Customer Reviews


308 Reviews
5 star:
 (241)
4 star:
 (38)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic.
Fight Club is a stunning and brilliant film about the mind-numbing meaninglessness that traps so many in our consumerist society. The unnamed central character, played by Edward Norton, is looking for a way to escape, and that's when he meets Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) who, amongst other things, introduces him to the simple joys of fighting. Through the Fight Club they...
Published on 16 April 2006 by David Welsh

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Picture quality is superb, audio quality.. not so good.
Fight Club is one of my favourite movies. So of course, I had to get it on blu-ray. The picture quality was excellent! But the audio was extremely unbalanced. While the music and action noises could have blown the roof off, it was a struggle to hear what the actors were saying. I don't know why this is! I have seen similar instances with other movies but never as bad as...
Published 11 months ago by D.B.


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A modern classic., 16 April 2006
By 
David Welsh (Oslo, Norway) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Fight Club is a stunning and brilliant film about the mind-numbing meaninglessness that traps so many in our consumerist society. The unnamed central character, played by Edward Norton, is looking for a way to escape, and that's when he meets Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt) who, amongst other things, introduces him to the simple joys of fighting. Through the Fight Club they establish, he is able to feel alive again, but there is a lot more to Tyler than meets the eye... Superbly shot and directed, with excellent performances from all the main actors (particularly Pitt, Norton and Helena Bonham Carter), this atmospheric and psychological film is one of the best things to come out of Hollywood in recent years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fincher's greatest?, 21 Nov 2009
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fight Club, in my book the ultimate bloke film. Last week, we were given Heat on BD and this week we have Fight club - Xmas has come early! I'm not supposed to talk about it but...

David Fincher has a pretty healthy looking portfolio under his belt (Alien 3; Seven; Panic Room; Benjamin Button for a start) but this is at the top of the list for me as his best. Top knotch cast topped only by the quirky, strange and damn right clever storyline. Follow the dull life of a John Doe as he seeks to find out more about himself by...I can't say in case people reading this haven't seen it, but lets say by making soap for now. Suffice to say, it's one of my favourite movies ever and shouldn't be missed. There is no way that as a viewer you will be able to take in everything that happens in a single watch. You'll pick up something extra that you didn't notice last time around, each viewing. Did I he really just say that? Did I just see that???

Transfer is great, amazing levels of dark. We have grain in places if you have a hang-up on that but it is rare.

*** WARNING ***: The ultimate frightener ever appears on this BD the moment you put the disk in (I'm stunned they even got permission to do it!). I suffered a heart attack and therefore am not going to give away what it is - why should others not go through the same as me! I laugh now, but at the time I started to cry.

The packaging says that it's English only, however on the disk we have

Languages: English DTS Master; English 2.0 DD; Spanish Latino DD; French DTS; Portuguese DD

Subs: English; Spanish Latino; French; Portugese; Danish; Finnish; Dutch; Norwegian; Swedish; Mandarin (Traditional)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still profound, 22 Mar 2007
By 
This review is from: Fight Club - 2 Disc Edition (DVD)
I've never commented on other reviewers comments as they are personal opinions, but some reviewers of this DVD made such silly statements I felt compelled - it is very much an original piece of work. The fact that it's influenced so many others (and lost it's identity) doesn't diminish it's relevance, it underscores it. And the theme's are even more relevant today - consumerism is at an all-time high. This movie was made in a slump - just listen to Tyler Durden ranting about our generation not having a defining war. That's changed since 9/11, but the feeling of alienation/isolation/boredom through constant consumerist-orientated attacks (adverts) is even felt by soldiers... think of the difference between Apocalypse Now and Jarhead... or Full Metal Jacket and Buffallo Soldiers... Fight Club will be relevant as long as we place such heavy importance on purchase power, and it'll always be a classic. At least until the credit records return to zero...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You are not the films you like, 8 Aug 2002
This review is from: Fight Club [VHS] [1999] (VHS Tape)
when it opened in the U.S to tepid business, there was widespread misjudgement that it was another testosterone-fuelled man-flick about bare-knuckle fighting. don't make this mistake. those who had read Palahniuk's corrosive social satire knew exactly what to expect. the film begins in the Medula Oblongata of the brain and explores every corrupt brain cell of today's culture. nobody is safe - Starbucks, Ikea and their children, which pretty much encompasses most of the developed world's inhabitants, the corporations, the small businesses, educated and uneducated. the main theme is the crisis of middle-class masculinity and is set in an anonymous city, much like Seven, and is a world of oppressive conformity where nobody has the power or will to break away, least of all Ed Norton's lead character. Norton plays an unconsuming drone (in the same vein of Anthony Perkins' Norman Bates in Psycho)and Brad Pitt, the enlightened anti-social (or perhaps anti-society) Tyler Durden. The cast is flawless, with Jared Leto playing a role with more importance than is realised, as Angel Face and Helena Bonham Carter sheds her corset for a female role to die for, displaying all the nihilism and apathy that the film requires. like Bret Easton Ellis' American Psycho, this book was also deemed unfilmable but Fincher's ability behind the camera trashes another dictionary entry. the film ends on as much of an ambiguous point as it can muster, because in the world portrayed on film, nothing can be taken for what it really is. after this, it seems impossible to go back to your ordinary job and your ordinary life and indeed, ordinary films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A work of genius!, 11 Mar 2002
Anyone who has said that they guessed the ending to Fight Club is talking complete rubbish - not just because it twists the storyline into a 180 degree turn, but because it is so completely unpredictable.
Fight Club is in a class of its own. It develops a psychological boundary that is both impressive and, frankly, quite brilliant. Not only does it provoke modern society, but also screams out a message that is seemingly determined to grab the viewer by the scruff of the neck shouting "grow up!"
The film centres around a character called Jack, an insomniac who becomes extremely bored of his life of routine and predictability. That is, until he meets Tyler Durden - a man with a very surreal and twisted outlook on life who introduces Jack to his philosophy on life, with both funny and shocking results.
Fight Club is a film that deliberately laughs in the face of seriousness and as a result, is a film you'll either hate or love. Personally, my outlook on the film was definitely the latter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Have you heard about Tyler Durden?, 16 April 2006
This review is from: Fight Club [1999] [DVD] (DVD)
Words can't describe the intelligence and pure brilliance displayed by this masterpiece. This is a cult-classic that demands to be seen again and again, not only because of how stupidly good it is, but just to get your head round its different messages, meanings and twisted logic.

This is a story of self-discovery, taking the main character (played brilliantly by Edward Norton) through a struggle with the very foundations of our modern society and his own twisted state of mind. Brad Pitt shows yet again that he has far more to offer than just his looks, providing a fantastically confident weird 'Tyler Durden'. Every other actor fits their part like a glove without exception and each makes a convincing and valuable contribution to the film, a rare thing in modern cinema.

David Fincher (also director of Se7en) does everything right in Fight Club. Nothing, and i mean NOTHING, is in this film by accident. Every tiny detail has been carefully planned and thought through; whether it be the subliminal flashing images, the intense fight scenes or the psychological mind games constantly being played between the characters and even between the director and the audience.

To explain the storyline any further would be an exercise in futility but the ending makes the film what it is, so whatever you think of it, persevere to the end.

This is my favourite film of all time and it has a huge cult following for a very good reason. Watch Fight Club and challenge your mind and your life like you never have before; that's how powerful and relevant this film is.

5stars, without a doubt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray release, 18 Feb 2010
By 
D Poisson "Perennialist" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
A little surprised that most of the reviews here are for the vhs or dvd releases. Anyway, here goes for the latest, all singing all dancing scum-of-the-earth blu-ray edition of this un-ageing classic.

I'm a HUGE fan of the film, so I jumped on the occasion when this hit the shelves just before christmas. I must say that the film hasn't aged a bit. It's still relevant and looks and sounds great. However, the blu-ray edition adds much too little to warrant replacing your dvd version with. Ok, the picture is a little crisper, but if you think of the gritty, grimy look of the film, you'll realise that there's little to be gained by a (slightly) sharper picture. This wasn't shot in HD or IMAX and it shows (or rather, nothing shows that would take your breath away.)

The extras are interesting, particularly 'A hit to the ear' in which the sound effects guy draws your attention to the weird sounds that add so much to this film's atmosphere (Think of that echoing chatter and heckling in the basement - the fists pounding faces were given sound using some very gruesome ideas - also think of the buzzing warp behind Tyler's philosophising monologue etc...)

There's also a feature where you get to mix your own sound for set scenes, though this sounds MUCH more exciting than it really is (basically increasing or decreasing sound-effects and voice independantly and choosing which speaker from your 5/6.1 sound system it comes from. Very fiddly and frustratingly inaccurate (this is after all a film's extra, not a dedicated game.)

My advice, if you're considering this, you've probably already got the DVD. If your TV or player does a minimum upscaling, you won't notice the difference here. Certainly not enough to warrant the money here. If you've lost your DVD copy or (shock horror) haven't seen the film, you might as well go with this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure David Fincher, 9 Sep 2012
By 
Benn Parsons (spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Its a really good film, the blu ray transfer is good, but not great. I don't have the DVD, but I imagine that this blu ray version is only a bit better than that.
What really impressed me were all the fantastic extras. There's everything from the typical directors commentary and photo gallery to a music video and even a documentary about how fight sounds were created, its all really good.
You also have the added extra of David Fincher's joke at the start of the blu ray (Before the fight club menu screen) where a 'never been kissed' menu screen is in its place. I wonder how many people sent it back to amazon thinking it was a film burnt on to a different disc.
Anyway, if you don't already have the DVD, then the blu ray is a good investment, especially for the extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fight Club Blu-Ray, 2 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is just a great film for a start. It's one of those that are rare to find. Off beat subject matter and engaging all the way through. It stands a second, third, fourth, fifth etc... etc... watch. In particular this Blu-Ray version is a) well packaged and b) well cut to Blu-Ray. Picture detail is superb but the quality of the sound is epic. Every audible detail in all the right places. It has truly excellent surround delivery. Some Blu-Rays are kind of good but not great in the playback. This one is just the best. I use it to demo my surround system to friend since it really shows what it can do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First Rule!, 25 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Fight Club - 2 Disc Edition (DVD)
The first rule of fight club is; you have to see this movie,
the second rule of fight club is; YOU HAVE TO SEE THIS MOVIE!
"How much do you know about yourself if you've never been in a fight?". This is just one of the many deep questions asked in this action packed, mind boggling, ass kicking movie. Starring Brad Pitt(seven,kalifornia)and the marvelous Edward Norton(red dragon,american history x), this film will take your imagination on a gut wrenching ride, beat the life out of it, and then throw a few clever quotes at it. If you crave action and a mind blowing twist then this is the film for you, oh and if this is the first time you read this review.....you have to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fight Club [1999] [DVD]
Fight Club [1999] [DVD] by David Fincher (DVD - 2004)
3.27
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews