Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE VERSION!!!
The 'renegade' version of 'Highlander 2' is the only version any self respecting film fan should bother with.
For anyone unfamiliar with the 'renegade', it's quite simple.
Director Russell Mulcahy, who had successfully helmed the original 'Highlander' movie, pretty much had 'Highlander 2' taken off him during the production of the film as greedy producers wanted...
Published on 9 Jan. 2008 by Stotty

versus
37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The reason this fim makes no sense....
.... unfortunately this film really isn't any good. I spent several years barracking the film until I came across a nice surprise. Whilst whittling away the hours sat in my office, I came across a Highlander website. I noticed that Director Russell Mulchacy, along with the producers, had been given permission to 're-edit' this film. The result being 'Highlander 2 The...
Published on 11 Feb. 2003 by Martin MacBlain


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 43 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The reason this fim makes no sense...., 11 Feb. 2003
.... unfortunately this film really isn't any good. I spent several years barracking the film until I came across a nice surprise. Whilst whittling away the hours sat in my office, I came across a Highlander website. I noticed that Director Russell Mulchacy, along with the producers, had been given permission to 're-edit' this film. The result being 'Highlander 2 The Renegade Version'. Apparently the original idea for Highlander 2 was quite different from what was actually produced. The studio's did not like the script and several scenes were cut down, changed, or removed altogether, resulting in this 'Quickening' Version.
I was fortunate enough to have been able to obtain the 'Renegade' version and no longer do I feel that this is a bad film. There is over 20 minutes of unseen footage, all reference to the planet Zeist has been removed, and what we now have is a film that does follow on nicely from the original.
What the producers and director wanted, was a film that did follow on from the original, but also a film that could stand alone, so people who had not seen the original could still watch the film without having to have seen Highlander 1.
Although this 'Quickening' version is poor, the 'Renegade' version is well worth checking out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THERE CAN BE ONLY ONE VERSION!!!, 9 Jan. 2008
By 
Stotty (Bolton, England) - See all my reviews
The 'renegade' version of 'Highlander 2' is the only version any self respecting film fan should bother with.
For anyone unfamiliar with the 'renegade', it's quite simple.
Director Russell Mulcahy, who had successfully helmed the original 'Highlander' movie, pretty much had 'Highlander 2' taken off him during the production of the film as greedy producers wanted a quick cash in and felt that Mulcahy was taking too long and spending too much money on the picture. As a result, the version of 'Highlander 2' released in theatres was a world a way from the directors original vision, hence the poor reviews and horrendous reputation the film has garnered ever since.
This, the 'renegade' version of the film, shows director, Mulcahy getting his hands on the original rushes and footage he shot, and reconstructing the film the way he wanted it in the first place.
The results are strikingly familiar to those of Ridley Scott's when he finally got to piece together 'Blade Runner' the way he had originally intended, without film company suits, sticking their noses in.
'Highlander 2' now has certain scenes switched to different points in the film, which makes it flow much more smoothly.
The idea that the immortals are aliens from the planet Zeist has also been changed, and with the use of extra/added scenes, the film now has more continuity with the first film, as we see the reason why Macleod builds the 'ozone layer' device to begin with, as well as the reason for Ramirez's return.
The digital remaster shows off the excellent production designs in the movie, and the touched up special effects give 'Highlander 2' a much slicker feel. In fact the overall cinematogrophy on 'Highlander 2' is vastly superior to the original.
The cast is still a strong one with Christopher Lambert and Sean Connery reprising their roles in good form, Michael Ironside at his villainous best and solid support from Virginia Madsen as a romantic interest who can hold her own in a scrap. Watch out for 'Scrubs' John C. McGinley as a greedy, weedy businessman.
Stewart Copeland's score is also worthy of note.
It's a shame that this version of 'Highlander 2' never made it to the cinemas. Watching this version of the picture simply reinforces the point that film directors should be left to do their own work, without men in suits ruining everything for everyone concerned.
'Highlander 2' the renegade version is a far cry from the Paul Verhoevenesque trash originally seen in the early 90's. Mulcahy's reconstructed version is a smoother, longer, more satisfying film with more emotional depth and better continuity. It makes more sense, and comes across as a more intelligent picture.
Coupled with the terrific special effects and production values that were already in place, as well as some top shelf action set pieces, this incarnation of 'Highlander 2' is a quality sci-fi adventure.
It's the only one to watch, and restores faith, not only in the 'Highlander' franchise, but in Russell Mulcahy as a director.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Watch film before writing article., 11 Feb. 2005
By 
Steve H (Londonderry, Northern Ireland) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
*NOTE: This article relates to the Renegade Version and not the Cinematic release of Highlander 2*
I remember the anticipation of the release of the sequel to 1986's 'Highlander' and only too well the disappointment of the confused and mucked up product which appeared in our cinemas.
The story behind the 'Renegade Version' of Highlander II is simple. The reason for the botched cinema release was pressure exerted on the production company by the films insurance companies after the movie went over budget. They went over the directors head and made sure a 'film' was released to recover any overspend. The fools.
This version is the way the movie was meant to be. McLeod is not from Zeist, nor is Ramirez. Look back to the first frame of the original first movie. There lies the answer. In all there is about 20 extra minutes including scenes where Connor's wife dies (giving him the reason to construct the shield and save man).
The best part of this re-edit is the movement from scene to scene, just like the original movie.
I was a sceptic, but this version restored my faith in Russell Mulachy. Watch you won't be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worse sequel ever in the history of cinema., 30 Dec. 2014
By 
MR SCULLY (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
I seen this film at the cinema, I remember feeling very lucky because my mate had opening night tickets, I remember the theatre being packed, there was a buzz in the air, and when the film began there was nothing but silence. I was buzzing I could not wait. HOW WRONG!!!!!, what a awful film, all I can remember was groans and moans coming from the other people in the theatre and they were not sat on the back row, but one thing sticks in my mind was when every one started laughing at the awful special effects the part when you could see the wires holding the actors up, it was so funny if not the best part of the film. I have never seen so many people leave a film so quickly at the end. This film is the worst sequel I have ever seen in my life, this film makes you think can films get any worse than this. But hay great days.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a pile of pants, 30 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
Sequels are rarely as good as the original but this doents even follow smoothly from the first. suddenly conner is from another planet and that is why he is immortal and he must have just conveniently forgot that in the first film when he claims he was born in the village of glen finnen in scotland. The film starts poor and gets worse i would only recommend buying this film to complete the set and are a die hard highlander fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... for some reason the highlander movies have taken a good battering but I loved them, 24 May 2015
Yes turning back the years with Christopher Lambert for some reason the highlander movies have taken a good battering but I loved them, okay maybe after the third becomes slightly off putting but it's fine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not even Macleod's mother could love this, 13 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The first rule of making a sequel is don't just remake the first film, by that criteria Highlander 2 is a triumph, by any other standard it is laughably bad.

I really don't have the time to state everything wrong with this film, you can't be told how bad it is you have to experience it for yourself, so buy it watch it and it will instantly make you feel better about every other aspect of your life, no matter how bad it gets you still didn't make or star in Highlander 2 and that is a comfort.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars DONT WATCH THIS FILM!!!!!!!!!!!!, 26 Dec. 2005
By 
J. W. Norman "such_is_life" (Cardiff) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to say that watching this film is definately the worst decision I have ever made. It doesnt even follow the story of the first! It turns out that Connor mcloed is from space! if you were going to make is sequel is that the way you would go? seriously guys, dont bother with it, its crap.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy the right version and you will enjoy it., 27 April 2011
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Highlander 2 (Special Edition) [2004] [DVD] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC] (DVD)
The history of this movie is strained to say the least. The financial controllers put out a sub standard product which everyone hated. I have the Macleod version (similar to the renegade version) on DVD and I found it to be a pleasurable experience, far enhanced from the original versions put out at the time. The scenes are in the proper order and that gives the story more sense. The Zeist scenes are still there but are not referred to as being on another planet. As with the first movie the origins of the immortals are not really explored; only to say that they were transported into another time on earth to fight for the prize.

The Macleod DVD version has a crisp transfer from the original negative so it looks great. There are over a hundred updated effects and there are extra scenes which give the movie a better sense of structure. There are many set up shots which give the viewer a richer feel for the surroundings in which the action takes place.

I agree that the whole series is a bit of a pig when continuity is considered but I have to congratulate the makers on trying to return the product to something near their original vision (and make some cash in the process). In short, this movie has soul.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Another great must watch film, again from this Christopher Lambert actor, and icon Sean Connery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews