Customer Reviews


101 Reviews
5 star:
 (78)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Second Series shows greater warmth
Star Trek's second season isn't quite as strong as its first in terms of consistently great storylines although it is hard to find a story that could actually be considered mediocre. The real strength of this season is the great chemistry between the main characters which had begun to develop during season one. It's season two where the characters begin to really...
Published on 19 Mar 2007 by Jervis

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not come with metal case
I only wanted to say that, unlike the first listed review here, mine did not come with a metal case, which is a shame becaues it does not match my first series set that did.
Published on 28 Jan 2012 by A. Boughey


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Second series and still looking uptodate, 21 Aug 2006
By 
Mr. P. J. R. LEWIS (Llandudno N Wales) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
When you first buy these amazing dvd transfers you simply have to buy every one of them no matter what the cost. On their original release in 2004 they sold for nearly £80 a box which sounded a lot but on watching them you would not have quibbled at paying such a premium because the dvd remastering is almost as stunning as the ORIGINAL series themselves.

Season two contains my favorite and least favorite episode.

Amok Time is without doubt the classic episode where Spok returns to Vulcan to choose a bride and almost ends up killing Cpt Kirk in the process.We come across Tpau the Queen of the Vulcans.This is simply an episode once seen never forgotten.

The Trouble with Tribbles on the other hand even though it makes entertaining viewing makes you wonder where the script and film editors dissappeared to.Imagine if the original series was new and being filmed in 2006 and not 1966,such a storyline would never have left the story board.

Another strange but more intelligent episode is A Piece of the Action where Kirk,Spok,Bones etc beam down to 1930s Chicago and sort out rivalling gangster bosses.

We are aware today that Gene Rodenberry didnot envisage Star Trek to last even one season let alone three and this is reflected in the miniscule budget the film studios Paramount gave to the series.This is evident in some of the underpar storylines and scene sets used time and time again.

We can only imagine the costumes and sets the cast would be given today had Paramount realised how big the series would become.That aside thse beautifully remastered dvds warts and all only go to show what a brilliant idea Star Trek proved to be and a full three years before NASA put men on the moon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Space, the Final Frontier - These are the voyages of the Starship Enterprise, out now in gloriouis Hi-Def on Blu-Ray, 10 April 2012
By 
Simon Edwards (Liverpool, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Here is what started it all off (a franchise of 5 different live-action series, 11 Theatrical films and an Animated Series), now available in fabulous Blu-Ray. It is the Original Series of the greatest name in Sci-Fi History. It began the journey of boldly going where no man / no one has gone before and introduced us to a great crew, led by William Shatner's Captain Kirk, and a whole brand new philosophy created by television genius Gene Roddenberry. It is a journey we are still on today, nearly fifty years since it went on the air.
I had already brought all three sets of the Original Series on DVD when they first came out in the mid-2000's. Having seen a few episodes when I was a kid, I was really looking forward to seeing every episode. I loved it, but there was a lot of grain, the sound wasn't good and it felt a bit cheap. However, when I heard they were going to bring out a Blu-Ray set, at first I thought it would be very much the same and they couldn't do much with an old television show like this, but I was very wrong. I brought the first series to try it out and as soon as the first shot came on my TV screen, I was immediately blown away and went out and brought the final two series. This looked like a totally brand, new show, made in today's market. Okay, the cheesy 60's dialogue and hammy acting was still there (but that is part of the reason I love the Original Series), but the picture quality is perfect, the sound is crystal clear and the new effects are just mind-blowing. It has finally caught up to its Offspring shows and it now stand head held high, ready for a new generation of Star Trek fans to appreciate the episodes that we all loved when we were growing up.

If you already have the DVD Sets, go out and buy these because they are worth every penny. I didn't think it was possible, but I love Star Trek even more. Plus, the new Bonus features are brilliant and include even more fun-fact finding.

For those who have not seen Star Trek before or not got the DVD's, here is my opinion of every episode from Season 2. While my favourite Season has always been overall Season 1, I have found Season 2 to have some of the best episodes in the franchise.

Amok Time - What a way to kick off Season 2! Spock becomes very emotional and angry as he needs to find a mate. This is our first look at Vulcan, our first look at T'Pau, and it really demonstrates the fabulous acting our three main stars could achieve when they put their mind to it - 5/5

Who Mourns For Adonais? - I've never really liked this episode as I believe there could have been so much more that could have been done to make it more interesting. Ending is quite good, if not a little tragic - 2/5

The Changeling - A brilliant episode, discussing the disadvantages of advanced technology. Kirk must use all his wits to disarm a computer/machine that is out to kill the rest of the crew. This episode would be reused for the main plot of Star Trek: The Motion Picture - 4/5

Mirror, Mirror - Our first look at the mirror universe that would be used again in both Star Trek: Deep Space 9 and Star Trek: Enterprise. Kirk, Uhara, Scotty and McCoy go to an alternate universe where everyone is evil and Spock has a beard. One of my favourites - 5/5

The Apple - One of the most boring and pointless Star Trek episodes ever made. I try to avoid watching this, it is so dull. Even the ending can't make this episode interesting - 1/5

The Doomsday Machine - The Atom Bomb made for Star Trek in space. A brilliant war-like drama that has Kirk fighting to the last moment; sacrifices are made and brilliant tension is drafted throughout. This episode really benefits from the new digital remakes - 5/5

Catspaw - Star Trek does Halloween very badly. Another episode I hate and find boring. The ending is very funny , though not enough to warrant watching the whole episode - 1/5

I, Mudd - Harry Mudd is back, with a vengeance and even more funny lines and acting. I love this episode and it brings a little bit of light-hearted humour to an otherwise very dark series. Kirk and Mudd work so well together and his punishment at the end just makes you laugh uncontrollably - 5/5

Metamorphosis - Our first look at Zefram Cochrane (who would be played by James Cromwell in Star Trek: First Contact). Cochran is the man responsible for creating the warp drive and allowing the Federation First Contact with the Vulcan's (which is explained in the eighth film). This episode is a bit dull and the supporting actress is very whinny - 3/5

Journey To Babel - Our first look at Spock's mother and father (Mark Lenard plays Spock's father. He played a Romulan Commander is the Season 1 episode "Balance of Terror). This is a great episode and one of my favourites with a lot of suspenseful "who-done-it" moments - 5/5

Friday's Child - Another Klingon hates Kirk and the Federation episode, with McCoy becoming a part-time adopted father. I used to hate this episode, but most of it has grown on me. It's a bit slow in parts, but well worth the watch - 3/5

The Deadly Years - Kirk and his way team are growing older by the minute except for Chekov. Can they find a cure before they all die of old age? A great, fun episode - 5/5

Obsession - The only thing good about this episode is that it tells you a little bit about Kirk's past. I wasn't that interested in this one - 1/5

Wolf In The Fold - Scotty is accused of murdering several women in the style of Jack the Ripper. Is Scotty the killer, or is there a more menacing
explanations. This is a great episode - 5/5

The Trouble With Tribbles - If there is one episode I will always come back to, it is this great classic. This is probably my all time favourite episode of any Star Trek Series and it is just fun, entertaining, a great story, cute furry little animals and the Klingons. This also was the inspiration for the Deep Space 9 tribute episode "Trials and Tribbulations" as well as the Animated Series "More Trouble With Tribbles" - 5/5

The Gamesters of Triskellion - Kirk and his away team get captured and are forced to partake in deadly games. Sounds more fun than it actually is. The only part of this episode I liked was the alien calling Chekov "Checku" - 1/5

A Piece of the Action - I have always loved gangster films and this episode pays tribute to the James Cagney, old style gangster films. Kirk and Spock pretending to be Chicago gangsters in a 1930's setting is hilarious. I love it - 5/5

The Immunity Syndrome - Another boring episode I can never really remember much of - 1/5

A Private Little War - This episode has grown on me over the years. Kirk again has to stop the Klingons - 4/5

Return To Tomorrow - Kirk, Spock and another crewmember have allowed advanced aliens to possess them so that they can create robots in order to survive. A great character episode and it is very freaky to see Spock smile - 5/5

Patterns of Force - Kirk and his crew beam down to a planet that is very similar to Nazi Germany. Kirk must stop the influence and allow the people to live without the rule of their Fuhrer. I have always been interested in 20th Century history so I love this episode - 5/5

By Any Other Name - Another dull episode where the only watchable factor is an alien getting drunk by Scotty's old Scotch - 2/5

The Omega Glory - A Civil War drama that isn't very interesting. I tend not to watch this episode if I can help it - 1/5

The Ultimate Computer - Another "what-would-happen-if-a-computer-became-so-intelligent-it-took-over" episode. Doctor Daystrom is very scary in this episode, not because he is evil, but because he cares more about his computer than he does about human life - 5/5

Bread And Circuses - Another boring, Gladiator wannabe. Like "The Gamesters of Triskellion", not a lot to offer - 1/5

Assignment Earth - This is a very strange episode, and one that takes awhile to get your head around. It seems more like The Man From U.N.C.L.E episode than a Star Trek episode. It still has a fair bit to offer and it broadens the scope of what Star Trek was capable of - 3/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review of Star Trek Series II Remastered, 30 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I purchased the first and second series because of the remaster disks which were well worth the money, the sound track is greatly improved and most of the Enterprise graphics have been re-created, so the Enterprise is more real looking, the plants have different land masses and are diffrent colours, and the effects on the view screen have all improved. It is worth knowing that this is not in wide screen format but this dosn't detract from the watch experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Extras! Extras! Read All About Them., 9 Sep 2010
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Those purchasing the second season can be assured of the same high production values of the first. The extras on this can of DVDs consist of the following: -

1. Part two of Billy Blackburn's Treasure Chest - memories of an extra on the series (twelve minutes).
2. `To Boldly Go', a twenty-minute review of season two, including the introduction of Walter Koenig as Ensign Chekhov.
3. `Designing the Final Frontier', another twenty-minute feature looking at the series art direction.
4. A ten-minute `Writer's Notebook' by D C Fontana, focussing on the script-editing process.
5. `More Tribbles, More Troubles', an episode (with commentary) from the animated series that reworked and took further one of season two's most loved episodes.
6. The `Deep Space Nine' episode `Trials and Tribble-ations' that cleverly revisited the original `Trouble With Tribbles', together with accompanying documentaries.
7. `Life Beyond Trek', a twelve-minute interview with Leonard Nimoy regarding his work as a photographer.
8. A seven-minute featurette on `Kirk, Spock, & Bones - Star Trek's Great Trio'.
9. `Star Trek's Divine Diva', a thirteen-minute interview with Nichelle Nichols.

Enough here, then, to keep any Trekker happy, especially those with pet Tribbles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Feels like a whole new show!, 11 July 2010
By 
G. Barr - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really don't like it when production companies mess with original material, but I must say they've done a first-class job with this series. The fantastic new shots blend well with the old footage and feels like it was always meant to be like this. Perhaps the marketing people could suggest that everything has changed due to the time travelling exploits of the recent film!

The boxset arrived in perfect condition and the extra features are very good - especially the Tribbles disc featuring the anniversary DS9 episode! Great value for money at just under 15 squid. Thrusters on full!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Season Of Star Trek, 30 Oct 2009
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
This must be regarded as a definite purchase. This season has to be the best out of the three series of Star Trek. It contains some fantastic episodes, which I will list: "Amok Time"- A classic episode where we visit Spock's planet and see the legendary fight between Spock and The Captain. "Mirror, Mirror"- Another hugely popular episode where a landing party arrives in a parralel universe on a alternate Enterprise. "The Doomsday Machine", "Journey To Babel", "The Deadly Years", "A Piece Of The Action", "The Immunity Syndrome", "Patterns Of Force", "Assignment: Earth", "Wolf In The Fold"- All of these are fantastic, enjoyable and extremely entertaining episodes. There are many more great ones that you should see for yourself!

The DVD itself has excellent video and audio quality and has been presentd well and comes with a booklet containing lot's of interesting information. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "The Starship Enterprise Sails On", 3 Feb 2009
By 
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
The cast and crew of the enterprise demonstrate well that they have gelled together to enter the second series............The sets remain suspect as does the fact that in these times of interseller travel we have still not managed to progress past rotating wheels to register numbers on displys. However, the dream continues....Kirk , Spock and the rest of the crew play out some of the finest Sci-Fi adventures ever written for the small screen and within the limitations they had at the time ..still manage to make all would-be members of the crew long to be aboard with the regular members of the cast ......to boldly go where no man has gone before.......Long Live Star Trek !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's back and better!, 4 Nov 2004
This review is from: Star Trek: The Original Series - Season 2 [DVD] (DVD)
I am a new star trek fan, joining the religion about a year ago which is short compared to the 40 years of star trek history.
I have seen all next generation thanks to the wonderful world of DVD aswell as the originals and there is a clear winner, yes TNG is awesome but the originals are so much better. I have wondered when they would be released on DVD and finally they are here. I have purchased the first and second series and watched them all.
ALL WONDERFUL EPISODES THAT ALWAYS FIND NEW WAYS OF AMUSING YOU WITH THE CLASSIC CHARM OF 1960'S WAY OF BROADCASTING SPACETRAVEL!
These are science fictions greatest creations that sparked off a whole new way of making people feel good about themselves. I am excited for the third series release.
The DVD boxset is imaginative and inventive much like all the others, TNG, DS9 and voyager. This makes Star Trek far superior to everything alse.
GENE RODDENBERRY HAS CREATED A MASTERPIECE THAT WILL LIVE ON FOR GENERATIONS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars STAR TREK, 6 July 2013
By 
D. Barber (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
How could you NOT love this product? There is also a brilliant extra DVD with a cartoon and up to date episode of a Star Trek spin off with TRIBBLES - Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Does not come with metal case, 28 Jan 2012
By 
A. Boughey (Middlewich, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I only wanted to say that, unlike the first listed review here, mine did not come with a metal case, which is a shame becaues it does not match my first series set that did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 311 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Star Trek: The Original Series - Season 2 [DVD]
Star Trek: The Original Series - Season 2 [DVD] by John Meredyth Lucas (DVD - 2004)
Used & New from: £10.72
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews