Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars70
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£12.68+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2010
Mastermind is one of those games that is both simple to learn but mentally challenging to play, encouraging youngsters in particular to develop the power of reasoning.

The design of this version is terrible though.

Firstly the colours of the pegs are not sufficiently distinctive, especially if played in low light. The pink and the orange pegs are particularly hard to differentiate between - why didn't they persist with black pegs as one of the options, it would have been so much simpler?

Worse still is the design of the codemakers unit. Firstly there is no way to 'lock' the code after it has been chosen using the dials...therefore if the unit is moved in any way there is a strong chance the code will be inadvertently changed. Secondly the difficulty in differentiating between colours is even more pronounced as the colours themselves are recessed in the unit. It is very hard to differentiate between the silver and the green, and the orange and the pink if used in dim light.

These points seem like simple common sense, I cannot understand why they are not obvious to the manufacturers.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2014
Beware of cheap copies being offered for sale under the Hasbro/Parker product detsils, when they are in fact made in China and bear the name 'Crystal', The seller claims he is 'out of stock' of the original, and this is of the same quality. I could tell immediately from the card quality of the box that this is not the case. I have not looked at the inside - I am returning it immediately to the seller.
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2009
Regardless of the assurances on the box, mastermind is still really only a game for two players - It now has a snazzy 'turntable' to allow more players to work out the combination (held out of sight in a separate key piece). The whole point is to get to the combination of colours chosen by player 1 - the more people there are guessing, the more likely the combination will be guessed quickly. So all in all, more satisfying when there are only two players.

As an aside, the combination 'key' - a small plastic drum with rotating discs to display the colours - I found quite tricky to read in poor light - the pink and the orange look almost identical to someone with myopia in anything less than full daylight.
0Comment|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 April 2014
This must be the most flimsy version of mastermind I've ever come acorss, the point-markers don't snap to the right place, the code colours are extremely difficult to make out (even in good light), the code will slip out of alignment at the slightest touch, thus hard to keep it constant. The was a mistake in the instructions (copy is wrong!) and my wife spent an hour wracking her brains how to explain to our 7 year old that when your get a match in the right place "you move the red" and when you get a match in the wrong place "you move the red" - WTF.

Don't waste your money on this piece of garbage.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 December 2011
It's a bit pointless playing it with more than 2 players. It's like saying draughts or chess can be a 4 (or any!!) player game, by taking it in turns to play for each side.

And the build quality is, quite simply, tragic. The thing you make the secret code in is designed so you need an anglepoise lamp to be able to make out the colours and as soon as you handle it the colours change. The slidy things to score each move are a bit wobbly and rubbishy, and the pegs don't sit in the holes nicely at all, it's like every one is different, so some sit in OK, others look as if they're about to wobble out of position.

If it was a prototype made by a teenager for a school project I would be impressed, but it's manufactured and sold at a high price by the top games manufacturer in the world, so it screams "rip-off, can't be bothered, what an utter mug you are!!" to me.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2014
Really badly designed. The code maker holds a little black tube thing which he or she turns to arrange the colours - a bit like a coded bicycle lock. But you have to look down past an inch of black plastic to see the colours and it is really difficult to distinguish between pink and red or even yellow and green. You have to be in a very brightly lit place in order to see the colours in your code maker tube correctly. Don't buy this version. The old fashioned one was much better.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2013
Superb game for children and adults of all ages.
Certainly does present the right challenge to keep the "grey cells" active.
Good fun too.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2013
This game was brought as a present for my brother in law and he loves it. I did have a slight annoyance since i paid a large amount to have guaranteed postage by a certain day and it arrived the day after, but my complaint was dealt with quickly, efficiently and I was offered a full refund on the postage costs, so can't really complain! The product itself was in excellent condition and well packaged :)
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2015
when I order this I was under the impression that is was hasbro and its not its crystal games...I remember playing the old version of this and it was great but this isn't it feels cheap bits are wobbling on it...I've also just found this version on amazon for nearly £7 free delivery this is the...only review I've ever wrote really not happy will be ringing for a full refund
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2009
A classic game in an excellent package. These days board games sometimes tend to have "cheap" materials and finish, but this Mastermind edition doesn't follow that line. Guaranteed fun and brain "bending".
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)