Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting true to life film, centering on family values
Bullet is a superbly shot film and brilliantly played by the films major actors, i.e. Tupac Shakur and Micky Rourke. There are no complex plots or storylines, but it is an excellent reprentative of gang warfare and family values. Tupac plays the gang drug lord to perfection. He has excellent character, great lines and the part was made for him. Micky Rourke plays the...
Published on 11 Jan 2001 by A. Varsani

versus
4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average
this film is watchable but i wasnt blown away by it,this film wanted to be scarface but fell way short because of bad writing and crappy plot.mickey rourke and tupac dont really seem interested in being inthe film and look like they were drunk and high while they made it even so tupac does his best and shines though playin drug kingpin tank.so all in all id buy this only...
Published on 14 July 2006 by Stephen Mcguigan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hard hitting true to life film, centering on family values, 11 Jan 2001
By 
A. Varsani (London United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullet [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Bullet is a superbly shot film and brilliantly played by the films major actors, i.e. Tupac Shakur and Micky Rourke. There are no complex plots or storylines, but it is an excellent reprentative of gang warfare and family values. Tupac plays the gang drug lord to perfection. He has excellent character, great lines and the part was made for him. Micky Rourke plays the Jewish boy brilliantly also. Just released from jail, he tries hard to leave crime behind but cannot do it. His character is deeply complex. A strong intelligent man, who loves his family. He has one brother who is a psycho army guy, another brother who is a smart talented artist, and a mother who works hard to keep the family together and a father who has a severe anxiety disorder.
After watching the film you realise what true family values are about. Looking out for one and other, caring for eachother, and watching eachother's backs.
I loved it and thought it was top class from beginning to end. I would recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant film, 15 May 2003
This review is from: Bullet [VHS] (VHS Tape)
brilliant film, mickey gives a wicked performance. About three brothers al different in there own way. 2pac also stars in the film playing a gangster whilst mickey plays a junkie. i loved the end seen which was totally suprising must be seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding gangster film,must see, 6 Feb 2005
This review is from: Bullet [DVD] (DVD)
Directed by Julien Temple(great rock and roll swindle)This film follows the release from prison of Butch(mickey Rourke).after serving 8 years for keeping his mouth shut over a hold up,returns to Brooklyn to be with his family and best mate lester(great actor john enos).
while away inside butchs drug problem has got worse and prison has really destroyed him.A prison gang rival who butch blinded in one eye named Tank(played fantastic by Tupac Shakur)has taken over butchs hood,so first thing butch does is rob one of Tanks dealers.
This film is fantastic great performances from all including a young adrien brody(the piano player).
It shows really how bad drugs can take hold and give you no way out,that revenge will come back for you from people you ripped off or killed,
for low level street gangs this is the film to see.its up there with carlitos way and scarface,
this film went straight to video and dvd after poor marketing so its a real gem to find,shame it never got a good release budget,but this film has a growing following.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bullet [1996], 4 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet [DVD] (DVD)
Bullet is a good independent film starring Mickey Rourke and Tupac Shakur. the film is very underated. Any one who is into gangster and hood movies should buy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars SACRIFICE, 20 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very good but not perfect view of the life of the poor. The acting was good but there is a slightly narcissistc edge to Mickey Rourke's writing that can be a little annoying.

This is, however, highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet [DVD] (DVD)
Any movie starring Tupac Shakur will receive a 5 star rating from me that's just the way it is and I am not here to write a movie review go to IMDB for that but Zoverstocks have never failed to impress me with their service price = amazing - condition = used but if I didn't know I would have thought I was the first owner and this DVD was delivered on the earliest estimated date (ME = HAPPY)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars average, 14 July 2006
By 
Stephen Mcguigan (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bullet [DVD] (DVD)
this film is watchable but i wasnt blown away by it,this film wanted to be scarface but fell way short because of bad writing and crappy plot.mickey rourke and tupac dont really seem interested in being inthe film and look like they were drunk and high while they made it even so tupac does his best and shines though playin drug kingpin tank.so all in all id buy this only if you can find it for under a fiver
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent little film....a small gangster classic, 21 July 2007
This review is from: Bullet [DVD] (DVD)
I seen this film back in 99 ,i remember thinking this is going to be a cheap silly gangster movie....but i was wrong. This film isnt like 'menace to society' if thats what you expect. This movie is big on character and their lives. Mickey plays 'butch stein' superbly and ted levine as the confused brother who thinks hes in the war gives an amazing performance also.

Its hard to believe it hasnt been heard of by many until now but ive noticed its begining to get a kind of cult following, overall this movie has a great score,directing is good, actors paly excellent roles.Should have had more credit when it came out ,but what do expect when a movie goes straight to the shelves. 10/10 for me

Butch stein (one day at a time)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars For the true fans of Pac 3/5, 26 April 2011
By 
David Mwale (chipata,EP, ZAMBIA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bullet [DVD] (DVD)
This movie depicts gangsta life and drug use that was rife in mid nineties america.I would have enjoyed seein this movie in my teen years as i was a big fan of the late Tupac Shakur,i was shocked that this movie did not interest me as much as i thought it would.Barely a 3 out of 5 for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A video only worth viewing for die hard Tupac fans, 27 Jun 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Bullet [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This dark and over long film was depressin and unoriginal was too much for my liking, to be quite honest about the film, it would only be watched and noticed by the late Tupac fans. It has protrayed the urban so called gangsta life style that was mainly used for violence to the screen. The screenplay and drama wasnt even cared for, after watching just half an hour of the film.It doesnt even promise anything at the start to get you interested and the ending looked as though it was rushed just to finish the film. Maybe worth a look to see another Tupac film by his die hard fans, but not even his appearance could save this film. You also start to feel sorry for Mickey Rourke as he trys hard to bring drama to the screen like he did in Homeboy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bullet [DVD]
Bullet [DVD] by Julian Temple (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: 1.48
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews