Customer Reviews


371 Reviews
5 star:
 (245)
4 star:
 (54)
3 star:
 (25)
2 star:
 (20)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purchase
This bath thermometer really works well.

Our baby either loves or hates his bath, purely depending on whether the water temperature is right or not.

Unlike many other thermometers, this one digitally displays the temperature, rather than by means of a colour strip. The thermometer refreshes quickly, (about 1 sec) so is good for checking water...
Published on 19 Feb 2007 by Alan

versus
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars inaccurate
very slow to react to change in temperature

inaccurate - reads about 2 degrees cooler than the calibrated mercury thermometer borrowed from the University Physics dept.
Published on 12 Dec 2011 by abc123


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

72 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Purchase, 19 Feb 2007
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
This bath thermometer really works well.

Our baby either loves or hates his bath, purely depending on whether the water temperature is right or not.

Unlike many other thermometers, this one digitally displays the temperature, rather than by means of a colour strip. The thermometer refreshes quickly, (about 1 sec) so is good for checking water temperature when mixing. The rubber casing means it is virtually unbreakable and can be left floating in the water whilst bathing.

The design allows the thermometer to sit upright on a shelf or table which means that it can also double as a room thermometer when not being used for bathing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


64 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect baby thermometer, 31 Oct 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
We have three thermometers at home for our little boy, a Grobag egg, one built into the baby monitor and this Philips one. But it is this Philips one I like the best.

The Philips thermometer consists of a good, no-nonsense easily read LCD display showing the temperature. The display is covered with a little plastic circle - which looks like it could scratch - but ours hasn't despite some real rough handling. This is mounted into a good tough rubber flower -- not too soft and not too hard. We're happy to let our little boy chew away on it now that he's teeting. In fact he quite likes playing with it. It gets dropped and thrown but is still going strong and has not discoloured or anything.

It seems fully waterproof to test the bath temperature (and is handily marked 37C to remind you want the temperature should be). It is also free-standing for use as a room thermometer. We also threw it in our bags for holiday without worry and used it to check the pool temperature.

It seems pretty acurate, I trust it, and it changes its reading quickly.

On of the benefits of this one is that it is battery powered, so no having to move leads around like the Grobag one. It goes from room to room with us when necessary. Not sure how long the battery lasts, but some friends have had theirs for four years without having to replace it.

We've now had ours for a year, and all in all, I'd highly recommend it.

6 May 2014 UPDATE: Just a quick addition to say we've now had this thermometer for six years in constant use and it is still going strong with the original battery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


69 of 76 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful gadget, 22 Aug 2011
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
The first time I gave my baby son a bath I attempted to use the traditional "elbow" technique to gauge the bath temperature. For those not in the know, supposedly you just stick your elbow in the water and when it feels "just right", it's OK for your baby.

Well maybe I've just got sensitive elbows, or don't really understand what on earth "just right" is supposed to mean, as first bath time went something like this:

1. Fill bath to what I think is correct temperature, stick in elbow. Ouch too hot!
2. Pour in some cold water. Stick in elbow. Ouch too hot!
3. Pour in some more cold water. Stick in elbow. Still too hot!
4. Pour in yet more cold water. Stick in elbow. Hmm, OK maybe.
5. Pour in a little more cold water to be on safe side. Lower baby into bath.
6. Baby screams head off and starts shivering. Conclusion, bath way too *cold*.

So, this being the 21st century, I figured there must be a better way to do this, and after browsing Amazon, I discover this nifty little thermometer. So I added it to my basket, selected first class delivery, and the thermometer arrived just in time for my son's second bath time.

This occasion bath time went like this:

1. Fill bath to what I think is the correct temperature.
2. Examine thermometer, slightly too cold! Pour in some hot water.
3. Examine thermometer, 37 degrees exactly. Lower baby into bath.
4. Baby visibly relaxes, splashes around, and generally seems to be happy.

Fast forward 10 months, the thermometer is still going strong, and bath time is one of my baby's favourite times of the day! Well worth having. Only four stars as the display can be a little slow to update to temperature changes, but still well worth the money, and an excellent purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 13 Dec 2008
By 
This was recommended by our hospital midwives and nurses. It's brilliant. It quickly, accurately and clearly tells the temperature in the room and in the water. It also doubles up as a toy in the bath and makes bath time SO much easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars inaccurate, 12 Dec 2011
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
very slow to react to change in temperature

inaccurate - reads about 2 degrees cooler than the calibrated mercury thermometer borrowed from the University Physics dept.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but double check the temperature with your hand!, 28 Jan 2008
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
Good design, but needs to be placed in bath rather than chucked as it can roll over. Temp reading can take a few seconds and can jump through a couple of readings, so always swish water and double check bath yourself to make sure reading is not too low and to eliminate hot spots.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not very good really., 13 Feb 2010
By 
Ms. D. J. Ashton (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Two problems really, the temp gauge is very slow to react to changes in temperature and when it is in the bath it is a bit top heavy so it tends to float upside down with the sensor sticking out of the water.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good until the screen mists over!, 2 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
Would agree with previous comments that takes a while to get a reading and does flop over. But having bought two of these now I do like them.....but both have misted over so can no longer read the display!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It was a waste of money., 16 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
Big, bulky and heavy.
Never used in the bath, but it is not accurate on room air.
Follows the changes in temperature really slowly. Slowly. Meaning hours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Waste of money, 13 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Philips AVENT SCH550/20 Bath and Room Thermometer (Baby Product)
This its just doesn't work! Arrive broken, even battery change did not help, waste of money. Wouldn't recommended to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 238 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews