Customer Reviews


25 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless Peace
`Peace Sells...' is without doubt one of the defining albums of the whole thrash scene, in fact one of the best metal albums of the 80's...no wait simply one of the finest metal albums of all time, simply put; life affirming. After the good but scrappy debut `Killing is My Business...And Business is Good' Megadeth really raised the bar and in my mind made the best record...
Published on 9 Mar 2008 by Ed

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2004 remaster is awful
"Peace Sells" is one of the best heavy metal albums ever made, and probably the best Megadeth album. However this (2004) remaster is awful, the bass has been re-recorded and sounds really processed and lifeless. The first time I heard it, I noticed immediately. It has none of the warm, famliar sound of the original recording.

This might not matter so much if...
Published 22 months ago by Mr. L. J. O'Neill


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Priceless Peace, 9 Mar 2008
`Peace Sells...' is without doubt one of the defining albums of the whole thrash scene, in fact one of the best metal albums of the 80's...no wait simply one of the finest metal albums of all time, simply put; life affirming. After the good but scrappy debut `Killing is My Business...And Business is Good' Megadeth really raised the bar and in my mind made the best record of 1986.

Rather than Metallica who were focusing on increasingly progressive songs and Slayer who went for just straight ahead stripped down brutality, Megadeth provided a sort of best of both worlds, being more musically proficient than any of their contemporaries as well as having tight and concise songs which could also rip your bleeding head off. No matter how technically brilliant Megadeth were, no one did angry better than Megadeth to be blunt Dave Muistane had issues. Megadeth was a band formed with the intent of revenge and they sounded like it.

`Peace Sells...' is Megadeth's finest album most of the songs here have now transcended into the realms of true heavy metal classics. In fact all the bands actual own compositions are fantastic only the ill advised cover of `I Ain't Superstitious' lets the side down, this song is an old blues standard but I think Megadeth based their version on the Jeff Beck Group's. Now Chris Poland can nail Beck's licks but Muistane sure as hell can't sing like Rod Stewart, so on the whole it just comes across as a bit of a novelty. But aside from that minor blunder this is all stellar speed metal. `Wake Up Dead' kicks things off in excellent fashion, it's a lovely piece of vitriolic metal with some of the best instrumental sections ever. It's like one verse then about two minutes of killer riffage and Muistane's solos that simply cut through everything and some more refined touches from Poland. Easily one of Megadeth's best numbers. `The Conjuring' displays a clear Mercyful Fate influence lyrically as its one of the bands few Satanic numbers. It's a spiralling concoction of riffs and tempo changes featuring Muistane's own (then) unique approach to two handed tapping. Again fantastic. Then the title track, which is without doubt one of the most seminal metal songs ever, a triumph of rage and spite...in a politically righteous kind of way, without ever being preachy (take that Rage Against the Machine!). The bass, the riffs, the lyrics, those driving rhythms and even Chris Poland's jazzy solos it's all phenomenally catchy and its one of those songs even casual metal fans love. Erm more standouts? All of it...well aside from the aforementioned cover. `Devils Island' once more is immensely catchy and so head banging friendly even though the chorus sounds more like Neville's island. However the best is saved for last with the distinctly more old school feeling (meaning I dunno pre-1984) `My Last Words' which starts with one of those classic clean thrash intros, then total head banging mania with what could well be Muistane's finest riff. As a song it feels really epic even though its under 5 minutes in length. It's got a certain energy to it that is so lacking in Megadeth's recent work it really makes the hairs on your neck (which is soar by the end of the album) stand on end. A monumental end to a staggering album, and that solo...ace!

Musically Megadeth could school any of their contemporaries at this time, but rather than relying on shredfest's the band retain a sense of melodic sensibility making `Peace Sells...' very much easy listening (in a heavy metal sense of course). Anyway, many consider the `Rust in Peace' line up to be the bands finest, but to me it seems this one has the best chemistry and ultimately brought on the best in Muistane's song writing. But it almost goes without saying that all this band are absolutely phenomenal musicians. The guitars really stand out on this album, this being Muistane's finest performance his riffs heavy and memorable and his leads just seem to shred through everything. Although he lacks some of Poland's finest as a guitarist I still prefer his lead style to any of his guitar partners. Poland as previously mentioned has a jazzy feel that was pretty groundbreaking in metal in the 80's and although a clearly accomplished guitarist his solos are often concise and never lose meaning. Ellefson proves himself as the consummate metal bassist (yes better than Cliff `silly bass wah' Burton...take that you sacred cow!) his tone is quite trebly and as such stands out in the mix which is good as he's actually doing some interesting things whilst never compromising what the song requires. Gar Samuelson is my favourite Megadeth drummer simply put I like his tone and feel, his and Chris' jazz background certainly makes for an interesting listen.

Oh now to have some fun, a Metallica comparison! `Master of Puppets' although good in places is simply no match for `Peace Sells...' Mop is plodding and overlong, lacking both the instant and appeal as well as the depth of PSBWB. Hetfield's riffs sound like forced picking exercises in comparison to Muistane's more nimble and frankly far more exciting compositions. Which rather than dense and dull which can be seen as James interpreting Iommi rather badly at times, Muistane's riffs have a more energetic feel and life to them, which can also be seen as the result of him actually keeping mid range to his guitar tone, as the triple tracked scooped mid sound of MOP may be dense but it's ultimately lifeless. I won't even bother going into how inferior Lars, Cliff and Kirk are to their Megadeth contemporaries. Yeah, this may be a slightly unrelated tangent but I feel this is a perfect way to give my opinion on age old metal disputes.

`Peace Sells...' represents Megadeth at their hateful and vengeful best, never losing focus of songs whilst always giving exciting and precise performances. This is an absolute winner of a metal album...every home should have at least one copy. Even at the very least you can dig the iconic yet dated cover with Vic Rattlehead in a post nuclear apocalyptic landscape...now that's thrash!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old School Speed Metal Classic, 11 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. S. Wood "simonwood27" (london) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that most remastered/remixed albums offer very little in the way of improvement on the original recording. However, I am pleased to say that in this case this new remastered version of a classic metal album is the dogs. For a start, as soon as wake up dead kicks in you can feel the benefit of the remastered mix. Where the original mix was ok, it was a bit flat, this mix helps bring out the power of the individual intruments and highlight the quality of the musicians. You can feel the double kick drum work from Gar (a most underrated drummer) and the thick heavy bass of Junior Ellefson.
The additional mixes stuck on at the end of the album are worth having, but not that essential.
Overall, worth purchasing and at 6.99 a bargain with the addition of new artwork and extended linear notes.
Lets hope Slayer get around to doing the same with Show no Mercy and Hell Awaits, another couple of classic metal albums badly in need of a makeover.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth's Finest Hour, 3 Mar 2006
By 
william thomas (Leighton Buzzard, Bedfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I know I know - loads of you are going to argue and claim that Rust in Peace, Countdown to Extinction or Killing is my Business are on a par, but nope, this is the album where Mustaine and cohorts hit the musical jackpot. Fantastic songwriting, great riffage, awesome solos and that Vic Rattlehead cover is immense on a sleeve or as a t-shirt.
Wake Up Dead - immense. The Conjuring immenser.
Peace Sells - archetypal thrash classic where Mustaine spits the vocal with true venom.
Devil's Island - another great record, rightly quoted by British DJ Tommy Vance as one of the best thrash moments.
Black Friday - oh my God. Has to be in my top three tracks of all time by any band, period.
When an album opens with that sort of consistent quality what's not to like?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Megadeth - Peace Sells... but who's buying?, 7 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A brilliant old school style example of heavy metal.
Rocking everlasting rifts!
Love 'the Conjuring'. Heavy and fun in equal measure.
And'Peace Sells' is a lesson to this day. A brill rock song that you can actually sing along to without blowing out your tonsils!
Can you put a PRICE on PEACE???

Great stuff.

\m/

:-)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2004 remaster is awful, 13 Sep 2012
By 
Mr. L. J. O'Neill (LDN UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"Peace Sells" is one of the best heavy metal albums ever made, and probably the best Megadeth album. However this (2004) remaster is awful, the bass has been re-recorded and sounds really processed and lifeless. The first time I heard it, I noticed immediately. It has none of the warm, famliar sound of the original recording.

This might not matter so much if you have never heard the original (the arrangements are still the same), but if you are familiar with the original recordings, it will stick out like a sore thumb. I personally couldn't get past it & obtained an older copy on CD. There is a difference between remastered and re-recorded, and when you buy a classic album, it's fair to assume you will be getting that recording.

Poor show & perhaps further evidence that megadave has lost his marbles. Seek the original!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a true classic, 1 Mar 2006
By 
sean paul mccann "mccanns23" (ireland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
there is so much great metal,so much good metal and so much crap metal,and last but not least there is some essential class metal that is as vital as it is important in the history of metal,peace sells....but whos buying is one of those essentail albums,it is packed with classic riffs and songs that have influenced 100s of bands,it is speed metal with attitude and it is fun and it can be dark and it can be very serious,mustaine has always been an angry man but he is also very clever and satrical and this reflects heavily in the sound and lyrical content of megadeth,up until 1994 all of megadeths albums were vital and influential,this is one of them,you cant really wear a t shirt saying 'i know metal' if you dont own this
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the stretch, 6 Oct 2004
By 
M. Broadbent - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Prior to the release of the (superb) new Megadeth album 'The System Has Failed' in September, Dave Mustaine and Capitol Records temporarily re-joined forces in order to re-launch Megadeth's entire Capitol back catalogue in remastered and remixed format. Not only have the tracks themselves been given a 21st century facelift, but the 'new' albums feature extended album artwork, new liner notes from Mr Mustaine himself and also added bonus tracks.
The cynics will no doubt write this project off as a last effort on the part of the record company to squeeze a few extra bucks out of the Megadeth faithful, and considering some of Capitol's past attitudes towards the band, it could well be a valid argument. However, I suppose the obvious and most important question is this: "Is it REALLY worth splashing my hard earned when (most) of the originals already kick ass?". It's certainly what I was left wondering at first. So I ordered the revamped 'Peace Sells...', and this release for me at least, gets an enthusiastic thumbs up.
As Mustaine points out in the added notes, the band had very little money at the time (no doubt due to rock n' roll's financial strains of eating, roofs over heads and most importantly, drugs) for quality recording facilities, and the new work done on the record give the songs an added kick which they had been crying out for. Dave Mustaine has surely long known that his band's strength lies most in their explosive guitar work, and this new version allows the razor sharp riffs and tearing solos to shine through even more. As for the album itself, even casual Megadeth fans will know that metal fans need to hear this album; although not my absolute favourite record, it's a cast iron classic which happily now sounds even better.
The bonus tracks featured on PSBWB? are a nice addition without being anything spectacular. If anything, they probably mainly serve to highlight the difference in quality between the original and the new remasters. Some of the bonus tracks such as 'My Creation' on 'Rust in Peace' should be more interesting.
So all in all, a pleasing purchase despite my initial cynicism. I shall be endevouring to update the rest of my collection, esp. while they are relatively cheap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Used to have an old Kerrang video with this on, wish I could find it on dvd. Great track
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Album, 28 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of the greatest thrash albums of all time to my mind and beaten only by Rust In Peace in amount of play in my collection. A quantum leap over Killing Is My Business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Highly influential., 3 May 2014
This album is a classic thrash album, Rip Gar Samuelson the drumming is interesting and very good, Chris Polands jazz induced leads and Daves Blues influenced solos and Juniors basslines.
Very unique thrash album and is nearly 30 years old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Peace Sells... But Who's Buyin
Peace Sells... But Who's Buyin by Megadeth (Audio CD - 2008)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews