Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars50
4.5 out of 5 stars
Package Quantity: 1|Style Name: Original Packaging|Change
Price:£11.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 January 2011
Both my 5 year olds and 2 year old love this. My older boy is using it to help him understand concepts learned in the class room and then uses it to play shopkeeper at home with his little sister. Very well made and sturdy. I recommend buying some little weighing toys too, which I will be doing soon.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 July 2012
I bought this for my 2 1/2 year old daughter and she loves playing with it we have had this out most days weighing different items from around the house. It is very well made and durable which is fab especially with a toddler playing with it. The scales are just the right size for a young child to play with and brightly coloured which makes it more appealing.I like the draw at the front you can fit quite a few items in there to keep things tidy which all moms will love.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
I had been looking for some weighing scales to be able to explain the concept to my son who has started reception. The selling point for me was the fact that it can also be used to weigh liquids and can hold more items so you can also use it for counting, for example 10 cars weigh more than 8 cars etc. However please do look more carefully at the item picture and you will notice that the yellow balancing bar does not actually have much space to balance meaning there is only a very small way for a heavy item to go down and up and really is hard to notice the difference between 2 items that have a similar weight and it is hard for a child to see clearly what is actually heavier sometimes unless you put one very heavy item on one side and something very light on the other which all children get anyway. For this reason I have not actually used this much and will be looking for another weighing scale
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2011
I bought this as an introduction to measuring weights for my 3 and 5 year olds. The bucket attachments are excellent, and allow the children to weigh all manner of objects and toys. There is also a 'lid' which provides a flat weighing surface for larger items. We haven't yet progressed to weighing liquids, but that will be an interesting pouring task at a future point. Buy this with a bucket of vehicles or animals: wonderfully tactile for little hands, and perfect for weighing experiments (are fire trucks heavier than sheep?!). A excellent resource for 'mummy school'.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2014
Great, Easy for young children to use and its nice to use the buckets to pour with, would recomend this to friends and perfect for childminders and Nurserys
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 11 March 2016
Designed as a basic set of primary age scales, all components are moulded from durable, easy clean plastic. A wide base provides stability with a handy integral drawer to keep secret treasures, weights or surprise objects to weigh. Double arms offer stability, with an integral balance slide adjuster weight on each. The included small folded information sheet only gives an outline of the scales, set up and states these are 'basic scales'.

Both clear buckets have an easy pour spout and stable bases. These can stand alone or attach to the yellow arms, with their moulded hooks. These hooks are fiddly to attach, so the buckets are easily knocked off; a poor design causing frustration... and mess if filled with liquid! We used food colouring to increase visibility against the approximate measuring guides. These are embossed on two sides of each bucket, one set reversed to read from inside the buckets. Lined increments of 50 mls with measurements of 100 mls up to 400 ml.

Each bucket has a shallow red flat lid which is fiddly to attach and easily knocked off. These offer a surface for objects to be placed on top, giving a more direct visual connection with the items and scales. We used the hexagonal weights and Three Bear Family Counters with our scales to give a comprehensive resource.

Scales set up with lids spout outwards, approx measurements:
Length 40 cm 15 ¾''
Width 13.5 cm 5 ¼''
Height 15 cm 6 ''
Blue Base Length 12.5 cm 4 7/8 '' Width 13 cm 5''

For us, these scales have proved useful over the years, they enabled practice how to use scales correctly and why that's important, understanding objects have their own weight and liquids have their own volume, using objects vs liquid, predicting weight and volume, capacity of different shaped and sized containers pouring liquid or split lentils into the buckets, patients and enhanced shop role play. Because of the fiddly design of the hooks and lid, I have to give 4 stars; however, we weighed up these factors and have no regret purchasing these scales!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
Very useful kit the scales can be,used with the trays to hold liquid or just with the trays to hold the toys has a draw to store weights,these don't come,with the scales,I think it shoud.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 January 2015
Perfect for teaching heavier and lighter of solids and liquids to children. The Learning resources weights go well with this to move into actual weighing of solids and liquids.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2015
Lovely set of scales for small children to use. Easy to set the balance, weighing things in the buckets or trays, able to create lots of play whilst learning and recognising the difference in sizes, weight and encourages patience to get the scales to balance. I had thought they were a bit pricey but having been used they appear to be worth it
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
One of the plastic tubs is heavier than the other, and so the product would not balance unless I stuck a piece of blutack underneath the lighter one! Not ideal.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)