championships in the former games, but working your way up the career ladder by earning points according to how you do in individual rallies is a refreshing change. It also allows you to try out all manner of vehicles rather than being lumbered with whatever vehicle you choose for your championship, and with some rallies only comprising of 4 stages you cannot complain about lack of variety. Winning individual rallies also unlocks cars and enhancements to existing cars in your garage. Off-road vehicles is another new and welcome addition to the game.

The one complaint I did have was the Volkswagen Golf GTI. What an awful car! The fact that the career mode often only gives you a choice of one car does hinder the 2WD championships when this is the only car available. It has a real annoying tendancy to refuse to shift up from gears, foot to the floor on a long straight in say second gear the car will be in high revs as you watch the vehicle speed climb hopelessly slowly at under 30 mph. You can get round this by taking your foot off the accelerator briefly which results in an instant upshift in gears but this costs vital seconds, which in Colin McRae rally you can ill-afford. The fact that you need to win this rally to unlock cars needed for other rallies increases the frustration.

Despite this one flaw though this is a great game and don't let it put you off. It is an unforgiving game yes but therefore realistic, and for this alone the series remains one step ahead of the rival WRC. With the all new career mode this has upped the ante further for the competition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant game ... and I've hardly got half way through it ., 24 Feb 2005
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
All I have to give this game is praise. While CM3 refreshes us with updated graphics and a better feel (although quite heavily focused on the Ford Focus with very little development on the other cars), CM4 seemed to stagnate a little with nothing new really added. CM5 has changed this thought, with the vast array of cars and challenges as well a career and championship mode, this game is set to entertain a lot. As for realism, you would have to have driven a real rally car to know how real it is, but the physics engine has definately been improved.
A solid game that will keep you busy trying to complete it.
Oh, and one final note, and heads up however. Make sure that you have enough space free on your memory cards (4.2MB! So that's over half!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars OH MY GOD!!!!!!!!!!, 11 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
Colin MAcrae is amazing! the mutiplay is brilliant. And the cars are fantastic!! freelanders, classic cars anything. Also it's challenging, and takes a long time to complete fully.the tracks have amazing graphics and the co-driver i couldn't race without! if you dont know whether to buy it or not! BUY IT!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not as good as I hoped., 17 Oct 2011
By 
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
OK, let's start this thing off by saying that I love driving games - always have done, always will do - and if I say so myself, I'm pretty handy when it comes to throwing a graphical representation of a car around a track. Secondly, I also love rally games, as long as you can feel the weight of the car and use that feedback to gauge the steering and throttle control - and that's where CMR2005 just falls flat for me.

Yes the graphics are nice and the cars fantastically rendered, but the whole thing just feels so wishy washy (techical term, apologies if that went over anyone's head!). Why can't I accelerate out of a powerslide on the gravel in a 4WD car, instead of spinning the thing out like a RWD lump? Why can't my co-driver at least give me some indication of what's coming up rather than what just happened? And most pertinantly of all, why the hell is my car sliding around like a duck on a frozen pond on a tarmac section of road at 40mph - or was I mistaken and that strip of black was actually an oil slick?

For all my whining, this is still a good game, and if you can get used to the handling then I have no doubt (as other reviews here have made clear) that a lot of people will get a lot of enjoyment from it. For me however, there are only 2 choices for Rally titles on PS2; WRC Rally Evolved for a more arcade style racer but still with the right feel and weight in the cars and for all out realism, Richard Burns Rally.

Thanks for reading my bilge, I'm off to challenge Mr. Burns (Richard not Monty).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Depends what you want, 27 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
I'm a big fan of this series and a big fan of rally driving itself. The thing that has always attracted me to the game is the realism, unfortunately this seems to be lost in this version.
Compared to this, CMR4 had a much better feel to it, you really felt like you were burning along a dirt track by the seat of your pants. This version seems to lose that and feels much more like an arcade racing game than a sim.
If you want a game, buy this.
If you want a sim, buy CMR4.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars colin Mcrea rally 2005, 4 Mar 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
Although i am the majority of the time a PlayStation 3 player i am very much into cars and for that reason am into car games, and decided to check out some of the PlayStation 2 platform games namely Codemasters and bought Colin Mcrea rally 05, although it's it graphically not up to par as the ps3 as you would expect it is still graphically really really good, you can set up your care as you want and the game play is great. This is not suprising as i have pretty much all the codemaster games on ps3 if not all even the war games and they are ALL brilliant,
I am very pleased with Colin Mcrea rally 05 and am very pleased with the condition of the case and the packaging with which it was delivered
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 4 Oct 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) (Video Game)
Colin 2005 is an improvement over 2004,when you put pedal to metal the response is quicker than before,and the cars are easier to control,also they are faster,graphics same as last one, so this abrilliant game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2)
Colin McRae Rally 2005 (PS2) by Codemasters (PlayStation2)
£22.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews