Customer Reviews


196 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (17)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Independence Day” on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The ‘US’ Disc…
At the time of release (1996) the jaw-dropping destruction of American cities featured in "Independence Day" seemed like the cutting edge of special effects (they were). But in 2014 "Man Of Steel" or indeed any of the "Transformer" films have gone so much further – that what once seemed brill - now looks tame in comparison. But that...
Published 9 months ago by Mark Barry

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Prince Saves The World
A 'B' movie made on an 'A' movie budget. It's not deep and it certainly ain't clever but it looks good and there's a mothership load of excitement.
Published on 25 Aug 2011 by Shrewlord


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars “Independence Day” on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The ‘US’ Disc…, 10 Mar 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
At the time of release (1996) the jaw-dropping destruction of American cities featured in "Independence Day" seemed like the cutting edge of special effects (they were). But in 2014 "Man Of Steel" or indeed any of the "Transformer" films have gone so much further – that what once seemed brill - now looks tame in comparison. But that doesn’t stop "ID" from being great fun – even if the Fresh Prince of Bel Air saving the world with a cigar in his mouth and 'attitude' stretches belief just a tad…

Still if you're a fan of the movie (or Roland Emmerich lover like I am) - note that the 'US' BLU RAY on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it will not play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are).

Stick with the UK BLU RAY individual title or 3-film bundles - and you won't have Region-Coding trashing your exploding building count...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Prince Saves The World, 25 Aug 2011
This review is from: Independence Day [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
A 'B' movie made on an 'A' movie budget. It's not deep and it certainly ain't clever but it looks good and there's a mothership load of excitement.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FUN, 27 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
lovely HD so aslong as you know how to watch a Blu Ray film on good equipment you wont go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HEY BOYS, I'M BACK!, 7 Nov 2014
By 
The Movie Guy "Movies from A to Z" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Whenever this film comes on TV I pause to watch it, or at least do the manly thing and frequently channel hop it it. There are only a handful of films I do this for. I have watched it twice in a month, once ignoring Rachel as she explained how the Democrats really won that last election.

This is a film that has been duplicated and spoofed. What makes this "B" action film so iconic are the numerous subplots that are done well and then brilliantly come together. The film type casts all the characters. In spite of that it takes time to build character to reinforce those stereotypes. Jeff Goldblum as a geeky scientist, Will Smith as a cocky pilot, and Randy Quaid as a nut case.

Even minor scenes such as the one with Harvey Fierstein were excellent as the individual scenes were well scripted. The special effects were top notch for 1996 and still beat today's low grade CG nonsense. The film produced a few memorable lines, and many memorable scenes.

On the down side...the speech given by the President at the end of the film was a bit dorky. I noticed the last time I watched it on a premium movie station, they had cut it to make time for "Mar Attacks." I am the guy who prefers it that way. Sorry. Also for purists, the film holds 100's of factual errors, continuity errors, and goofs. It seems they took so many takes shooting this film to "get it right" they ended up with things out of place from scene to scene. Most people won't notice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'THE 'U.S.A' SAVE THE WORLD AGAIN', 24 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
When this film was released back in 96' We'd already seen
the early 'star war' movies, which had impressive graphics at that time.
When they came to make 'independence day' film makers
were experimenting with new technology which at that time
was pretty realistic and set a 'benchmark' for future film
makers to improve upon.( we all know they have )
At the time the 'special effects were more than impressive..
The film -
'Giant' alien craft hover above significant locations
around the globe,they are hell- bent on wiping out both life
and the infra-structure of planet earth.
Attempts to communicate with the uninvited visitors proves
futile.
'Wlll smith' as Captain Steven Hiller to the rescue with a little
help from 'Randy Quaid' as 'Russell Casse'
Seriously this is a fast moving and very enjoyable movie
experience, plenty of, sometimes tongue-in-cheek action
sequences.
Blu-ray upgrade is pretty good.
A Sci-fi adventure always worth re-visiting occasionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Enough Entertainment, 2 May 2004
I watched Stargate at the cinema when it first came out in 1994 and thought it was very good. Then a few months later I read in a magazine that they were going to bring out another Science Fiction film by the same creators called Independence Day, so I thought I'll watch that when it comes out. And I did. In 1996 I saw this a thought wow. It featured Spectacular Special Effects and I knew from the moment I saw them they would get an Oscar. A great cast including Jeff Goldblum who had made 2 of my favourite films, the great remake of The Fly and Jurassic Park. And it also had some great sound effects that made me jump in the cinema a few times. The only problem with this movie is that the screenwriters didn't write much of a script. But still this is Good Enough Entertainment while it lasts and i highly recommend this brilliant 2-Disc DVD set. It has some great extras.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great presentation, but where's the extras??, 15 Feb 2010
By 
T. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
If you're thinking of adding this to your blu-ray collection then you've no doubt seen the film itself many times.

The DTS-Master Audio lossless track is stunning. Absolutely sensational and worth the upgrade alone should you have the equipment to be able to showcase lossless sound.

The video is excellent. Plenty of detail and light years ahead of any DVD version you may own. Pretty much the best the film is ever going to look.

Where the disc disappoints slightly is in the extras. Only some of the wealth of features from the previous DVD releases have made it to blu-ray.
There's no making of material that I remember enjoying in the past.
The commentaries are still there, and there's games and the original trailers in HD.

Whilst I wouldn't be surprised to see some sort of special edition next year to commemorate the 15th anniversary of the film, well this is definitely worth picking up for a tenner.

One of the better blockbusters of the 90's presented very nicely in high definition,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Rip roaring gung ho Aliens trying to trash the world film, 8 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Independence Day [1996] [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw this film years ago, but my teenage daughter has recently become interested in disaster movies, so bought it primarily for her to watch.

It was reasonably priced so I thought what the heck let’s go for it and I’m so pleased I did. I’d forgotten most of the story and just how brilliant Will Smith was in it.

The story is typically American, with them basically standing up to the bad guys, in this case aliens, and co-ordinating a worldwide fight-back resulting in everyone being saved thanks to the Yanks, having said that, Hollywood is great at producing rip-roaring exciting films and this is a good one.

I would definitely recommend watching on a chilly December Sunday afternoon as we did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice one..., 22 Jan 2008
By 
C. Armstrong "chris_n_armstrong" (Norwich, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
...for damning the film because of a technical issue. To the chap who gave the film 1 star, you realise everyone will see that, for some reason Independance Day has been rated a surprisingly low score? And you've done this because Amazon didn't tell you it wasn't US-player compatible? Grow up! Post your comments in the forums, and email Amazon. I'm all for the trade descriptions act, but putting people off the film because yours doesn't work?
To balance it out, I think the film is great, it's not the smartest of films, but who cares? It's from that era when everything WIll Smith touch turned to gold, with this, Men In Black and Wild WIld West. Ok, not Wild Wild West, but nevermind. A classic 'Hollywood Blockbuster', re-jigged in Shiny-Hi-Def-Vision (c), which ticks all the right boxes on the basic, bright colours and loud noises film checklist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars But what happened to the dog??, 22 July 2014
By 
Mr. David Titley (Lichfield, Staffordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Watched this over and over again. I love the special effects and the scale of the piece, as well as the kind of old fashioned 50s feel it has: "If we all work together we an do this!" It has a really consistent vision throughout . Great to have a BLACK hero - who is a real person and not just a cut-out. It's long but sustains the rush from start to finish. Aliens much copied in later films; interesting still to see the influence of H.G. Wells in the tentacles and the huge brain/no speech aspect of the things. it may not be great art, but it tries to show the best of the US without cynicism. I shall be watching it many times in the years to come
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Independence Day [1996] [DVD]
Independence Day [1996] [DVD] by Roland Emmerich (DVD - 2004)
£2.64
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews