Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The brilliance of the episodes makes up for shortcomings
For a collection of 22 episodes of the Simpsons to be littered with so many great moments, it would be extremely unfair not to give this boxed set 5 stars. This series is the beginning of the 'Golden Era' for the Simpsons, and is totally essential, and as usual, the package as a whole is great value for money.
But I was seriously tempted to mark it down for the most...
Published on 9 Aug 2004 by Touring Mars

versus
3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars copyright
The Simpsons may be brilliant but when you've actually paid for the set it's annoying that every episode has a copyright warning before it plays and immediately after every episode finishes in several languages. What's really annoying about this set is when younger children are pestering to watch the next episode, what series have they actually included a play all...
Published on 14 Sep 2011 by Mr. I. M. Davies


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant but..., 3 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Very good episodes, but my DVD makes me sit through a 10 second copyright warning before watching each episode! This is as well as the warning that comes up when you insert the discs.
Why make those who buy legitimate DVDs suffer this? It's not a major issue, but it is annoying, and I am very well aware of the copyright issues that affect the DVD. Damn the Fox corporation!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Comedy Award' Winning Comedy, 30 Dec 2004
By 
David Firth "dudey_cool" (Manchester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
'The Simpsons' won Best International Comedy Show at last week's 'British Comedy Awards' and if you had been a living in a subterranean cave for the last 10 years then this alone would tell you that 'The Simpsons' is a funny programme. However, if you are reading this review then you probably haven't, hopefully not, and will know that 'The Simpsons' is one of the funniest, if not the funniest, shows around; a legend. Matt Groening, famed writer of 'The Simpsons', was awarded an 'Outstanding Contribution to Comedy' Award too.
Season 4 is, in my opinion, one of the best. The episodes are packed with jokes in all forms - visual, verbal, puns, slapstick, satire, innuendo, and even crude bathroom antics. This was also the first Season to feature the famous "inside Homer's brain" scenes. The previous reviewer has already listed all the episodes so instead I am going to give a more in depth review of the better episodes of the Season.
Episode 2 - A Streetcar Named Marge:
Jon Lovitz guest stars as the director of the musical "Oh, Streetcar!", a parody of Marlon Brando's "A Streetcar Named Desire". Marge auditions and gets the lead role of Blanche, opposite...Ned Flanders! Homer's insensitivity and stupidity inspire her to give the performance of a lifetime. Meanwhile, Maggie is in a playgroup while Marge rehearses and the rules are strict, too strict, so she plans a "Great Escape" style mutiny, there's even a mimic scene with her and a ball!
Couch: The family runs in and the couch turns into a giant octopus and eats them.
Episode 8 - New Kid on the Block:
The Simpsons have new neighbours, a single mother with a daughter, whom Bart falls for immediately. Marge welcomes them and Bart soon finds that his love, Laura, is a complete tomboy. Homer and Marge go to a seafood restaurant and they get Laura to baby-sit. At the restaurant, Homer eats A LOT of food in an all-you-can-eat buffet and the restaurant kicks him out on the street and he decides to sue them. Bart starts asking questions about the birds and the bees and just when he gets a plan to win Laura, she tells him that she has a boyfriend. It is Jimbo, and Bart feels betrayed, depressed, and angry. Homer's court case begins and the lawyers reveal what a pig Homer is, (hey, it's true). The Sea Captain (who owns the restaurant) makes a deal with Homer; he eats free seafood and people gawk at him like a freak. Bart prank calls Moe as Jimbo, resulting in Moe coming after him in a murderous rampage. When Jimbo cries, Laura leaves him and begins hanging with Bart again. The prank call is one of the best with Moe saying: "Ivana Tinkel, Ivana Tinkel?! Okay, everyone put down your glasses Ivana Tinkel?!"
Couch: The couch falls through the floor with family on board.
Episode 12 - Marge vs the Monorail:
Mr Burns goes on trial for dumping toxic waste and pays a huge fine. The town holds a meeting on what to do with the money and Marge suggests repairing the city. Just when they are about to approve her idea, in comes a guy singing and dancing about a monorail. The whole meeting erupts with everyone singing "monorail! monorail! monorail!" (and Homer going "Mono...D'oh!") and they approve the idea. Marge is unsure so she goes to another monorail town and discovers that it is all a dangerous scam and finds out that the guy in charge is a con artist on his way to Tahiti. Leonard Nimoy (Spock to you and me) guest stars.
Couch: The family sits down, followed by the show's whole cast.
Episode 22 - Krusty Gets Cancelled: This episode guest stars the Red Hot Chilli Peppers, Elizabeth Taylor and Bette Midler. 'Gabbo', a ventriloquist dummy, has a new show that competes with Krusty's. When Gabbo beats Krusty in the ratings, the network cancels Krusty's show. Krusty auditions unsuccessfully for acting roles and loses money at the track. Bart wants to ruin Gabbo, so he pulls a TV stunt. Krusty is flat broke and Bart and Lisa work to help him get back on TV. They ask Krusty's celebrity friends to appear on a comeback special. First on the list is Bette Midler. Then Hugh Hefner, the Red Hot Chili Peppers, Elizabeth Taylor, Johnny Carson, Sideshow Mel, and Sideshow Luke Perry are asked next. Bart and Lisa return to find that Krusty has put on a lot of weight. He stays with the Simpson family while he tries to lose the weight. The day of the show arrives and it goes incredibly well, opposite the now stale Gabbo show. Bart, Lisa, and the celebrities come through for him and his show is back for good. Afterwards they all hang out at Moe's...isn't that nice.
Couch: The family get caught in a net while running to the couch.
Other then those episodes, Season 4 also features Marge going to jail, Lisa's first word and the 'snake-clubbing' episode which guest stars Barry White. Buy it, you'll love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Possibly the best Simpsons Season, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Love it, so many good episodes in one box! I Love Lisa, Lisa the beauty queen, Camp Krusty, Mr Plow!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Growing In Quality, 30 Mar 2014
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The standard of episodes continued to grow in this fourth season. While the animation continued to settle, the subject matters continue to be diverse. This can be seen with the religious focus in 'Homer the Heretic' and Marge getting a job and attention from Mr Burns in 'Marge gets a Job'. Other top quality episodes can be seen with the emotional 'Homer's Triple Bypass' and the powerful 'Last Exit to Springfield'. The actual set is good and the discs are easy to access. This is a superb season from 'The Simpsons'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great delivry, 3 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Great! Got it when i should, some scratches, but i bought it used so... :D
All the disc worked perfect? Thanks?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Season Four of The Simpsons: One of the Best, 2 Feb 2014
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The fourth season of The Simpsons was a classic one. By this time the Classic Era has only just begun with the great Season 3.

This season is even better, with pretty much all the episodes being classics. Here, we have hits like Kamp Krusty, A Streetcar Named Marge, Treehouse of Horror III, Mr Plow, The Front and Krusty Gets Kancelled, which are all amongst the best episodes in the show's history.

The fourth season was fantastic, and definitely one of the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Must see, 29 Jan 2014
By 
George Adamides (Cyprus) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Always perfect. If you haven't seen The Simpsons family you haven't experience the world of art, completely. For me The Simpsons, is fine art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant 4th season for The Simpsons!!, 9 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
Definitely a brilliant 4th season for The Simpsons. All terrific episodes to be watched over and over again. Extremely entertaining. It did not disappoint!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Yellow gold!, 16 Oct 2013
By 
This review is from: The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] (DVD)
The Simpsons season 4 DVD boxset (airing September 1992 -May 1993) was the first DVD boxset I ever bought from The Simpsons. It was the summer of 2004 and at the time The Simpsons had been taken from BBC 2 which was the channel where I'd got my fix at 6:00pm each weeknight for the past few years since terrestrial TV had started showing it. This magical show was slowly changing my life with each viewing and became my favourite TV show within no time. So I'm sure you can understand my disappointment when they stopped showing it. I believe it had been off air for at least 6 months when I walked into a Woolworths and saw this Season 4 boxset which I just had to own. So I bought it and watching all these episodes again, including a few which I hadn't seen before, was amazing.

Al Jean mentions in a commentary that people have said season 4 is the best season of all time of The Simpsons. One reviewer also mentions that they think this is the THE best season "By far the best of the show". It is an amazing season with many amazing episodes and although I wouldn't say it is THE best season ever because I'm not completely sure. What I can say is that it would definitely be up there in the top 3 best seasons, if I could make such a comparison.

We have some of the best episodes of the show this season. Kamp Krusty was an episode I hadn't seen back when I originally bought this and it is quite a standout episode because it is different. Bart and Lisa go to Krusty the clown's camp and it turns out to be a nightmare while Homer and Marge enjoy time together while the kids are away. A streetcar named Marge was another episode BBC withheld and this one had controversy surrounding it due to the song about New Orleans. This one is also very atmospheric and includes Maggie trying to break out of the Ayn Rand day care centre to the music from The great escape. Homer the heretic is a classic with Homer skipping church and questioning faith itself. It's got a few of my favourite lines with Homer discussing a man "with long hair who had some wild ideas and he didn't always do what other people thought was right... and that man's name was... I forget!" and Homer's rant about "what's the big deal about going to church" with Bart yelling "testify!" at the end! Homer shows his love for Lisa in Lisa the beauty queen with Homer sacrificing his Blimp tickets to the song "Hey there blimpy boy...". Treehouse of horror III is 1 of the best with the evil Krusty doll on the wrong setting!, Homer as King Kong and the town all turning into zombies. Marge gets a job is a funny one featuring Tom Jones and a strange toilet scene with Smithers.

New kid on the block has Bart falling for the new girl next door only for her to be with Jimbo and kick his heart into a bin saying "you won't be needing this anymore". Mr. Plow is 1 of my favourites ever with Homer and Barney going head to head with a plow business guest starring Adam West and Linda Ronstadt. Homer's triple bypass has Homer in hospital for a major operation performed by the incompetent Dr. Nick in his first appearance and also the second time we see the Vet from Dog of death. Duffless, Last exit to Springfield, A Simpsons clip show with Bart doing an April fools joke which leaves Homer in hospital again and Whacking day guest starring Barry White are other highlights. Characters are developed and solidified this season such as Ralph Wiggum for the first time being paired with Chief Wiggum as his dad in the classic I love Lisa, which 1 of the writers states is his favourite episode. Marge Vs the monorail sees a Phil Hartman (in another great appearance this season) character conning Springfield into investing in a monorail with Homer using a donut to save the day! Matt Groening says Homer saying "I call the big one bitey" about the family of possums in the monorail is his favourite line. Dr. Marvin Monroe makes an appearance in this episode in a non speaking part as a member of the audience at the town hall. Conan O' Brien the chat show host was a writer and producer for some of these episodes and this is 1 he wrote. All the episodes are a cut above anything they've released in the past 13 years and can be enjoyed time after time.

The commentaries have Matt Groening on every episode and it's headed by Al jean. These commentaries really interested me and made me laugh whereas the recent ones don't bother me. It must have something to do with my interest in these episodes.

The DVD menu has different animated characters depending on which section you're in. Although these look fun they get pretty boring after you've seen each skit once so you'll find yourself skipping them. Yes there is a copyright warning but this only lasts 10 seconds! The DVD setup is an improvement on season 3 with no deleted scenes on most episodes unlike with season 5 onwards which has the current DVD setup which is the best, but it does have an option to view deleted scenes for episodes Homer's triple bypass and The front. There's an animated commentary for A streetcar named Marge and Homer's triple bypass. There's a language feature, a featurette called The Cajun Controversy and animatic/animation showcases.

This was when the staff put so much effort into the episodes to make a fantastic product with classic jokes and deep stories. It is essential for any fan of this show. Series 2 was the beginning of the golden era and this series is a stunning development.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD]
The Simpsons: Complete Season 4 [DVD] by Dan Castellaneta (DVD - 2004)
11.25
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews