Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album.
If this review sounds slightly biased I apologise but please bear in mind that TBS are my favourite band and this is their best album.
I LOVE this album. I've owned the album for a few months now and can't remember a time when I didn't know all the words. There is not a bum note on the whole album. Both the singles, "The Photograph Is Proof" and "A Decade Under The...
Published on 15 April 2005 by Mr. J. I. Ding

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure where this album wants to be?!?!?!
After eagerly anticipating great things from this album as precedented by 'Tell all your Friends' I was left feeling rather disappointed on hearing this new release. 'Tell all your Friends' has a highly charged, anthemic formula which remains consistent throughout. It epitomises the emo genre, it is always a great pleasure to listen to it and no track is skipped. However...
Published on 29 July 2004 by stusim_19


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing album., 15 April 2005
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
If this review sounds slightly biased I apologise but please bear in mind that TBS are my favourite band and this is their best album.
I LOVE this album. I've owned the album for a few months now and can't remember a time when I didn't know all the words. There is not a bum note on the whole album. Both the singles, "The Photograph Is Proof" and "A Decade Under The Influence" are strong examples of the quality present on this album and if you've seen them on Scuzz or Kerrang you'll know what to expect.
The quality of the singles is high but there is not a single track of filler on this album. "New American Classic" is amazingly heartfelt and has much more meaning now I've seen their live show in Nottingham in which lead singer Adam Lazzara mimics removing a ring from his finger (read into that what you will). "Bonus Mosh Part: 2" was very well done at the Reading festival in 2004 and proudly sits atop of my Media Player with most plays. All in all this album confirms TBS' status as one of the future heavyweights of this form of rock along with other bands like Lostprophets and Finch. Can't wait for album number 3.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Same name different band, 12 Aug 2004
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
Whenever a band goes through a major line up change as Taking Back Sunday did they are never going to come out the same, John was an integral part of Tell All Your Friends and the Taking Back Sunday of old and the loss of Shaun as well will have had a less immediate but still equally important impact. People should never expect this to be a continuation more a start of a new chapter.
From the reviews i have read i am of the opinion that people have listened to this CD once and then reviewed it. This is important as where as Tell All Yuor Friends was immediate and instantly lodged itself firmly in your favourite album list this record grows on you the more you listen to it. This is a more melodic Taking Back Sunday one that doesn't ram Hardcore hooks into you but lets the music flow with the melody and let the songs enchant you through melodies. I believe that this is due to the loss of John, the dual vocal attack added impact and emotion to the sound of old and the vocal impact of Fred is considerably less. But the songs here only slightly weaker than those on TAYF and there are classics with in "a decade under the influence" and "bonus mosh pt.II".
I urge people to purchase this album because it is simply fantastic if you give it the time and don't expect it to be a continuation of Tell All Your Friends. I admittedly prefer TAYF and it is still my favourite record but this is a classic album one that is less hardcore and more melodic. If you give it time it is a purchase you won't regret.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Ol' TBS, 26 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
Okay, I just recieved this album today and I have listened to it twice. At this stage I can confirm that this album is not going to surprise you as much as 'Tell All Your Friends', but that isn't neccessarily a bad thing - this album is very, very similar to 'Tell All Your Friends'. Perhaps after a few more listens I'll be able to come to a more specific conclusion. Basically, it's good - but not dissimilar to TAYF.
Key track - Bonus Mosh Pt II
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its......Different., 11 July 2004
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
On first listen...i wasn't amazed, but as Tell All Your Friends did, it grew on me, and i've grown to love it. You really can't compare this to TAYF, its different. which i think is a good thing, its a new album..not a continuation. Its more 'cute without the E' than 'no I in team', yet still retains some of the emotional intensity of the last album. the lyrics and song styles are still unmistakebly tbs.
Songs like 'photograph is proof' and 'bonus mosh pit', along with others are catchy, you will find them circling in your mind like vultures....which isn't a bad thing considering.
Overall....I fooking Love it, its love its love.... make it hurt...sorry
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Album of 2004... I think so!, 15 Dec 2004
By 
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
This truely is a fantastic album from a truely fantastic band. The debut full length from Taking Back Sunday in 2001, 'Tell All Your Friends', was a CD to be reckoned with. They took the punk/emo scene by storm and instantly gathered a huge fanbase. This, the follow-up to that hugely successful record, had a lot to live up to. But it definately managed it.
I wouldn't say that this recording is better than 'Tell Ell Your Friends', but it is definately on an even par. The record opens with the fantastic 'Set Phasers To Stun' which realy gets the album started with a bang. Other standouts are without a doubt the masterpiece that is 'A Decade Under The Influence', with its great riff and harmonies, 'The Union' and the amazing acoustic 'New American Classic' which is a thousand million times better than the acoustic offering of 'Cute Without The E' on 'Punk Goaes Acoustic'.
There isn't a weak track on this album, and every song will have you screaming the words and playing air guitar 24 hours a day. You should defnately check out these guys live aswell. They without doubt are on of the best bands out there.
Buy it... buy it now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not sure where this album wants to be?!?!?!, 29 July 2004
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
After eagerly anticipating great things from this album as precedented by 'Tell all your Friends' I was left feeling rather disappointed on hearing this new release. 'Tell all your Friends' has a highly charged, anthemic formula which remains consistent throughout. It epitomises the emo genre, it is always a great pleasure to listen to it and no track is skipped. However 'Where you want to be' has lost that formulaic approach, although that distinct sound of 'Tell all your Friends' remains in some tracks most notably 'A decade under the influence'(which is great single material) and 'Set Phasers to Stun' the album generally lacks that raw edginess that made 'Tell all your Friends' an instant classic.
'Where you want to be' is far more experimental, the song writing has dithered slightly and generally lacks the emotional intensity of 'Tell all your Friends'. I don't see this Album remaining in my CD player no where near as long as 'Tell all your Friends' which shall remain the soundtrack to my summer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gotta be honest, i really enjoyed this album., 30 Mar 2009
By 
Mr. J. D. A. Bloor "JoshyBloor" (Manchester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
So many great songs on this album. Unlike 'louder now' i feel this album has more heart and dedication. I now love TBS thanks to this album, can not stop listening to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A new line-up, a new chapter..., 26 Jun 2004
By 
Sarah "beautifullycomplete" (Newcastle-under-Lyme, Staffordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
When listening to Where You Want To Be, it becomes immediately obvious that cannot be compared to Tell All Your Friends and it shouldn't be. Where You Want To Be is a new sound for Taking Back Sunday who, after various line-up changes, have found their feet once again.
After the departures of both John Nolan and Shaun Cooper, Taking Back Sunday were never going to be the same and old fans may be a little disappointed with the way their sound has evolved (myself included) but that doesn't mean that Where You Want To Be isn't a good album in itself.
Highlights include the opening track Set Phaser To Stun, the more mellow acoustic sound of New American Classic and Bonus Mosh Pt. II with the emo cliché, "It's love, make it hurt (I deserve it) it's love, it's love, it's love... make it hurt" forming a catchy chorus.
However, Where You Want To Be appears to lack the emotional intensity of Tell All Your Friends and this could be setting TBS on the road to chart-rock mediocrity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The progression of Taking Back Sunday, 26 Aug 2004
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
Having fallen in love with Tell All Your Friends (after being dumped!), there was no way Where You Want To Be was ever going to equal the raw emotion Taking Back Sunday's First release. However, it has not left my CD player since i purchased it and is now up there with the almighty TAYF.
The line up change is obvious, and as a result the classic TBS moments like 'Why Can't I Feel Anything For Anyone Other Than You?' from 'Cute Without The E (Cut From The Team)' are absent. This is a double edged sword, becaude whilst those kind of mulitple screamo moments from TAYF was what endeared me to the band, in leaving them alone, they have presevered a great personal moment in music. As a bass player, the bass lines are less deliberate and catchy and whereas on TAYF, Taking Back Sunday could quite easily have released any one of the 10 tracks as a single, this album only provides 5 or 6 that would be able to hold there own in the charts. Not saying that they are poor quality tracks, but again in comparison to TAYF, they are not as solid and universally appealing.
But thats all that is negative, as an album it works very well. The classic Taking Back Sunday overlapping of lyrics is present, and it has been said before, that no-one quite overlaps lyrics like TBS. It will grow on you, in particular the first four tracks will become firm favourites. The album works aswell as both a chill out background album or as something to just concentrate and listen to.
If you have heard A Decade Under The Influence on TV or given radio time, you will know pretty much what to expect. I highly recommend this album. As a stand alone album, it is great! There are no over weak tracks and you will rarely find yourself skipping. The contrast of slower, more rock based ballards and more passion emo tracks works very well, and there is enough there to make you want to listen to tracks over and over. As with all TBS songs, they grow on you because they play on your emotions, and this album is no different. Whether is because of being dumped, being rejected, being let down or simply being in love, you will really begin to relate to the tracks. If after 5 listens of 'Bonus Mosh Pit Pt. 2' you don't find yourself screaming 'Its Love Its Love Its Love', then you are seriously lacking some soul!
TAYF got me through a really tough time, and this album can't be compared to it based on that personal opinion. If you are already in love with Taking Back Sunday, then this will be like a second honeymoon, but if you have not heard the band before, i recommend Tell All Your Friends first. Just make sure as soon as you have heard all of TAYF, you have this ready to put into your CD Player, because its very hard to take out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album Rocks!, 8 Mar 2005
This review is from: Where You Want To Be (Audio CD)
Taking back sunday are possibly one of the most popular emo bands at the forefront of the emo movement from the start! the album has elements of both hardcore emo and the quieter slow songs all possess equal angst and anger. This album is for fans of bands such as funeral for a friend finch and brand new as is the first offering by the band, tell all your friends. The band are an amazingly talented bunch and possess high quality and inspirational musical abilities. This band are also an amazing presence when seen live i adivse everyone to buy this album you need this in your life! and as there first album suggests do tell all your friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Where You Want To Be
Where You Want To Be by Taking Back Sunday (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews