Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 5 Jan. 2007
By 
Andy Edwards "staxasoul" (Essex UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Inspiration Information (Audio CD)
This is an amazing album - a funky mellow jazzy masterpiece, with some rock influences thrown in. Listening to it well over 30 years since it was produced you can hear just how influential he has been, and how far ahead of his time he was.

Included here are 4 tracks from his earlier album, Freedom Flight (1971) and this makes the package an essential (if it wasn't anyway). If you like Sly, Isaac, Curtis, Herbie Hancock, Miles Davis, the Isleys, mid 70's Marvin Gaye, etc etc you will not be disappointed by this - so buy this - NOW
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, 17 Mar. 2007
By 
Musicman "waggstar" (Truro, Cornwall, U.K.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inspiration Information (Audio CD)
I am so lucky that I found this record. About six years ago this record was remastered and re-released. At that time I read a couple of favourable magazine reviews, came across the CD quite by chance in my local independant record store, (remember those?) and on a whim purchased it. I don't usually buy things without having a listen but I am so glad that on this occasion I did.

Shuggie was a true genius, a visionary who locked himself in the studio for months, reluctant to meet with record company executives who would visit from time to time to see how their money was being spent, sending out for horn and string sections to play his lush arrangements when required, and gradually piecing together almost single-handedly this beautiful record.

I won't go into individual discriptions of tracks because that's boring, and let's be honest; how can you have great music described to you? You have to hear it for yourself. Buy this album. You NEED it, you just don't know it yet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sly inspired Treasure ahead of it's time, 23 Sept. 2005
By 
D.Ro (London, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Inspiration Information (Audio CD)
Prodigious talent Shuggie Otis was churning this stuff out as a one man box of tricks, programming, playing most things and composing and scoring all of the orchestral arrangements. What you get is concise, funky, soulful, fully realised ideas that take inspiration from Sly & the family Stone but pushed into the future. There are times where he is pushing the envelope on this album, some would say towards completely new genres. A must for any respectable record collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Genius!!!, 30 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Inspiration Information (Audio CD)
Ahhh just buy it trust me!! It has the original and much superior version of Strawbery Letter 23 it has some great rhodes work in it and pioneering use of the drum machine. Funky chilled out summer goodness all written and mostly performed by the teenage Shuggie who at 14 or 15 was hired by the great Zappa to play bass on 'Peaches En Regalia' so he has to be good. BUY IT NOW YOU FOOL!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shuggie Otis, A lost talent, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
Half the album (plus Strawberry Letter 23, one of three inclusions from '71's Freedom Flight) is marvellous psychedelic soul - half Stevie Wonder, half Arthur Lee, or like Sly Stone if he'd made it into the '70s with optimism intact. Factor in jazzy bubblebath ambience, primitive electronica and opulent funk, and this is a bona fide lost classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Soul from a master at work, 10 Mar. 2002
By A Customer
To all you neo-soul lovers feenin' for ol' skool soul classics, I'd say don't sleep on this gem. I put it up there, with the best of Stevie, Marvin and Donny. It's that good and different. Much of the album has a mellow Sly & Family Stone thing going on, while the last three songs (from a previous album)have a Hendrix/bluesy undertone. Personal favourites are Island Letter and Aht Uh Mi Hed. All round exquiste vocals and musicianship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars legend, 20 Oct. 2008
By 
A. Fenton "Happy Hippi" (Leeds) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Inspiration Information (Audio CD)
I cannot actually believe Shuggie Otis was not bigger, I recently started listening to him and my god, anyone who doesn't hear this album is seriously missing out. Listen to Strawberry Letter 23 and you'll be in absolute awe of him, obviously the rest is amazing but it's fantastic. Great funk, jazzy, proper R&B music, not modern ****. If you don't buy, consider rethinking your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You Must Own This, Period, 14 April 2003
Like it was recorded tomorrow, this bona fide classic by Shuggie Otis is an album you must own. It was the template for Prince/Formerly and still sounds like Prince's great leap forward. It says everything modern soul has now said and more. It's quirker and sweeter than Badly Drawn et al. It's not an album apart, but one outside of time. Brilliance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars cool album, 16 Jun. 2013
Cool funky laid back album. Shuggie played everything and in a way was a precursor to Prince. Great summer vibes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best album I've brought this year, 16 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The best album I've brought this year, can't believe it was released back in 1974, this guy was seriously underrated,, BUY THIS CD!!! A++++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Inspiration Information
Inspiration Information by Shuggie Otis (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews