Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars21
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 July 2004
1977's Little Queen was Heart's second 'official' album and features the line-up that had toured their debut classic 'dreamboat annie'. Little Queen is a more adventurous album with a mix of rock and folk that, for the most part, works extremely well. The flute and mandolins play a large part in the overall sound of the album. Nancy Wilson's acoustic guitar is certainly up in the mix for this remastered version. It's not the most amazing remastering, after hearing the Fleetwood Mac reissues, but there is still vast improvement. 'Barracuda' delivers the sonic attack the music deserves. Roger Fisher still amazes on lead guitar and the real draw here is an outstanding live version of 'Stairway to Heaven' now featured as a bonus track. A demo of Love Alive is also of interest to Heart devotees. 'Dreamboat Annie' may be the classic, but 'Little Queen' illustrates why Heart were heralded the "Little Led Zeppelin"
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
All of Heart's first four studio albums are absolute classics. Folk, Rock and Blues combined to create an unforgettable experience. Little Queen is possibly the best Heart album, featuring timeless classic rock anthems like 'Barracuda,' 'Love Alive,' and 'Kick it Out.'
The mixture of dreamy lyrics, female vocals and hard rock is fantastic, creating an album that you will listen to again and again.
As with the rest of this series of remasters, the linear notes are basic but welcome, the sound is crisp and clear, there are a few bonus tracks and the actual performance is brilliant.
There is no real filler on the disc Title Track and the soft 'Cry to Me,' may not be Heart's most famous songs, but all of the mid album tracks on Little Queen are better than many of the Highlights on albums from the same era.
A highly recommended album for fans of Classic Rock or even stray Jethro Tull fans like myself, branching out.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2007
Any self respecting rock fan should know about this album.....Forget the commercial pop orientated Heart of the 80`s 90`s this is a 70`s Rock band , rock and folkie numbers that shine brightly! Little Queen was Hearts 2nd album and I recommended to all rock fans, once upon a long ago they were heralded as Canada`s answer to Led Zep. its that good!.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2014
This album takes me back more years than I care to remember.

Heart at their very best, fusing that blend of folk, and rock and roll seamlessly.

Anne and Nancy. Simply the best at what they do, even after all these years, I saw them do a version of Barracuda on some American tv show, with Fergie from Black Eyed Peas guesting on vocals, ( for the record that girl has an awesome rock voice), but still it was all about Anne.
This is just a beautiful record, High points for me Keep your Love Alive and Sylvan Song/Dream of the Archer.

Hugely recommended.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2015
A classic and missing from my collection. I first heard this album way back shortly after its release on cassette (ugh!) recorded off American AM radio... and over the years the songs remained in my head ... but I didn't know for sure who the band where, I am ashamed to say. So, it was awesome to finally catch this and of course, I will now need to get their entire catalog :)

Fabulous songs, great production and sounds crystal on CD. It's staying in the car as driving music!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 June 2005
In their earlier years Heart set a mould for themselves. They have pushed the boundaries pretty much ever since, even with the less 'them' albums of the '80s. This is the band still at the start of something magnificent and is a much loved part of my music collection.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 May 2015
An album of good rock with folk overtones before they became mainstream in the 80s Buy and listen to great female vocals and some good old fashioned rock guitar
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2012
This album is one of my favourites of all time. In the way that good characters, great acting and a riveting story can capture any subject matter and make it a stand out film, outstanding songwriting, musicality and vocals make this a classic. I think the songs on this album are outstanding; true, the mood is different to Dreamboat Annie, and the sound much folkier, but to me this collection of songs is the album that made them special. I have always been a fan of the underdog and I think these songs rival Led Zeppelin's; I can hear Robert Plant singing them in my head. Barracuda is a rocky, ballsy track which really showcases Ann Wilson's amazing vocals, as is Kick it Out. Little Queen takes you on a journey through the lyrics, and that is a Heart characteristic that you will find again if you work your way through all their albums. Treat Me Well, my favourite, is a quiet little treat sung by Nancy, a bluesy ballad with the most gorgeous string section. Love Alive is a soaring song that starts off folky then builds to a harmonious crescendo. Sylvan Song and Dream of the Archer are a mini-concept piece which draws again on the folky, mandolin sound of this album, and be prepared for the hairs to stand up on the back of your neck at the end. This is a good point at which to mention the beautiful backing vocals which were less apparent on Dreamboat Annie, and I think make tracks such as Love Alive, Cry to Me and particularly Go On Cry so fantastic. As the latter song ebbs away you will I hope think the same as I do...'right, lets go back to the beginning and do it all again..'.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2016
Really excellent sound's , great song's from ann and nancy wilson including the excellent barracuda, one of the best .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 May 2013
A quite amazing album, Heart at their very best, writing their own material. From the powerful opening chords of 'Barracuda', still frequently covered nearly 40 years on to the folky, ethereal mandolins of 'Sylvan Song', an album of contrasts and delights. Not a week moment on the entire CD. Anne Wilson has always been one of the greatest voices in rock, coupled with Nancy's guitar playing and song writing skills I would say they are possibly the most underrated rock band of any era, perhaps they did themselves no favours with a rather commercial patch in the 80s!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)