Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honour
A great story and very memorable. A good cast who all acted well. A portayal of the challenge of interpreting what is the right thing to do while attempting to maintain honour, or self-perception of honour. The film at one point asks, is it honourable to die for one's country or is life more important under any circumstance?
Published 15 months ago by Aloysius

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars might have been better 30 years ago
I think I fell a sleep 4 times and didn't miss anything!! might have been better 30 years ago, but I doubt it
Published 3 hours ago by S. N. King


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honour, 12 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
A great story and very memorable. A good cast who all acted well. A portayal of the challenge of interpreting what is the right thing to do while attempting to maintain honour, or self-perception of honour. The film at one point asks, is it honourable to die for one's country or is life more important under any circumstance?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars TAPS, 3 Nov 2004
By 
FK (Bucks, UK.) - See all my reviews
TAPS is a great film detailing the determination and dedication of young boys towards their threatened military school. Cadet Major Moreland (the leading officer amongst the boys)uses their dicipline and courage to defend their school to the end! It is an enjoyable film with the high and low points of the schoolbot throughout their struggle! Definately something to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Great service and prompt delivery of a good quality item. Many thanks. A+++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars quite good, 5 Jun 2014
By 
Ihab (Strathaven) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I remember this film from many years ago. I enjoyed it then and now. My teenage sons also loved it. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.A.P.S, 8 Jun 2009
Taps is a 1981 film by Harold Becker. The plot takes place in a military academy in United States. The 150 year old academy is to be closed because of the real estate value of the plot of the academy. The academy commander is a highly decorated war veteran and he is deeply respected among the young cadets. His refusal to bow in the face of the closure and his will to fight inspires the cadets. After an accident involving the shooting of a civilian by the commander, the board of trustees responsible for the academy orders the place to be closed down immediately. The cadets ever loyal to their next in line commander decide to resist by requisitoning the armory and isolating themselves in the compound.

The film stars George C. Scott, well-known by his portrayal of Patton in 1970, a good pick for a commanding father figure. He portrays the ageing commander brilliantly describing the inner side of him as he ponders back against the changing times.

The film also stars the newcomers to the screen; Timothy Hutton, Sean Penn and Tom Cruise. Hutton portrays the cadet major responsible for the academy brilliantly receiving the Academy Award. Penn and Cruise portray two different characters from each other, former a cadet officer friendly and sensitive, the latter a cold hearted disciplined cadet officer.

The academy life is described in a very detailed way in the film. Young ones seperated from their families from an early age find themselves in another world where only the powerful survives. If you endure the hardships and survive you are sure to find many brothers-in-arms around you.

The academy commander emphasises on being an honourable man when he addresses the cadets. He upholds the virtues of being a loyal defender of the country. His preachings do not go unnoticed and the cadet officers find out that these principles generally do not have a meaning in the real life. The climax of the film is a conversation between the cadet major and the special operations colonel. When the colonel argues that he is one of those death-loving soldiers willing to die bravely for a cause romantically. He gets an answer equally sofhisticated; "We'd rather fight our own war right now rather than some war they'll decide." The young cadet major questions the real meanings of honor, duty and country by questioning the social status of the soldier today.

All in all a good drama worth watching.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars might have been better 30 years ago, 25 July 2014
By 
S. N. King - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I think I fell a sleep 4 times and didn't miss anything!! might have been better 30 years ago, but I doubt it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Blast from the past, 8 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Blast from the past bought this for the hubbie one of his eighties favourites lots of stars in their younger days. Fabulously fast delivery and nice product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TAPS, 10 Nov 2012
By 
W. Burrows "Wabit" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Remember watching this when I was younger and loved it. Lost the copy I had so when i came across this I bought it again. Re-watched and have had the pleasure of meeting Tim Hutton this month so got him to sign the cover for me.
This ranks as one of my favorite childhood memories along with The Goonies and Stand By Me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ;), 22 Jan 2013
By 
Amazon-Addict! "E" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
Had to have this just to add to my 'Cruise and Penn' collection. Both very young in this film, I'd say 20 years old! A good film, but dated as one would expect ;) Not what you would choose to watch nowadays maybe, but one to have just purely if you are a Cruise and Penn fan, both are pretty good in this ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars T.A.P.S - OId School v Modernism and The Government, 30 May 2011
This review is from: T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] (DVD)
I first watched this film when it had just come out from production after seeing the trailer on other tapes. I have since recently purchaed the DVD version, as I thought it was one of those rarely great movies made back in the 1980's. Remember, this was a few years after the Vietnam war had eneded in Asia in April 1975, but the memories of watching young soldiers being airlifted into Huey's on TV every single day on the news was pretty haunting. the average age for an American Viet Vet was 19.

The movie is set around two factions of society: The rich, those parents that could afford to send their kids to military school and the poor urbanite kids whom have to share the same block of land with differing views on what is acceptable in society and what is not. Two different breeds of children living in the same society sharing the same laws and urban conflicts, but with a huge difference. The Military kids are fighting for what they believe in and the urban youths despise and hate what they have

It is Summertime and the kids are heading home for the holidays, but not before a sudden announcement by the academy's General that the school will close by the end of the year.

The military academy is facing closure and the cadets are about to be demobbed because the government no longer sees the need for top militsry schools. Without spoiling too much of the movie, the film is centred around Sean Penn, whom leads the Red Berets, His commanding officer, Top Cadet in the school, whose father, is a Master Sargeant in the army, but refuses toacknowlwde his son's rise through the ranks. Neither like eachother. Conflict there already. A third character, is the conscience of the two officers and Charlie, the boot boy looks up the top cadet for morral support whilst away from home is caught between going home and staying at the school.

The movie is propelled into overdrive when a fatal accident occurs at the school during a ceremony, resilting in the schoolboard's decision to immediately close the academy. The Red Berets and his commanding officer go on the offensive and hatch a plan to keep the school open. Military school children have suddenly become fully fledged armed combatants, weilding MPG's, RPG's and M16 assault rifles with live rounds and are now manning 30mm machine guns to defend their school from being breached by an iept police force after another incident in town between youths and the red berets. After a stalemate situation between the cadets and the police, the heavy artilliery is called in. Roll in the chieftan tanks and a battallion of national guardsmen facing well disciplined children soldiers. The orders are clear and simple...shoot to kill anyone that tries to breach the compound. The commanding officer has requested a meeting with the sachoolboard to discuss the terms for keeping the academy open but with a twisat involved. No schoolboard, just father and son in a tent on a very wet rainy day. The father erfuses to salute his son, a commanding officer, as a mark of respect for his rank in the military. Agitated parents are also ast the meet demanding the release of their children nform the school calling the commanding officer a terrorist.

The film also centres around a young cadet called Charlie, whom the top cadet looked after and Charlie looked up to. The film was a poignant reminder of what death in war means and the fear that goes with it at that critical moment, and what it takes to be a soldier in war. The most memorable scene from this movie was highlighted by the music, the tension and the stress of knowing that death was a stones throw away for Charlie and his fellow combatants, and he made the choice what to do after what American soldiers do in psychological warfare...He chose, as did many others throughout the movie. The values of doing the right thing and knowing the difference between the wrong thing came to a head for Charlie at the worst moment possible. First blood had been drawn by thr enemy. Stressed out soldiers trigger happy and scared, opened fire and drew first blood. This is a must see movie to judge for yourself, but for me, I gave this film a top rating in the same class as Casualties of war and The park is mine. Not all of you will like it, buit some of you will. if the soldiers were adults, the marines would have moved in with Hades bombs
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

T. A. P. S.  [1981] [DVD]
T. A. P. S. [1981] [DVD] by Harold Becker (DVD - 2004)
6.01
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews