Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!
Absolutely fantastic! The comedy of a man trying to escape his wife in a western is truly fantastic, with some hilarious one-liners and set-pieces. On several occasions, our lead man gets himself a load of money, only to blow it on roulette, number 23 being his choice at all times. I thought that this film took every part of the usual western, and used it to it's full...
Published on 6 Jun 2005 by toxicduck

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Overacted for laughs, what laughs?
Most reviewers give this comedy western five stars, why? It is noisy and rumbustious but not very funny. I agree with one solitary reviewer, it will go rapidly to the charity shop.
Published 2 months ago by Wendy Wombat


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious!, 6 Jun 2005
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
Absolutely fantastic! The comedy of a man trying to escape his wife in a western is truly fantastic, with some hilarious one-liners and set-pieces. On several occasions, our lead man gets himself a load of money, only to blow it on roulette, number 23 being his choice at all times. I thought that this film took every part of the usual western, and used it to it's full comic potential. most of the cast are brilliant, although a couple of the minor charachters do seem a bit shaky. however, If there's one western you need to see, i have no doubt in my mind whatsoever that it should be this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant western comedy!, 17 Aug 2006
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
This is the follow up to "Suport your Local Sheriff" - in case you didn't know, which is equally funny, has the same director and has largely the same cast - all playing different people.

An excellent and sharp mix of one-liners, sight gags and great acting.

One of my favourite moments is when Jug May (Jack Elam) a drunk pretending to be a gunslinger comes into the bedroom of his con man partner Latigo Smith (James Garner) - having been told by Smith on no account EVER to touch his gun in public...

Jug "Hey look, I've been practicing my fast draw."

Jug goes for his gun, but Smith has his gun out and pointed at his head before Jug has half cleared his holster.

Jug: "Yeah - but you're really fast..."

Latigo: "No - I'm really slow, it's just that you're... slower".

You need to see both of these films. They are just great fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Have you seen Elmer?", 10 Jun 2005
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Latigo Smith (James Garner) barely escapes marital bliss with Goldie, to find himself in a situation with out money but a golden opportunity. The town he as escaped to (Purgatory) has rival mining companies digging for the motherload. Latigo teams up with Jug May (Jack Elam) who poses as Swifty Morgan, hired gun. Latigo is his agent and handles all the money.
The fun in this movie is the interaction of the characters much more than the story. One thing that struck me as funny is the scene where Col. Ames is stretching over in his stiff boots to see if Taylor Barton (Harry Morgan) is hiding under his sister's bead. Another is when Jug sees Latigo asking a woman for money, he says that he was brought up not to ask women for money. Latigo suggest that is because a woman raised him.
Who will get the load and who will get the shaft? Will the real Swifty show up? What about Goldie?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just the job if you like a good laugh., 25 May 2010
By 
beau nydle "labrat" (chertsey, surrey, uk) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
I saw this film when it first came out. I cried with laughter then. Now i've got the dvd, plus the sister film, Support your local Sherriff. Both have more or less the same characters, all playing slightly different roles. The interaction between them all is brilliant, and the supporting characters, like Water Brennan and Harry Morgan will have you in stitches. Lines like: "What's he going to do to three of us"?. "Well, he could shoot two of us" litter the scripts. No one tries to out act the others. I get the distinct impression that they all got along very well during the filming, and the result shows through. If you can lay hands on both films, grab 'em quick. Then lock the doors, switch the phones off, get a beer from the fridge, and settle down to a really good laughter session. Well worth every penny. Go to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fun in the old west, 24 Aug 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
great family viewing great to see a lighter side to the so called wild west, maybe some of the acting is a little over the top especially some of the town council members, but it is still a lot of fun to watch, my wife and I enjoyed viewing very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A normal Cowboy film (on Acid), 27 Dec 2011
By 
Magic Lemur (Somewhere in Madagascar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
It's funny with Cowboy films - either they work and are classics or they're lame. And any twist on the genre (e.g. Cowboys & Aliens), let alone an attempt at humour, is often punished at the box office.

Which is why this film is such a revelation - it's deeply quirky and unusual, yet somehow works both as a Western and a comedy. The vivid and varied colours come straight out of the sixties, yet somehow it retains the grittiness of a cowboy film and the dark humour of the frontier.

The plot is fairly simple, as it follows a dandy con-man played by James Garner, who succeeds in tricking two rival mine-owners into giving him 5000 a piece, which he proceeds to twice blow by betting '23 red' on Roulette.

It may not sound much, but as well as the plot the charactors have that magnetism of all great Westerns, and the film has all the ethos of the very best Spaghetti Westerns.

So, if you haven't come across the Support Your Local Sherriff series, then this one comes thoroughly recommended. Like the best of the Wild West genre, this movie defies cliche and presents a fully fleshed-out vision of the amazing places that Cowboy films can go, given a little creativity...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars support your local gunfighter, 4 Sep 2011
By 
D. Weaver (Wales. U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD with James Garner & Jack Elam, in it, is really a spoof comedy western,this is a great laugh for a rotton rainy day,I laughed so much at this I cried in the end, with laughter! Please note though only for people who like westerns, its not everyones cup of tea so to speak!? This DVD also is a region1, so it will only play on multi region players, other than that, I would recommend this DVD.
I would also recommend this seller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars went perfectly, 31 Aug 2010
By 
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
Ordered it in California for my parents in Wales, and they got it and enjoyed it! It was cheap and priceless!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy western dvd, 16 Feb 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
I bought this movie because I loved "Support Your Local Gunfighter" starring James Garner and I wasn't dissapointed. Many of the same actors and a witty storyline. It's worth owning! Price and delivery were very good too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Overacted for laughs, what laughs?, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] (DVD)
Most reviewers give this comedy western five stars, why? It is noisy and rumbustious but not very funny. I agree with one solitary reviewer, it will go rapidly to the charity shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD]
Support Your Local Gunfighter [DVD] by Burt Kennedy (DVD - 2004)
9.81
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews