Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy gold suitable for the whole family!
MY FAMILY has to be the funniest sitcom of recent years: it has everything: witty dialogue, great, hilarious characters, absolutely wonderful situations that drop in and out of madness, but also many elements that families can relate to, for example, funerals, teenagers, parties and the dreaded decorating. The DVD is a tremendous buy and an enormous value for money, 2...
Published on 16 July 2004 by Ben

versus
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh! No!! Not another series!!
There's what?? Another 4 series and a Christmas special out on dvd??
Switch the gas on darling i'll be there in a minute...
C.Lai's episode below is funnier than the whole collection of this flannel anyday!
Published on 10 Aug 2007 by O Hooligan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy gold suitable for the whole family!, 16 July 2004
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
MY FAMILY has to be the funniest sitcom of recent years: it has everything: witty dialogue, great, hilarious characters, absolutely wonderful situations that drop in and out of madness, but also many elements that families can relate to, for example, funerals, teenagers, parties and the dreaded decorating. The DVD is a tremendous buy and an enormous value for money, 2 discs and 13 half hours episodes for 15.
Anyway, meet the Harpers, side splittingly amusing and dyfunctional kings of comedy. Stressed out denist Ben who hates his job, his wife and life in general. Then there's control freak bossy wife Susan, a gourment nightmare and a tour guide. Eldest child Nick is a pricless comic, his lines, his face, everything he says is comedy genuis. Throughout the 13 episodes Nich has about 13 jobs... Meet Janey, a normal typical teenager obseesed with fashion, money and boys. Finally there's geeky fourteen year old Michael who is cleverer than all of his family put together!
The episodes included in this brilliant double disc set are:
ALL ROADS LEAD TO RAMON: Susan reluctantly gives a job to Nick, Janey offers something all men want for extra tuision and Ben isn't getting on too well with his new assistant. *****
THE UNKINDEST CUT: It's doomsday for Ben as he and Susan believe that they may be welcoming a fourth child into the Harper home while meanwhile Nick embarks on a career as a chef. *****
PARISIAN BEAUTY: Janey isn't getting on too well with her French exchange Slyvie, while Ben is horrified when he thinks the French resdients is sending signals to him while Nick and Michael compete to impress. *****
TRUST NEVER SLEEPS: Janey is permitted to have a party but Ben and Susan get trapped in the bedroom. The funniest episode ever. *****
DEATH AND BEN TAKE A HOLIDAY: Susan is ill in bed while Nick and Ben travel to go to a funeral. Watch out for the hilarious scene in the hotel bedroom. *****
DRIVING MISS CRAZY: Janey tries hard to pass her driving test while Ben encounters a raging feud with his next door neighbour. *****
I SECOND THAT EMULSION: Ben and Susan try hard to get on with the decorating but Nick and Janey keep getting in the way. *****
AGE OF ROMANCE: Michael gets a computer and Janey wants some new shoes. Nick meanwhile has got an older girlfriend who is already married. Susan decides to settle the matter and invites her for dinner. Oh no! *****
GET CARTIER: A generous patient gives Ben and solid gold wrist watch but Ben is convicned that his new patient is a gangster. *****
THE LAST SUPPER: Susan invites her new American oss around for dinner to discuss his new ideas but disaster occurs when he drops dead. *****
BEN WANTS TO BE A MILLIONAIRE: Ben meets an old flame for his schooldays and discovers that he is a millionaire. Ben invests his money in the stock market, uh-oh! *****
BREAKABLE: The series ends a real high: My Family at its brilliant best. Nick has an accidnet while taking part in a motor bike stunt display team. *****
So there you have it: thirteen little gems that appeal to everyone of all ages. Can't wait for Series 3 where the comedy keeps on coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Quality Comedy, 2 Aug 2004
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I thoroughly enjoyed series one of this fine example of contemporary British comedy, so I was excited about getting the second series on DVD. I have ended up spending most of the day sitting on the sofa watching the discs through. Sad in a way, but really thoroughly enjoyable. This is definitly the best series yet as the later episodes are not really as funny. If you are torn between getting series 1 and series 2, then get series 2, definitly the most enjoyable. The only way that they could have improved the discs would have been to add some extras onto the discs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars fantastic, 2 July 2010
By 
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
This series is absolutely fantastic in every way. Stupid Brian is now a member of the cast in the episode "I Second That Emulsion" he has a big part, fixing Susan's shelf on the wall. But Grumpy old Ben doesn't want the Lounge to change colour as Susan wants to change it. Janey and Nick and the obvious Michael are all back in the series and are a great laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 10 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
fantastic comedy was in stitches laughing, loved it so much ordered series one too great to have it in collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Buy!, 29 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
I love My Family, Im a huge fan. This DVD is brilliant and it has some of my favourite bits with other parts that I havnt seen. Theres alot of episodes to this 2 disc DVD. Definatly recommend!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great show!, 4 Mar 2013
By 
Mr. M. Marsh - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
Love this show (the first 4 series anyway), very nostalgic and great to look back on. Great quality, shame there's no extras. Delivery was fast.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars pressy, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
bought for my daughter , she loves it and i must admit it can be very funny . worth watching
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my family series 2, 6 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
if u liked the first series then series 2 wil not disappoint u . the laughs just keep coming . deals with all situations and comes across well. classic comedy already just after 2 series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars When it started to work, 15 Sep 2009
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
The first series of 'My Family' was not much cop to be honest. The jokes were obvious, the scripts patchy, and the BBC's desire to create a US-style sitcom was all too evident. Had it not been for the likeability and popularity of Robert Lindsay and Zoe Wannamaker (plus the BBC's desperation for a hit sitcom after a string of high-profile flops), it probably wouldn't have been given a second series. However, the BBC were right to persevere, as he second series is a significant improvement on the first, and marked the beginning of a purple patch for some years to come. What changed? For a start the actors seem more natural with each other, having apparently built up a good working relationship when making series one. The writing team also seem to understand what works for these characters and the actors behind them by this point. Most significant though is the development of Kris Marshall (Nick) - he really finds his feet in his role in this series, deservedly becoming the show's breakout character. The departure of Daisy Donovan was also significant; so good in 'The 11 O'Clock Show', she was woefully miscast as Ben's receptionist and added little to the show.

Although not the best series of 'My Family' - three and four probably take that crown - this DVD is still well worth owning, as it's the beginning of a great period for the show. It's just unfortunate that nine years on, it's now a shadow of its former self; yet the BBC continue to try and milk their ageing cash cow and churn out worse and worse episodes. Ignore what's on screen in 2009 and go back to the earlier part of the decade to enjoy 'My Family' as it should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My family, 20 Jun 2004
By 
C. J. Fagan "ali2098" (United Kindom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] (DVD)
THE BESTEVER DVD IN THE WORLD! 10/10. Brilliant comedy. Buy series1 and 2 as a bundle, there great!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000]
My Family - Series 2 [DVD] [2000] by Jay Sandrich (DVD - 2004)
2.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews