Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars23
4.1 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 March 2005
Calculating infinity was a real slap in the face for me at a time when i was kinda getting sick of all the music floating around at the time.A Frantic yet exact assult with musicianship thats very hard to fault. Miss Machine takes this concept and in my opinion spices it up with a pinch of melody. Some may say that this is selling out but I still cant see this album being lapped up by your standard alt music crowd. Besides who wants to hear a band churn out the same thing again and again. If i want that i will play the Ramones.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2004
Here it is, one of the most hotly anticipated metal albums of the last few years. Was it worth the wait? Definitely! Is it better than calculating infinity? In my opinion no, but that's a tall order!
With a fresh singer, and a fresh sound, modern DEP is very different from the DEP of 1999. The heaviness and kamikaze playing has been toned down, there are still some self-destructive moments, but not as many as previously witnessed. In place of this DEP have branched out into different sounds and styles.
Mike Pattons influence, as well as Trent Razors is clearly evident throughout this album, you've got the all out gut wrenchers of old DEP, with the strange twisted music of Patton, coupled to the sleek metallic sound of NIN. It's a strange mix, but it works! I gotta admit that I didn't like this album upon first listen, but after a few more spins it grew on me. I was expecting an all out psycho fest like CI, DEP have instead served up a curve ball that you'll either love or despise.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2004
It's taken five years but it's finally here. Yes children, Dillinger are back and better than ever. Whilst the opening salvo of Panasonic Youth and Sunshine The Werewolf suggests that little has changed in the Dillinger camp (no bad thing) with "challenging" time signatures, brutal vocals and stunning instrumentation still abounding, by the fifth track new vocalist Greg Puciato has really come into his own. His wider vocal range has allowed the band to explore some of the avenues pursued on 2002's collaboration with Mike Patton; this is particularly evident on Phone Home, which features sinister Patton-esque vocals and some great atmospheric Line 6 guitar work and Unretrofied's smooth vocal harmonies. Whilst the heavier work still harks back to their Calculating Infinity days, Dillinger now seem more willing to lock into a groove (witness the huge breakdowns in Van Damsel, We Are The Storm and Baby's First Coffin) and the insane time changes seem to fit together more naturally. As a whole, these apparently disparate influences have created an insidiously catchy album that demands repeated plays in order to experience the various nuances. It's clear that the band have made a conscious effort to distance themselves from the "hardcore scene" and will no doubt be called sell-outs but, to be honest, anything that p*sses off hardcore kids gains my instant respect. Make no mistake, this album is a classic.
P.S.: It's definitely worth shelling out the extra money for the bonus DVD, if only to see Greg deck a Hatebreed fan in the face.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2014
Coming of the back of a classic like Calculating Infinity was never going to be easy, the sophomore album for many great rock bands has always been in question but if they are truly pioneering musicians for their genre they will succeed. Dillinger are no different, with a new singer (Greg Puciato) but the same approach to their organised chaos TDEP deliver another classic noise metal album.
We kick straight in with 'Panasonic Youth', a pleasant slaughter of the ear drums that'll send shivers down those who waited patiently for more brutal music, and from then on the album doesn't really let up. One of my personal favourites 'Sunshine The Werewolf' mixes brutality with beautiful jazz-influenced breaks and slips between the two effortlessly, this is a common theme throughout the album that keeps the listener interested through the mazes of huge stomping riffs and over-the-top accurate drums. Another highlight of the album is the single 'Setting Fire To Sleeping Giants' which for me solidified Puciato's place in the band showing so much vocal range on one song you'd think it was four people singing as well as being a complex song to be considered one of Dillinger's more 'poppy' songs.
As with every Dillinger album you will want to tear out your heart and eat it in front of those you hate as well as dance awkwardly to off tempo grooves, Dillinger will be one of those classic bands that while progressing for the future still keep their signature sound.
Essential Tracks:
Sunshine The Werewolf
Highway Robbery
Setting Fire To Sleeping Giants
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 January 2005
Panasonic Youth was the first time I came to hear TDEP, and that proved enough for me to purchase the album (or rather hint it as an Xmas present).
As I haven't heard the band's earlier stuff (yet) I'm unable to judge if they've got better or worse, but on it's own this LP is brilliant!
But, I don't think it's everybody's cup of tea. Despite being a fairly swift 40mins with a couple of radio friendly tracks (and it's only these that knock it from a full 5 stars due to cheese whiffs), this is not a universal album. Panasonic Youth is kind of a perfect first single as it's accessible but shows a taster of what they're about.
The album sounds like one big song or sound, and most of these tracks are brutal concotions of speed, off time signatures and shredding vocals. The flurried double bass drum and off snares seem to be the lead instrument in TDEP with the dualling guitars emphasising the drum rhythms and going crazy inbetween them. You get melody at times, but this is mostly about rhythm.
To properly appreciate the album you have to play it a few times to learn the multitude of changes within a song. You can't gel and groove to it straight away. The first few listens may feel like being caught on an electric fence if you're not used to this kind of (pleasant assault). You need to know what's coming.
The musicianshipship and singing is phenomenal. The actual production could've been made a bit more grittier though I feel.
The accompanying DVD features camcorder style studio footage and some live clips. I only ever watched this once so you could save a bit by getting the standard CD version.
All in all if you're tired of poppy metal (although there is a bit of vibe that here in parts), this is probably the best you'll find in modern near-commercial music. Definetly recommended for those who like shredding and clever (at times too clever; some more simpler grooves would be welcome in the future) music.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2005
Miss Machine is the Dillinger Escape Plan's swansong. "Calculating Infinity" was special, certainly, it was a ferocious blitz of oral chaos and masterful musicianship. Yet the arrival of Mr. Puciato has transformed DEP into an outfit capable of moulding these talents into a decpiherable coherent album : lacking NONE of the ferocity. This last point must be emphasised, old school fans worried about the melodic sensibilities of the album need not be worried : it's business as usual from the DEP guys. The opening seconds of "Panasonic Youth" should tell you as much.
But Miss Machine is much, much more than just chaos. It's organised chaos, the best kind. The structure of the songs is enough to keep you coming back again and again to find something new with the album. It's captivating, engrossing, disturbing, cathartic, lyrically immense.
You can say all you want about Calculating Infinity : it was excellent, for sure, but Miss Machine takes DEP's noise to another level. It's no longer noise. The effects within songs are just awesome - example, the trumpets in "Sunshine the Wereworlf" creep me out every time I hear it. The song is glorious. Some of the songs have recognisable choruses - this is no bad thing, there's no element of a grab to the mainstream here, "The Perfect Design" is as heavy a song you'll hear all year.
It's masterfully sculpted aggression - and I just can't get enough of it. Hook DEP upto my veins.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2005
This album has some beastly hardcore tunes on it! However, don't expect continuous hardcore like 43% burnt. I'm not too keen on some of the more melodic bits and would like to hear a few more solid riffs. It's probably the best Dillinger album as far as consistently good tracks are concerned though.
Highlights are Panasonic Youth and Sunshine the Werewolf.
Oh yeah, the DVD.
There is some totally primo action in the form of 43% burnt and The Mullet Burden (both live)! Buy this CD!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2006
easily one of 2004s best albums and i do mean easily,my head nearly blew off at the class of it all,its still mathcore but something has changed,they are more melodic than ever,there are even chorus' but that doesnt bother me one bit,when they crank it up to ten it is as violent and as heavy as it comes,i love this and you could too if you have an open mind ,they never sold out,they evolved
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2004
This is an essential purchce for any fan of hard/progressive music. It slips between trying to destroy you mind with great songs like "panasoic youth" and "baby's first coffin", to a calming false sense of security achieved in "unretrofied" and "setting fire....". Just to top this on the DVD there's some great live footage and a fairly ammusing documentry.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2005
I first heard DEP on their first album Calculating Infinity and, as much as I appreciated what they were trying to do, it wasn't for me.
But now they've got a new vocalist who adds so much more to their music and thus allows the band to take their music on new adventures.
They've also discovered a few tunes on which to hang their dynamics on. Some might see this as selling out, but is it really selling out when you expand your music or is selling out really being afraid to take risks and repeating the same thing ad infinitum?
For me the few hooks (and they are few - this is not Green Day by any stretch of the imagination!) give the album a back bone. So, unlike the first album, it can run and walk and jump and skip all over the place - instead of just staggering from one pizzicato to another - which makes for a much more fascinating and rewarding listen imho.
In short this is an essential album of the 21st Century and any participant of it should own it. Pronto!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.90
£6.23
£5.99
£39.90

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)