Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Spectacular
If there was ever a set of films to own, then this is surely it. Moulin Rouge is a visual indulgence set to spoil your eyes with imagery beyond reality. the cut and style of the film means that at points you are literally reeling in your chair, trying to adapt to the flurry of colour and excitement presented on screen. a truly beautiful film with a truly wonderful...
Published on 25 Nov 2004 by lynnijack

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Don't understand why it was so popular
Double set - the three stars are for Romeo and Juliet. Moulin Rouge was just awful, for me! Hated it
Published 13 months ago by Katherine Luxton


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Spectacular, 25 Nov 2004
This review is from: Moulin Rouge/Romeo And Juliet [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
If there was ever a set of films to own, then this is surely it. Moulin Rouge is a visual indulgence set to spoil your eyes with imagery beyond reality. the cut and style of the film means that at points you are literally reeling in your chair, trying to adapt to the flurry of colour and excitement presented on screen. a truly beautiful film with a truly wonderful sense of simplicity... and the use of your favourite songs only adds to the sense that you always seem to know what coming (Brecht himself would be proud) I dare anybody not to cry at Christians final speech, and Nicole Kidman proves herself to be unbelievably versatile, and Kylie adds a spice to her brief appearance. A strong cast, a strong story and a director with the most enviable eye for detail that makes you wonder you dreamt the whole thing.
Romeo and Juliet is a wonderful accessable version that remains true to the text, whilst bringing the beloved bard crashing into the 21st Century. Danes shines as Juliet, and while DiCaprio wouldn't have been my choice, i must admit he does well with a challenging role. It accesses the beauty of the text, while the funky soundtrack and sharp imagery allow a sensory journey that will take your breath away.
my only problem with both films, you'll have to buy the soundtracks as well!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Value, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Two films that give great pleasure for different reasons. Moulin Rouge is sheer entertainment. Romeo and Juliet hardly needs superlatives. However, this production is pure genius. Whilst keeping to the text, making it about contemporary street gangs will appeal to young people, and the romance cannot fail to move everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great film, 14 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
One of my daughters favour films. The delivery was good and on time. Price was gods especially as we got Romeo and Juliet as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Don't understand why it was so popular, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Double set - the three stars are for Romeo and Juliet. Moulin Rouge was just awful, for me! Hated it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2 fabulous films !, 11 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Superb addition to my chick flick collection. Great for a quiet night in and a bit of a weep. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My daughter loved this, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this for my daughter who was studying Romeo and Juliet at school. She has dyslexia and found it useful to follow the story through film. It was a bonus that moulin rouge was included. Cheaper than buying them both seperately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good pick me up films, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well I love the music in the Moulin Rouge and Romeo and Juliet.... the latter a bit heavy!! As for the service, quick and excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Moulin Rouge/Romeo & Juliet, 10 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How great to have my favourite two movies. I have enjoyed both immensely and will carry on enjoying them. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great movies for the collection., 24 Jun 2011
I bought these last year for mostly nostalgic reasons and I wasn't disappointed. This movie combo appeals to many ages... I watched Romeo & Juliet with my husband and sister in law and it passed a few hours as we commented on how young the protagonists look (we would be the same age as the actors). I watched Moulin Rouge with my mother who enjoyed it. I have loaned them both out also. They are the type of movies I would watch repeatedly, say, once every couple of years. Easy to watch and enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SO GREAT!!, 4 May 2010
This review is from: Moulin Rouge/Romeo And Juliet [DVD] [1997] (DVD)
I love both these films easpeacially Moulin Rouge and this box set was everything i could ask for!! Great quality and sound aswell!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Moulin Rouge/Romeo And Juliet [DVD] [1997]
Moulin Rouge/Romeo And Juliet [DVD] [1997] by Baz Luhrmann (DVD - 2004)
£13.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews