Customer Reviews


26 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sense of epic Roman grandeur
The moment I started playing this game I noticed the distinct Japanese feel it had about it. The script, the character models, the voice acting - this isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the first gem in Shadow of Rome is that it reconstructs the Roman era so well and hands over so much information, you can't help but marvel at it.
The story is a good and compelling...
Published on 18 July 2005 by M. Wenzl

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damn, my swords blunt again!
So some poor chap gets blamed for killing Julius Ceasar so its up to you to find the culprit. You do so by alternating between a centurion who beats the living daylights out of anything with a pulse and another roman who likes to sneak about alot.

In fact, his game is very good and at least has some story to it. The short but frequent cut scenes help and you...
Published on 3 April 2009 by Duncan McDonald


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sense of epic Roman grandeur, 18 July 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
The moment I started playing this game I noticed the distinct Japanese feel it had about it. The script, the character models, the voice acting - this isn't necessarily a bad thing, but the first gem in Shadow of Rome is that it reconstructs the Roman era so well and hands over so much information, you can't help but marvel at it.
The story is a good and compelling one; Julius Caesar has been murdered and his killing is framed on the father of a soldier fighting in Germania, Agrippa. On returning to Rome to see his mother executed, Agrippa becomes a gladiator in order to face the man who killed her. His friend, Octavianus, nephew of the late Caesar, goes on his own private investigation to prove Agrippa's father innocent. The two storylines gives home to the fact that Shadow of Rome has two different types of gameplay - combat and stealth.
The combat is extremely bloody and brutal, yet totally compelling. There is a certain satisfaction you get as you cut your foes down. The arsenal of weapons you get is impressive, ranging from scimitars, to maces, to halberds, to morning stars. With your primary weapons, you can also get shields, helmets, daggers, torches . . . the list goes on and unravels as you continue to play. Although I was unsure of it at first, I have grown to think the combat rather amazing. It's so varied and there's countless ways of killing your foes. You can snatch their weapons from them, use fight combos, throw them into pits full of spikes, smash their skulls, severe limbs . . . which you then can beat them with. The more brutal you are, the more the audience will love you and even help you by throwing weapons into the arena, which can be a godsend. There's a whole range of tournaments, varying the levels - some of the first levels are even set in the Germanian forests and a fort. In many ways, this game is highly influenced by Ridley Scott's Gladiator, even some of the lines are similar. But it's all good and a fine work of a game.
At the other end of the spectrum, is the stealth in the gameplay. Octavianus, a young boy, advised by an old man, sneaks throughout levels. This isn't exactly Splinter Cell. It's easier, sometimes quite good and Capcom have clearly tried to vary the gameplay which is a good idea. The storyline you're uncovering in the assassination of Caesar is thoroughly compelling and dark. Sadly though, the stealth gameplay is linear - there's only one route to your objective. However, you can silently dispose of enemies, take items and even their clothes. Sometimes it even looks like the Hitman series. Although flawed and slightly weak compared to the combat engine, personally I did like this side of it. It's almost like a calm after the storm.
Shadow of Rome is a game that could be in an arcade, but one of the highest quality. It's fast paced, crushing and maintains its historical essence from start to finish. If you like violent, mildly realistic combat games and enjoyed games such as Ominushia and Dynasty Warriors, this really is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lets go and pick a fight!, 8 April 2005
By 
MR J WELLS (Haywards Heath, West Sussex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
What have the Romans ever done for us? Apart from roads, and classic epics directed by Ridley Scott they have now provided a game with a full on battle royal basis. If operations in Casualty make you squeamish then you'll probably want to leave this game alone, and play something like Harry Potter or Spongebob. However, if taking a severed arm and beating someone to death with the wet end sounds appealing, then read on...
Shadow of Rome is one of the most brutal combat games around, and your screen will literally go red with blood. Shadow of Rome also successfully packs plenty of story and alternative stealth levels, which make this game more than just a mindless bloodbath. Although the stealth is not as good as the combat in the arena, they're not bad, and fans of games such as Splinter Cell and Metal Gear Solid will easily get into. However, these stealth sequences do not offer the same depth as the other games mentioned, and the artificial intelligence of the guards can idiotic to the point of being ridiculous, such as looking for you one second and completely forgetting you were ever there the next. Plus they all seem to fall for the same old banana peel on floor trick one after the other.
The plot looks at the assassination of Julius Ceasar from an interesting angle, and even leaves story open ended for a possible sequel. Shadow of Rome evolves round two characters, the centurion Agrippa who has biceps the size of Eastbourne, and the polite and sneaky Octavianus. After Ceasar is murdered Agrippas's father is falsely accused. Agrippa then becomes a Gladiator to stop the champion executing his father, Octavianus also goes behind the scenes to uncover the conspiracy. Shadow of Rome does seem to contain many features from the Ridley Scott film I mentioned earlier, such as a battle in Germania, a high ranking roman becoming a Gladiator, an unworthy emperor getting to power, and a fight with the emperor in the arena. I'm surprised that Mr. Scott and the boys at Universal haven't sued.
As mentioned earlier the battles in the arena are the main attraction of the game. The combat system you will easily pick up, however mastering combos will take time. The fights are violent, and often you will face several enemies at once. With the variety of weapons, match types, and the combos that can be unleashed, there is a real sense of chaos in the battle arena and you will never have the same fight twice. Even though the combat is easy to get into it is still a challenging game, which will make you want to see each fight through to the end. The graphics are great and the frame rate never slows down for a second. The sound is also impressive with good voice acting and the clashing of weapons making the combat all that more enjoyable.
If you can stomach it, Shadow of Rome is a great combat game, with some stealth for variety. Capcom again could have created yet another successful violent series, which could easily get the thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Entertaining, 11 Feb 2005
By 
Marcus Castenfors "I-like-food" (New York, NY) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
At last there is a game that encompasses a typical fighting game with an interesting plot and story. The first thing that struck me was the intro, wow; it's almost like that Ridley Scott movie Gladiator. I have for a long time been interested in Ancient civilizations. In the past I have been an addict for strategy games such as Age of Empires, Civilization etc. Shadow of Rome really has got the same kind of credibility. Capcom has really done a great job on this one. Stunning graphics, excellent game play provide to a game that almost has everything you would ask for. One thing that I found really cool about the game is the weapons you use when you are fighting. Sometimes even the crowd throws in weapons. The game is really bloody, but it sure is entertaining!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Damn, my swords blunt again!, 3 April 2009
By 
Duncan McDonald "Dunk" (Dundee) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
So some poor chap gets blamed for killing Julius Ceasar so its up to you to find the culprit. You do so by alternating between a centurion who beats the living daylights out of anything with a pulse and another roman who likes to sneak about alot.

In fact, his game is very good and at least has some story to it. The short but frequent cut scenes help and you have some limited interaction with other characters. The meat of the game is the old 'beat em' up. Interestingly, you have to replenish your weapons often cause you wear them out!

The graphics are a bit naff but fit in with the theme and you really don't care as you slaughter another soul. But there is a flaw.

The levels are big but you can only save at the end. Run out of health, get killed or simply run out of time and it is back to the start. A couple of hours slaying down the tubes then. The opportunity to save more frequently would make this game less frustrating. In other words, this is a game for those with plenty time (and blood) on their hands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A bit confused, but great combat & a good story., 7 Feb 2005
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
I've had my ear to the ground for a long time waiting for the definitive 'Gladiator' game, so when Shadows of Rome emerged, needless to say I made the purchase straight on release.
Now that I've committed some serious gaming hours to the game, I can say that the 'Gladiator' part is certainly up to my expectation. Believe the hype about beating your opponent with his own limbs. Weapons are extremely varied, from body parts to maces to swords and on, and the two-hand-weapon system is a nice touch, especially when considering the combo attacks. The well-designed combat engine sees to it that you never fight the same battle twice. I'm quite finicky when it comes to combat, and this in particular impressed me greatly.
The other side of the bat, the 'sneak about and uncover the plot' part of the story was a little less convincing. While Agrippa is a solid fighter type, Octavinius is a bit weak and rubbish by comparison. Granted, that is kind of the intention ... but I don't think it works as well as Capcom hoped it would. It's a shame, because the plot is quite good, loosely based on the fall of Caesar, with plenty of twists and turns to keep the player interested.
Another aspect of the game I appreciated was the sound and graphics. While motion was a little jerky at times in cut-scenes, I found that the level of detail Capcom had put into both characters and backgrounds was excellent, and really helped create the feel the game was aiming for. The background scores and sound fx work well, especially through a good sound system.
Ultimately, my opinion is that the game's saving grace is the superb combat system, and this really holds up the weaker stealth elements of the game. It really is the best gladiator look-alike about - far better than the likes of Gladius - and it's just a little let down by a case of mixed identity. However, I think it's well worth buying. A solid result from Capcom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite hard, 4 Aug 2010
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
I remember seeing this game come out back when I was younger but was put off by the amount of blood shown on the back of the box. Years later and I finally thought it was about time to toughen up and give it a go.

Plot: It's all based around the murder of Julius Caesar. You play the part of two characters. The first one is called Agrippa who is away fighting when his father is accused of the murder. As Agrippa, you then return home to compete in the gladiatorial arenas to become the champion who gets the privilege of killing the murderer. While fighting with Agippa, you also play as Octavianus who is actually trying to find out who the real murderer is. When you play as Octavianus, it's a total change of game play style. It's a lot more stealth based then brawn and you have to use your wits to get to your goal.

It's not a very believable story but its good enough and there's enough in the game to help it along.

Graphics: Nothing special but still realistic enough for them not to hinder the game.

Gameplay: As touched upon in the plot section, you play two very different types of people. When in the arenas playing as Agrippa, you need to know your combos to win. Each fight has different requirements to win and it's up to you to meet them.

Playing as Octavianus, it's rare you need to come across any violence at all. There's the option to knock guards out with pots but you will need to decide if it's worth the risk of other guards noticing him missing. Usually the best approach is by hiding and waiting and moving slowly when the guard isn't around.

Controls: Each character has a different control set to learn. Not really a problem as they matched to the different style of play that character has.

Lifespan: It took me around the 9 hour mark to get half way so you're looking at around 20 hours to finish the game completely.

The reason why I say the half way mark is because I'm embarrassed to say so but I got stuck. I'm terrible at fighting games and combinations although I still enjoy them but I was constantly struggling. The actual killing part is easy enough but as the game progresses, the requirements for each fight gets harder and the part I got stuck on was where you have to fight in a certain style for the crowd. It's fine if you can adapt to these things but seeing I struggle anyway, I had no chance of changing my fighting style on the fly. I was told by a friend that if you fail enough times you're given the choice to skip the match but to me that only felt like cheating.

At some point I'll probably go back and finish it off but for the mean time it's back in the cupboard it goes.

Overall: If you're good with your combinations and fighting games then you should have no problem with this game and the stealth sections only add to the package but if like me you struggle with the genre, then you're definitely going to be struggling here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 6 May 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
Where do I start?....WOW! I bought this game when it first came out on the ps2 and loved it, completed it fairly quickly and then did the usual and traded it in for another game when I had finished with it. Now approximately 2-3 years after its release I have bought it again...why? because most games coming out on the 360 at the minute are so utterly dissapointing.

The only thing which stopped me from giving it a full five out of five rating is that the game is broken down in to two parts, the epic coliseum battles where you play Agrippa a former captain in the army reduced to a gladiator to save his fathers life who has been accused of murdering Julius Ceasar, and secondly Octavionus, Agrippa's cousin who meanwhile is trying to prove who really murdered Julius Ceasar. These scenes to be honest are pretty dull, and you find yourself hurrrying to get through them so you can get back to the action with Agrippa...

As anyone will see who reads my reviews is that I haven't been too impressed of late with the gaming industry, one dissapointing and shoddy title after another I have been forced to return to games of the past, and what a game Shadow Of Rome is.

The battle levels are truly awesome, from chopping peoples arms off and then using it to club its previous owner to death, to chopping people completely in half, to battling elephants covered in armour and packs of tigers, using catapults to break down draw bridges or break down enemies, the list goes on and it is simply wonderful fun gaming...obviously the graphics now look a little dated but at the time of writing this review (May 08) the game is approx 2-3 years old but that doesn't matter...the gaming is what is important here and you simply can't get any better, I wish modern games had half as much playability and style that this game has.

All in all though a fantastic game!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real voilence for a change, 22 Aug 2006
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
A two tiered game based on roman gladiatorial combat and espionage, Shadow of Rome puts you in the sandals of two very differnt charachters. The story is set just after the murder of Julius Ceaser, with the Senate in turmoil a power struggle for leadership begins. The father of a prominent General named Agrippa is accused of the murder, and a gladiatorial contest is held to determine who will have the honour of executing the prisoner. At the same time the rightfull heir to the throne, a young man named Octavius is double crossed and cast out of rome. As Agrippa you must compete in many gruelling rounds of mortal combat with other gladiators in order to save his father, and as Octavius you must sneak back into Rome and gather clues as to who is behind the murder of the beloved Ceaser. The action swings between the two but is focused on the fights. Please note this is not a game for hardcore stealth fans, as Octavius you have only certain abilities, hiding in pots, whistling or throwing rocks to distract guards and disguising yourself as maids, soldiers etc. creating a light but fun element of stealth which can tax your strategic abilities at times, and also has some intereting moments involving wild tigers loose in a basement and so on, then just when youve had enough sneaking around you get to charge headlong into a blood bath as big soldier dude and wrestle a giant axe of another Gladiator and cut his arms off with it, then throw the arms into the crowd/ back at him/ at other gladiators or just double it up as a club to beat the guy with his own limbs. Certain actions in the areana such as the ones above or using certain weapons in certain ways gets the crowd worked up more than basic hack and slash fighting, and a wild crowd will throw food and weapons at your feet if you cheer them. This game is probably the most voilent game i have ever played but also the most fun youll have on your ps2 for ages and even though it has no two player it always goes down well after a drink up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars shadow of rome ps2, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
great game plenty of action good story good gameplay. some good fighting scenes some stealth missions great game loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Game doesn't even work, 2 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Shadow of Rome (PS2) (Video Game)
As the title says it doesn't work.
The delivery time was amazing worthy of 5 stars.
the game however only worked until a cut scene within an hours worth of game-play.
I still rate a 3 however because it is only this slightest scratch and once I pay 3 to repair it will be fine from then on I'm sure.
I would recommend buying from here if you want a cheap game that's for sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Shadow of Rome (PS2)
Shadow of Rome (PS2) by Capcom (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 2.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews