Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Film
Like the previous viewer I had never heard of this film. But I got it and me and the wife found it to be a very enjoyable film, with some quality comedy moments and good fun. Highly recommended!
Published on 17 Oct 2011 by Mr. P. Fixter

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, a Blockbuster (?) well, not really
We enjoy Dougrey Scott's movies and this little story was a treat for exiled Scots. For that it gets a 'thumb's up' but ye'll no be having to scratch your head working out the plot!
Published on 15 Dec 2011 by Mr. P. G. Gibb


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny Film, 17 Oct 2011
By 
Mr. P. Fixter (Wakefield, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
Like the previous viewer I had never heard of this film. But I got it and me and the wife found it to be a very enjoyable film, with some quality comedy moments and good fun. Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A quirky comedy, 17 April 2010
By 
LXIX (scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
I had never heard of this film before in any shape or form so I took a bit of a chance when I ordered this DVD. I have to say that I wasn't disappointed and I found 'One Last Chance' to be an amusing 92 minutes.

There are a number of familiar faces here - including Kevin McKidd who went on to star in the epic BBC/HBO 'Rome' series, Dougray Scott, Iain Robertson (Rab C. Nesbitt) and perennial Scottish hardman, Jimmy Chisholm (Braveheart, Taggart etc).

The plot follows 3 Highland guys who live humdrum lives that are turned upside down when a nugget of gold is discovered near their village. They then proceed to dig a deeper and deeper hole for themselves as they get caught up in a spiral of debt, fall foul of the local hardman and his gang, and even accidently kill someone while joyriding a stolen car.

There are a number of quirky moments, good one liners and a few twists and turns in the plot. Don't get me wrong, 'One Last Chance' would never have won any awards and at times the acting is rather wooden (almost akin to a school play in some of the dialogue exchanges) but if you take this film for what it is - low budget, funny and a bit different - then you'll enjoy this amusing Highland tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, a Blockbuster (?) well, not really, 15 Dec 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
We enjoy Dougrey Scott's movies and this little story was a treat for exiled Scots. For that it gets a 'thumb's up' but ye'll no be having to scratch your head working out the plot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One last Chance, 21 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
A great wee Scottish movie with some of Scotland's finest acting talent Iain Robertson is outstanding as always. Iain is one of Scotlnd's best kept secrets, a totally underrated actor in my humble opinion! A must have for anyone who loves a great wee story and of course being well acted and Scottish is a bonus. Buy the DVD don't download!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An enjoyable hour and a half....., 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
I never think a film is helped by such comments as 'wickedly funny' like this one has on the cover.Humour is a subjective thing,so to imply something is going to be hilarious,is setting the bar too high.So with that said,the film is not a laugh a minute,but it is an enjoyable film that certainly has a few smiles .Kevin McKidd is rarely in anything bad and this is no exception,in fact the whole cast are good.
The story follows three lads trying to escape a dour existence in a Scottish village,and of course the barriers and mishaps presenting them doing this,are the basis for what is an enjoyable hour and a half with a few laughs thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
I liked the film as it is very entertaining and away from the usual American over the top effects type of movie. I'd definitely reccommend to anyone wanting a cheap film to have on standbye for a night in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars one first laugh, 12 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: One Last Chance [DVD] (DVD)
Never knew this existed till seen in recomendations. A bit of a let down as it seemed a bit contrived. Ending was a bit rushed. Not in the same league as Bill Forsyths comedys.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

One Last Chance [DVD]
One Last Chance [DVD] by Stewart Svaasand (DVD - 2004)
5.93
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews