Customer Reviews


352 Reviews
5 star:
 (234)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget historical accuracy just enjoy the ride!,
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

When I see quality films like this I have to wonder why all films aren't made with the same passion and spirit as this one! While the film played footloose and fancy free with historical facts is of little or no consequence when the end...
Published 2 months ago by IP

versus
8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good film, but well short in historical accuracy.
A well made film with some superb battle sequences, great locations and is very well cast. However, the whole film is let down by its complete fantasy in the telling of the story of Wallace. Historically it's a load of nonsense and how Gibson was allowed to get away with half of it I'll never know.
Published on 30 Dec. 2000


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget historical accuracy just enjoy the ride!,, 17 Dec. 2014
This review is from: Braveheart [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

When I see quality films like this I have to wonder why all films aren't made with the same passion and spirit as this one! While the film played footloose and fancy free with historical facts is of little or no consequence when the end result is a high caliber Epic, of which many (myself included) deem to be a modern day masterpiece!

Those fight scenes are filmed in such an epic and brutal way that they will never be topped. Patrick McGoohan is brilliant as Longshanks, and it makes Scotland look amazing, despite most of it being filmed in Ireland. It has enough violence, humour, cheese, romance and film making skills to please everyone.

When Wallace gave his rousing cry of freedom speech before his men I swear a battle cry was welling up in my throat as my hand searched for a sword that wasn't there! At that split second I knew I would follow him into battle and if need be I'd die for him from the comfort of my easy chair!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 'LEGENDARY SCOTTISH HERO 'WILLIAM WALLACE' (TERRIFIC-MOVIE), 19 July 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Among one of the Greatest
Movies of all time, if but straying from historic accuracy, for me, it's a great watch.
It tells the story of 'William Wallace' who became a legendary 'Scottish' Hero during the
reign of 'King Edward 1st' known as 'Edward Longshanks' a tyrannical and oppressive
ruler between 1272 and 1307
'William Wallace' was born in 1270 and was executed by order of 'Longshanks' 23rd of
August 1305.....The charge against him - High Treason
After his Father and Brother were killed in battle, young 'William' went to live with his uncle
'Argyle'
During his years living with his uncle 'William' was taught many things including the art of
Combat.
When of age 'William' returns to the lands of his Childhood, there he re-meets the young
girl, now all grown-up of course that gave him a thistle at his Father and Brothers funeral
years past.
After seeing the injustices to both himself and kinsmen which included the mindless killing
of his now wife, 'William' was able to persuade his fellow Countrymen to follow him in an
effort to escape the cruelty dished out by 'King Edward'
Early on he led his men to many famous victories over the 'Kings' forces including 'Stirling
Bridge' in September '1297' after which 'William Wallace' was appointed 'Guardian of Scotland'
This post he relinquished less than a year on after a crushing defeat at 'Falkirk' where he had
been betrayed by his own.
His ultimate capture some 8 years later 'August 1305 in 'Robroyston'
This arguably one of the finest role's 'Mel Gibson' ever played (He also directed the Film)
Perhaps the film strays from Historical fact from time to time, however many of the incidents
depicted are based on true happenings.
The film contains some of the most graphic and intense battle scenes ever brought to screen,
this a sprawling epic of outstanding quality.
The Film does contain graphic violence and torture sequences.
A Monument built to reflect 'William Wallace's' loyalty and bravery in the 'Scottish' cause still
stands today near 'Stirling Bridge' the scene of his most famous victory.
STEELBOOK EDITION - GREAT COLLECTORS ITEM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray barbarian, 13 Nov. 2009
By 
OEJ - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
William Wallace leads a Scottish rebellion against the King of England, Edward I. A stirring nationalistic epic that takes more than a few liberties with historical accuracy in the interests of delivering cinematic entertainment, but it is acted and directed with great gusto, creating a sense of myth and legend with its sweep and passion. As for Mel Gibson in the leading role, it wasn't so much his faux Scottish accent that let him down, rather it was some of his cheeky facial expressions that I'm sure I have seen in one or other of his Lethal Weapon outings.

As a Blu-Ray film this is far better than the standard DVD, so in the faint possibility that you have yet to see Braveheart, and assuming you have the necessary HD hardware of course, then this is surely the best version to watch. It isn't quite as good as the very latest high-definition films but it's nevertheless a worthwhile choice. The audio options included English/French/German 5.1 dts, and another with a commentary by Mel Gibson. Subtitles are in English, French, German, Danish, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish and Dutch. Spoken language options are English, French, and German. Special features include 'William Wallace's World', a re-run of the film with in-set maps and historical commentary about Wallace and the lives of the Scottish in the thirteenth and fourteenth centuries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu-ray quality, 3 Nov. 2009
By 
mr david cairns "wesnut" (kennoway, fife Great Britain) - See all my reviews
Well,
My Braveheart blu-ray arrived yesterday morning,and I watched it last night,no review of the actual film,EVERYBODY has seen it,I,m reviewing the blu-ray quality.
I read that the first 15-20 minutes of this film is so-so quality,and gets much better afterwards,well,I didn,t see so-so quality,I think this is a really beautiful transfer,and the sound quality is tremendous,you think you,re actually at the Battle of Stirling!!!
Whoever was behind this glorious transfer deserves all the plaudits going,I haven,t checked the Special Features yet,I would highly recommend this blu-ray,if you have seen Braveheart,this is the only way to watch it,it knocks spots of the dvd,if you haven,t seen it,jeez are you in for a treat.
I,m not comparing it to any other blu-ray,Braveheart stands on it,s own blu-ray quality,a MUST buy.
Davy Cairns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blu Review 12 - Braveheart, 7 Jun. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Braveheart Blu ray review 08/06/09

Distributor 20th Century Fox - UK - Region A,B, C.

OK, first let me just state for the record, that Braveheart is a far more mainstream title than would usually be found reviewed here.

Sometimes though, you just experience a Blu ray disc that mainstream or not, you just have to write about and this is certainly the case in this instance.

This special anniversary edition is presented as a 2 disc release containing many extras but it is also worth noting that the film itself is the full uncut version, which marks the first time it has been released uncut in the UK.

Braveheart has been thoroughly remastered for this release and is presented in a top notch 1080p 16x9 transfer which looks excellent. No print damage is present and the film really looks brand new and not 15 years old.

The 5.1 DTS HD audio I have to say is incredible. Having never experienced the film like this, I honestly felt transported into the movie itself. From the absolutely stunning score, to the crashing sound effects and dialogue scenes, it all sounded perfect. Crystal clear, distortion free, this is quality audio at it's very best. Quite how this movie did not win an Oscar for best soundtrack in 1996 I'll never know.

As for extras, the first disc contains the same commentary track by Mel Gibson which has been present on the DVD releases, but there is also a picture in picture commentary titled "William Wallace's World" which once selected, also plays along with the film providing information and real facts etc... Disc 2 contains the usual trailers, interviews etc.. but also a new documentary entitled "Tales of William Wallace" which at almost feature length in running time, explores the real history of the films leading character. Having an interest in historical legends, I found this documentary truly engaging and well worth at least one repeated viewing. There is also an interactive 3-D Battlefield which shows how the various true life battles actually played out.

Altogether this really is a top notch release. I was always a fan of the film but since seeing it on Blu ray, it has increased my fondness for the movie ten fold.

This really is a stunning presentation that needs to be experienced on Blu ray and is a must see for fans of the film and new viewers alike.

A classic movie, done justice with a quality Blu ray presentation.

Set your Blu ray player Free, with this outstanding release.

BLU REVIEW OBSCURA - find us on Facebook
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 33 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun, 24 Feb. 2007
By 
Tangerine "tangerineman" (North Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Braveheart [1995] [DVD] (DVD)
Those that have yet to watch this would do well to take advantage of such a bargain. Whilst it is not an accurate account of time gone by it is enjoyable to watch. Braveheart is a film that won't bore you and will keep you on your toes. I enjoy it every time I watch it and can't help but want the Scots to win (despite being English!) I've got one or two issues with Mel Gibsons 'scottish' accent but its not that bad. Despite a long running time of 171 minutes I find this flies by. Don't be put off by the not so accurate historical facts. This does not hurt what is in all fairness an excellent film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hollywood medievil die hard., 15 Aug. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
As acurate historicaly as Robin hood prince of thieves (climbing hadrians wall on the way from dover to nottingham ?)this is a lads action movie very loosely based on a rough time in history ,when one of England's most ruthless kings tried to annexe scotland and buggered it up somewhat lol, like most hollywood epics it's nonsense most of it ,but this is a great action movie , great music , great acting and directing,if not taken too serious by certain english and scottish "historians"there is some truth in the script ,but most of it is fantasy, where was the bridge at the stirling bridge battle?Ienjoyed it and it'll take pride in my collection .Wallace was a hero but in a very dark time in history ,a time we cannot judge by our standards, and Edward did have every man ,woman and child killed in Berwick, even by those dark days was brutal and enough to upset the old haggis bashers . lol
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...A Cun-Three Of Hour Owen!" - Braveheart on BLU RAY, 22 Feb. 2010
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Re-watching 1995's "Braveheart" on a 2009 BLU RAY - you're struck by several things...

The downsides - Mel Gibson's truly awful mime of a Scottish accent (title above)...his ludicrous hair and wigs...and it just goes on for too long.

Upsides - Mel was also the most handsome man on the planet at the time of filming, Patrick McGoohan was chillingly brilliant as Longshanks The King, it had loads of tremendous support actors throughout (Brian Cox as Wallace's Uncle, Brendan Gleeson as Hamish his friend, Angus MacFayden as the Scottish King in waiting, David O'Hara as a fighting clansman, Ian Bannen as the Leper and the mad-eyed James Cosmo). And to top it all off - you get both Catherine McCormack and Sophie Marceau in the same film - easily two of the most beautiful women in the world. And of course there's also James Horner's haunting musical score - a beautiful air played on the Pipes which kicks in at key moments in the story; it can still bring a tear to your eye and a quickening to the pulse...

But most of the time you are seriously impressed with the cleaned up PRINT - because on BLU RAY - "Braveheart" is BEAUTIFUL to look at - it really is. Apart from a few lines in the opening shots of the Highlands, the transfer is almost faultless throughout and really adds to your enjoyment of the scenery, the costumes and the fantsically well-staged battle scenes. In fact, I also now remember why I liked it so much at the time - it had passion and fire - like "Gladiator" did - and still does.

The original bonus material remains intact, there's two extra hours of added-on special features and the whole 2-Disc set now comes in a tasty outer card wrap (like the Bond titles).

On BLU RAY "Braveheart" is a very handsome thing indeed - a sweetheart. And it has never looked this good and that's for damn sure.

Recommended.

PS: for other superb restorations on BLU RAY, see also my reviews for "The Italian Job", "Saturday Night, Sunday Morning", "The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner", "Zulu", "The Dambusters", "Quo Vadis", "North By Northwest", "Cool Hand Luke", "The Prisoner - The Complete (TV) Series In High Definition", "Goldfinger", "The Ladykillers", "Snatch" and "The African Queen"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great transfer, 2 Nov. 2009
By 
The usual suspect (2nd aisle on the right, top shelf) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
So we have the 15th anniversary edition of Braveheart in 2009 which was made in 1995....hmmmm?

Anyway, despite the historical inaccuracies that many moan about, Braveheart is still a great watch and now that they've done a great job on the HD transfer, there's no better time to enjoy it for the first time or to revisit.

I wouldn't say it's anywhere near the best transfer yet but it's huge leap over the DVD. Excellent audio through the DTS-HD Master too. I haven't seen the extra's yet but it does look like they are in HD too.

Audio: DTS HD MST Eng and French; DTS German
Subs: French, German, Danish; Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish and Dutch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blood, bravery & idealism in an epic fist punch to your gut., 24 Aug. 2006
By 
Themis-Athena (from somewhere between California and Germany) - See all my reviews
On a whole number of levels, this movie shouldn't have worked for me. It takes considerable license with historical facts, not only in order to supplement details that are not part of William Wallace's legend but actually, wherever convenient. ("We stuck to history where we could but hyped it up where the legend let us," actor-director Mel Gibson admits on the DVD's commentary track.) It is graphically and unabashedly violent: from throatcuttings to battle scenes that have film blood literally splashing onto the camera, beheadings, a traitor's head smashed with a wrecking ball, and fully 15 minutes of Wallace's "purification by pain," it shows some of the most brutal behavior conceivable. It also engages in some of the most blatant gay profiling in recent film history - not just in the drastic end administered on the lover of Longshanks's son, Edward II., but equally in the portrayal of both characters and their relationship as such. Last but not least, Mel Gibson plays a man at least 10 years younger than himself, a choice often enough bordering on the ridiculous.

And yet ...

From the first notes of James Horner's hauntingly beautiful soundtrack and the first sweeping camera shots over the Scottish highlands, blending seamlessly into the pictures of the Scottish riders on their way to the alleged truce talks initiated by Edward I. "Longshanks," and the narrator's, Robert the Bruce's (Angus MacFadyen's) introduction - "I shall tell you about William Wallace: Historians from England will call me a liar, but history is written by those who have hanged heroes" - there is no mistaking that this is an epic story, taking up the tradition of the likes of "Spartacus" and "Ben Hur." Like those movies, "Braveheart" is a story of heroism and of having the courage of one's convictions; chronicling the life of its hero from first love to loss, betrayal, battles and final confrontation with his arch-enemy's powers. Like both movies, "Braveheart" won the Academy Award in more than one category, not least for John Toll's outstanding cinematography. Like "Ben Hur," it also won both the coveted awards for "Best Picture" and for "Best Director." And maybe I'm just a sucker for that kind of epos ...

To my surprise, I found Mel Gibson to come across very believable as William Wallace; age difference, Scottish brogue and all. Both his acting and his direction are informed by a clear sense of vision for the movie and its title character. Moreover, although full screen writing credits went to would-be (?) Wallace descendant Randall W., many little details undeniably show Gibson's hand and mannerisms: to name just a few of the more obvious examples, Wallace's marriage proposal to Murron, his grinning greeting of a group of English soldiers trapped below a cliff, and his response to a doubting Scottish soldier's comment at Sterling that he can't really be Wallace because he's not tall enough.

In addition to John Toll's awardwinning cinematography, the movie benefits from first-rate production design (Tom Sanders), a score which perfectly captures the mood of every single scene, and a cast of outstanding actors; first and foremost Patrick McGoohan as Longshanks, who portrays the king's utter ruthlessness so convincingly as to make you completely forget his earlier incarnation as the 1960s' "Danger Man," and who delivers monologues worthy of a Shakespearean king. Soliloquies like his musing "but whom shall I send" when plotting to send a messenger to Wallace with another insincere offer of truce, and his chilling announcement to reinstitute the ius primae noctae because "the trouble with Scotland is that it is full of Scots ... If we can't get them out, we'll breed them out" are starkly reminiscent of both Ian McKellen's and Laurence Olivier's portrayals of Richard III.

Equally impressive is Ian Bannen in one of his last roles, starring as Robert the Bruce's leprosy-ridden father and evil spirit, whose first reaction to the tales about Wallace is to deride him ("He has courage; so does a dog"), and who expertly plays on his son's ambivalent feelings, until he finally drives Robert into hating his father for having coaxed him into his own game of scheming and betrayal - whereupon the elder Bruce remarks contemptuously: "At last you have learned what it means to hate. Now you are ready to be a king."

Then-newcomer Catherine McCormack stars as Wallace's childhood love Murron, whose scenes with Wallace provide for much-needed tenderness in the first hour of the movie - particularly touching is four year old Murron's gift of a thistle (Scotland's national flower) to orphaned William - and contrast sharply with the bloodshed that is to follow virtually incessantly from her death onwards. Sophie Marceau matures from teenage party queen ("La Boum") to French Princess Isabelle; Brendan Gleeson stars as Wallace's boyhood friend Hamish, David O'Hara as his heaven-conversing, self-appointed Irish guardian Stephen - one of the movie's most colorful characters - and Brian Cox brings all his extraordinary screen presence to his brief appearance as Wallace's uncle Argyle.

When I left the theater after having witnessed this movie's almost three hours of blood, gore and intense emotions for the first time, I felt as if somebody had given me a fist punch into my stomach. I was so struck that I was almost unable to speak, and dragged my moviegoing companion into the next bar, to revive my spirits with a glass of whiskey. (Scotch, of course). Having seen the film countless times since then, I no longer need that whiskey to overcome its drastic impact - but I still get gooseflesh during many of its key scenes and can't see it without feeling emotionally drained at the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Braveheart [1995] [DVD]
Braveheart [1995] [DVD] by Mel Gibson (DVD - 2004)
£6.24
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews