Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the prince's fate ??
The prince once again makes his return in the fifth installment of the Prince Of Persia. This time the game features a much more complex storyline, leaving it quite thought provoking. The prince must journey & defeat fate to defy his preordained death. The game features alot more darker aspects in it than in the past POP games. The graphics are so mindblowing & crisp. The...
Published on 10 Dec 2004 by candice

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Prince Is Back !!!
To start of with the hype that has surrounded this game, has been huge. With Ubi-Soft repeatedly going on about the darker Prince, this time round, they forgot to 'Bug Test' there AAA game. On a number of occasions the game just freezes and your left with no choice but to reset the console, and start over from your save point.
Another downer I have with the game play...
Published on 2 Jan 2005 by Nate


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the prince's fate ??, 10 Dec 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
The prince once again makes his return in the fifth installment of the Prince Of Persia. This time the game features a much more complex storyline, leaving it quite thought provoking. The prince must journey & defeat fate to defy his preordained death. The game features alot more darker aspects in it than in the past POP games. The graphics are so mindblowing & crisp. The motion animation is absolutely unbelievable. This has been a game that I have been yearning for for quite some time now & i must say that it delivers on every level of excellance. Again the developers did not leave any detail left untouched, they submit so much attention to every detail, making the game more life like & appealing. The prince can do some gravity defying combat moves such as; run along the wall, jump up the ledges, sliding down banners & many more moves. Warrior Within includes a dual-wielding feature, which will allow the prince to execute special attack sequences. This game does feature an mature rating. If you loved Sands Of Time, then i highly recommend that you check out Warrior Within. PSM gave Warrior Within a 10 out of 10. I give it 2 thumbs up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 4 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
I received this game for Christmas, and have to say that I've been completely engrossed since then. It's tough on occasions, but not stupidly hard and generally it's not too frustrating.
The graphics are good, and despite the complaints I've seen written about crashes and glitches, I've yet to come across any problems except some odd camera angles.
The gameplay is fair, with the enemies being much more satisfying to kill than in the Sands of Time. The platform element is as good, if not better than SOT and the new additions with ropes and curtains are well implemented.
I tend to get bored of games quite easily and this has kept my attention very well. I'm only halfway through but am looking forward to continuing with the adventure!
Overall, I would say this is a superb game and one I would happily recommend.
Beware - the gore can be quite graphic and it is 'on' by default, however I believe there is an option to turn it off if your not so keen...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A game that has it all, 7 Dec 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
Well, it doesnt have cars or guns but it does have gorgeous graphics, inventive puzzles, exhilarating action and gameplay that whiles away the hours.
Not having played Prince of Persia: Sands of Time (of which this is the sequel), I did not know what to expect. The last time I had played Prince of Persia was the 2D platformer on the PC. Elements still remain the same in character animation (which was impressive still back then) and environment interaction (grabbing ledges, climbing, jumping). Now, though, things hae been truly updated. A viscerally exciting combat system where you can jump over opponents and lob off their heads / cut them in half / throw them off ledges / push them into other oponents. With over fifty combinations of moves the options seem endless and fighting four to five guards can be almost balletic if done correctly. The variety of enemies forces you to adjust your skills. You cannot complete the game endlessly pressing the same button.
The puzzle elements are the antithesis to the frantic head lobbing. Ranging from simple leaping from column to column to desperate holding-of-breath moments as you let go of a swinging rope to run along a wall a richochet yourself up a gap between two walls, its all there. You will die. Lots. But with a feature from the precious game - the sands of time - you can rewind time to take you to a point before you died. Very useful but has to be used sparringly as this power can be used a number of different ways from saving yourself, to a weapon against your enemies.
Negative points - can get repetative but the drive to see the next vista or puzzle pushes you on.
This is simply a brilliant game and a review here cannot do it justice. The game holds as much surprises for the player as it does the prince himself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Prince Is Back !!!, 2 Jan 2005
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
To start of with the hype that has surrounded this game, has been huge. With Ubi-Soft repeatedly going on about the darker Prince, this time round, they forgot to 'Bug Test' there AAA game. On a number of occasions the game just freezes and your left with no choice but to reset the console, and start over from your save point.
Another downer I have with the game play is the Start-Stop method, where you will play for about 3-4 minutes (maybe longer) and suddenly fall, get caught out by a trap or gradually lose your health until you have to go back maybe 10-15 minutes of playing time and do it all over again, hopefully remembering where you went wrong last time, so as to avoid the same silly mistake. You then find that after much deliberation you finally make it past this part only to start the whole Start-Stop method in the next section.
Now I am no bad gamer by any means, I have been playing games ever since the "Commodore 16" days (even programmed a few for the Spectrum) but this type of trial & error game play just don't do it for me. I much prefer the more free-flowing game play of "Sands Of Time", and this just feels like two steps back.
I do though however actually like the Prince's new dark persona and despite what you may have heard about the electric guitar and rock soundtrack being ill-fitting for Warrior Within, I personally think it fits perfectly for the type of mood that the game setting takes place.
Graphically it's okay, but it's no Ninja Gaiden in the looks department. The animation is superb throughout, just like all the previous Prince Of Persia titles that came before it.
I know this review seems very critical, but there are some superb moments like the 'Dahaka' chases that run throughout the game every now and then, and you have to race for your life (literally) to escape him. While you are being chased you know that 'Dahaka' is hot on your heels as the screen goes more and more into sepia tones the closer he gets, not forgetting the electric guitar soundtrack going for it. It all adds up into a frantic race until you are able to cross a stretch of water (which Dahaka cannot pass) to take a much deserved breather.
The combat system is also a joy thankfully, after the poor combat from the previous 'Sands Of Time' and the dual wielding of weapons are more than just a gimmick, with each secondary weapon having it's own strengths and weaknesses against certain enemies.
Warrior Within also sees it's share of boss battles, which throw you in at the deep end almost from the start. They are tough as hell, but never unfair, as long as you mastered blocking and counter attacking you will eventually wear them down, but just pressing one button to repeatedly slash will see you dead within seconds.
To end this review let me say that if you are still not sure about purchasing this game then wait for it to come down to a more reasonable price. It's one of those games where a few joypads will get thrown out of the window in a tantrum more than once. But it would also be a shame if you did miss out, because it really is a genuinely good game despite certain faults.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beyond Excellence of 1, 4 Dec 2004
By 
Mr. S. D. E. Wilson "Jacob Kreed" (Leeds, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
What to do after completing Halo 2, Well very simple go buy Prince of Persia 2 even if you havn't. The Graphics are excellent and the gameplay is divine. There isn't a game that touches on the brillance of this game that includes Halo 2. The storyline is so good it should be made into a 100million Film (no joke). The game centres around more combat than puzzles but in good measure. The first battle scene is problarly most intense since Full Spectrum Warrior.
The game continues on from where left off, by opening the sands of time you have condemn yourself to death and death is after you.
The question is how do change your fate if death is all you face ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should be called 'Glitches Within'!!!, 10 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
Now don't get me wrong. At the heart of Warrior Within lies the same recipe that made its predecessor Sands of Time great but what weakens this game is its annoying stop and start game play - usually due to a glitch the player can do nothing to help. For example...you have spent 35 minutes since the last savepoint traversing a room of deathdefying jumps and countless wall runs only to be stopped inches from the next save point by an invisible wall. You fall 200 feet to your death and the game kindly puts you back to where you were 35 minutes previously. I am not saying that these glitches are evident in the gamr across all formats but they certainly plague the xbox version. At the core the game is very good but please take heed of my warning - it may annoy you a little too much!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ace, 5 Jan 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
This game had me in from the start, it took 6 days of hard gaming to finish it, now i need to start again to get the secret ending.
agree with the above post but the start stop was good for me as it made the game very hard unlike sands of time which was a little too easy.
I must admit to using a walkthrough guide on some parts.
overall loved the game cant wait for the next one.
BTW I didnt come across any big bugs in mine, which could mean it been update.
Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Warrior Without, 8 Dec 2004
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
The Prince Of Persia's resurrection was undoubtedly one of the highlights of 2003 (that and Beyond Good and Evil), so I was waiting on tenterhooks for the sequel. Unfortunately, Ninja Gaiden came first, blowing POP out of the water in all areas. The platforming, graphics and combat were far superior to those of POP.
The sequel was sold on the strength of the combat, and after Tecmo's beat 'em up style combat in NG, I was waiting for something special. I was sorely disappointed. Graphically, the models, textures and animation seems worse than the original, the bos combat is just as annoyingly tedious as before, and the new voice of the Prince, and his new hardnut image, just leaves me wishing I had our exotic, well educated Prince back.
Oh, and don't get me started on the music. Irritating, Painkiller esque grinding metal guitar pieces that add nothing to the game but a dire need to see the end of the combat, just so it will stop.
Boss combat for me came down to simply holding block while the boss does loads of fancy attacks, then goes straight into block afterwards, leaving me a millisecond or 2 to do one attack... One handed boss fights. Boring and pointless. That's not to say that fighting drones isn't fun, watching the Prince bounce all over the place like Yoda in Attack of the Clones is exceptional! It's just that Boss combat is tedious and mind numbing.
Bugs are frequent too, as is slow down and some horrible pauses. In fight refuelling isn't advised either. If you run away from a boss to replenish health, the game really does not like you, rendering the boss bug filled and weird, leading to some very disappointing effects. Checkpoint positiong is poor too, leading to some extremely frustrating combat scenes. It is quite possible to spend 10 minutes fighting one boss before falling off an edge and dying, as the sands of time don't work for some reason or another. A major point of note is the first encounter with the Beast, who I must have killed 4 or 5 times before I managed to get back to the water fountain...
All in all, severly unimpressed. Ubisoft should have stuck to the platforming elements and puzzle elements that made the first game so good. If you want a platform combat game, buy POP on the PS2 or GC, or Tecmo's vastly superior Ninja Gaiden.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good fun for a beginner, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
Bought for my grandson who enjoys this type of game.....but I've also enjoyed playing it. The Prince is such a cool guy. ;-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great game, 29 Nov 2005
This review is from: Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox) (Video Game)
what a great game plenty of obstacles to get past and plenty of sord fighting very dificult to complete but very interesting and clever the way they made it definatly a game to buy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Prince of Persia: Warrior Within (Xbox)
£14.90
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews