Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New UnderOath
This album shows a very different UnderOath to their earlier releases, mainly due to having a new singer. The original one left / was forced to leave the band after 'The Changing Of Times'.
This album is much more musical, the singer has a totally different voice so the music, presumably, has adapted to fit with the more musical voice rather than the low pitched...
Published on 1 Sept. 2005 by Samuel Simpson

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A slight cut above your average screamo
With They're Only Chasing Safety, christian Screamos' Underoath become much more grown up in their sensibilities. The all-out screaming and futuristic noise is still here, but we see spurts of growth in tracks such as It's Dangerous Business... and Some Seek Forgiveness...
Fun, thrilling for a while, but the passion dies down after repeated listens. Great for...
Published on 3 Aug. 2005 by ojimmy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A New UnderOath, 1 Sept. 2005
By 
Samuel Simpson "sbds1" (Leicester, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This album shows a very different UnderOath to their earlier releases, mainly due to having a new singer. The original one left / was forced to leave the band after 'The Changing Of Times'.
This album is much more musical, the singer has a totally different voice so the music, presumably, has adapted to fit with the more musical voice rather than the low pitched beautiful howling of old. The only disappointment is the amount of tracks. As with 'The Changing Of Times' there are only 10 tracks of a normal length (around 4 minutes per song on average). But one of the ten tracks is a 50 second instrumental meaning there are only 9 proper songs.
Young and Inspiring is the perfect track with which to start the album. Builds in over 10 seconds with a slow fade in of background noise followed by 'So Let's Not Even Try' being screamed, and the music kicks in heavy and tuneful on 'Try'. Probably my favourite on the album. The tracks build up and the 'first half' ends on track four Reinventing Your Exit which was a video release in America. Then there is the 'interval' of 'The Blue Note'. Straight away it kicks back in up to pace, heavy and lyrically genius as before with the new American single 'It's A Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door'. Another great track. The album finale is one of my other favourites 'Some Will Seek Forgiveness, Others Escape'. This is mainly quiet with what sounds like an acoustic guitar. Then the first clear Christian refernces kick in with the line 'Jesus I'm Ready To Come Home'. If it is not clear, UnderOath are the cream of the Christian music. This is a lot closer to the mainstream than previous releases and therefore easier on the ear, but a brilliant, beautiful album throughout. I HIGHLY recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Emotion, 14 July 2005
By 
Music Fan (Stamford, Lincolnshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Underoath are a blend of heavy guitar riffs mixed with soft ballads and aggressive vocals, with a sound that seperates them from other bands. i first heard 'reinventing your exit' and since then there's been no going back, with tracks like 'a boy brushed red living in black and white', and the extremes of 'It's dangerous business walking out your front door'. A true progression of the easily stereo typical 'screamo' genre, which they make their own. Listen to the album and you can feel raw emotion and power in every song. I urge you to listen to and buy the album, and long may they continue to prosper and recieve the recognition they deserve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Stunning New Vocalist Makes For a Stunning New Album, 17 Aug. 2006
Following the loss of their original lead singer Dallas Taylor ("Act of Depression","Cries of The Past","The Changing of Times") Underoath aquired a new vocalist Spencer Chamberlain. This is the first album Underoath recorded with Spencer and his vocal talent really shines through. His voice tones sound more varied than his predecessors, giving him the edge over Dallas. Drummer Aaron Gillespie lends his voice to this album considerably more than in their previous releases. Unlike Spencer, Aaron sings the melodic parts of the songs making "They're Only Chasing Safety" a tad less heavy than their other albums which may upset die-hard fans. However if you listen to this album with a positive outlook then you are sure to enjoy it and appreaciate the new singer.

Musically, "They're Only Chasing Safety" is nothing to write home about although the melodic keyboard melodies (even though unoriginal nowadays) really shine through on certain songs.

Underoath are a Christian band which does affect their song lyrics. This particually shows through in "A Boy Brushed Red Living in Black and White" although unless for some reason you hate Christianity there is no reason why this song should be viewed any differently to the rest.

There are only 9 songs on the album (#5 is an interlude) but not one is lacking behind, it would have been worse if they had tried to cram 15 songs on and then half of them were not very good. Even though "They're Only Chasing Safety" has only 9 songs there really is something for everybody; ranging from the melodic ballad of "Some Will Seek Forgiveness, Others Escape" to the brutal "I Don't Feel Very Receptive Today". Fans of screamocore, metalcore and hardcore will enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars new era for best band around today, 12 April 2005
This review is from: They'Re Only Chasing Safety (Audio CD)
The first post dallas album from floridas UnderOath is a lesson in combining unique sounds, blinding emotional lyrics and awesome hooks. Their new vocalist, Spencer Chamberlain (This Runs Through)makes his new role all his own (being the best screamer out there bar none) With numerous member changes to the line up, UnderOath have definatly taking a step into a different direction with this record, but not a bad step. Within this album they have gelled some beautifully brilliant songs such as Its Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door, The Impact Of Reason and I'm Not Feeling Very Receptive Today. Old school dallas UnderOath fans my have been dissapointed with this release, but i can feel brutality pushing through, and we have only just seen the first signs of greatness from this band in thier new era
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 15 July 2004
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: They'Re Only Chasing Safety (Audio CD)
This CD has everything. melodic grinding guitar riffs mixed with emotional vocals combined with agressive screamo. The Best track in my view has to be DOWN, SET, GO. it starts with a nice Scream of "I had the whole world in my hands but gave it away" then it kicks in with the powerful vocals. The chorus is one of the most heart felt and meaningful choruses around. I would say the rest of the songs follow the trend with a mix of screamo and melody. "Re-inventing Your Exit" is the most melodic of the tracks on the album which probably is the most vocal track on the album barring the final track which is "Some Will Seek Forgiveness...." this has to be the most emotionally effective track on the album because it starts off as an acoustic style track and towards the end of the track it kicks in to finish off the album in style A PURE CLASSIC
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're Only Chasing Quality, 24 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: They'Re Only Chasing Safety (Audio CD)
Where do I start. It seems these days that Emo/Screamcore has become a bit of a cliched genre. Bands such as Funeral for A Friend, A Static Lullaby, Glassjaw . . . have made this genre their own. Imagine being able to mix and match the best parts of every emo/screamo band! Well, Welcome to the world of Underoath. A band who combine simple melodies with complex guitar work and exceptional drumming to create an exciting sound. One minute there's intense screaming and the next a melody which sounds as though it has come from a poetry evening at your local Waterstones. Simply superb. 'It's dangerous business just walking out your front door' and 'The impact of reason' are songs to look out for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reinventing Your Exit..., 24 Nov. 2008
By 
S. Harris "SPIDER_FAN106" (Swindon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
"They're Only Chasing Safety" is the title of Underoaths fourth album. And what an album it is! Every song crackles with atmosphere and energy. You won't forget these songs in a hurry because they are all so memorable!

1. Youg and Aspiring - The opening track is an excellent introduction. The guitars on this song are amazing and as usual feature some excellent vocals and lyrics. One of the strongest songs on the album. = 8/10
2. A Boy Brushed In... - This song is slightly more mainstream than the others and I find that it gets old quick. Yes, it has a good chorus and everything but it does begin to get a bit boring after you have listened to it for the 10th time. Still an excellent song, though. = 8/10
3. The Impact of Reason - I love the subtle sound effects in the verses. They really help to build the atmosphere of the song. While this may be one of the more difficult songs to get into on the album, it is still a decent song. It has an excellent chorus: "I'm at a loss for words." = 8/10
4. Reinventing Your Exit - Best song on the albumn IMO. Yes, it is probably the most mainstream song on here, but I also think it is the best. Every part of the song is catchy and you just want to listen to it over and over again. A perfect single. It never gets old. "Feeling like were Gold and were nothing short of invincible!" = 10/10
5. The Blue Note - An instrumental. This adds more atmosphere to the album and serves as a good intro to the next song. = (Compared to the other songs) 6/10
6. It's Dangerous Business... - This song is the most unique on the album and it also manages to be one of the best. It features great vocals and is a nice contrast between Aaron and Spencer. I like the way Spencer screams in this song since it sounds different to anything I have heard before. = 9/10
7. Down, Set, GO - Amazing! This song builds up all the way through to the climatic ending with the epic final chorus. "Whatever I say goes!" The contrasting vocals work especially well on this track with the epic final chorus being absolutely amazing. = 9/10
8. I don't Feel Very Receptive... - This song is good, mainly because the guitars and drums contrast together nicely. But other than that, it is mostly average metalcore lark. Filler? Maybe. = 6/10
9. I'm Content With Losing - "This is what I get for wanting more, for wanting more." The lyrics on this song are amazing and really help the song to ascend to a higher level of quality. The verses build up to the excellent chorus's to make for an excellent song. = 8/10
10. Some will seek forgiveness - This song is quiter than the others. SOme nice vocal work from Spencer, with Aaron helping him out in parts. This song is more religious than the others but is still enjoyable even if you aren't Christian(I am not) due to the great rhythem. A great closer. = 9/10
11. I've Got 10 Friends and a... - Great chorus and great screaming. Typical Underoath song. = 8/10

DVD - Really good. Features some live performances of some of the songs off this album and the music video for "It's Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door". There is also a feature about Underoath and each member- it really is a great DVD and definetly worth the extra money.

If you buy this album, you will not regret it. Some of the songs may take a couple of listens to get into, but once you are into them you won't be able to stop listening. Overall = 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Awesome, 16 Aug. 2004
This review is from: They'Re Only Chasing Safety (Audio CD)
This album has to be my favourite so far this year and is a must for any emocore/hardcore fans out there. The track "Reinventing Your Exit" caught my attention straight away and is a perfect combination between screaming vocals and flowing melodies.
Thier ability to write melodic catchy tracks makes them a real winner, other tracks such as "The Impact of Reason" and "Its a Dangerous Buisness Walking Out OF Your Front Door" are also other stand out tracks.
Buy this now, you won't be dissapointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Worlds New GREATEST Band, 19 Aug. 2006
This review is from: They'Re Only Chasing Safety (Audio CD)
UnderOath is one of my new favorite bands. The first band I have listened to that screams like they do, the big difference between UnderOath and all the other "screamo" bands out there is the sheer power behind their music. It has meaning and purpose like no other band I have heard. And the fact that their music is so christian oriented makes it all the better to me. Many people will find this music to be too "hard" for their tastes but if you give it a chance it will grip you like a python and you will never take it out of the cd player. And in my opinion 5 stars isnt enough for this cd.

A Boy Brushed Red Living In Black And White, It's Dangerous Business Walking Out Your Front Door, and Reinventing Your Exit, are three of my new favorite songs of all time, second only to their new cd, which is like a blessing from god him self. And they are INSANELY AWESOME live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Screamo Hardcore Around, 9 April 2009
By 
Julian A. H. Smith "Julio Cesar" (Neverland, Bristol) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Its taken me ages to realise that I do actually like Underoath. I occasionally would listen to one of their songs and be put off by the screaming and lack of coherent words/melody.

But this album seems has an awesome balance between 100mph screaming and melodic breaks. Some really catchy songs too. Definitely get this album before their later albums if your at all not into the screaming as much.

Once you've acclimatised to this album, get involved with Define Great Line and Lost in Sound because they are up there with the very best hardcore / screamo albums around.

Go see them live too, they'll smash you against the walls and leave you for dead!

BUY THIS ALBUM
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

They'Re Only Chasing Safety
They'Re Only Chasing Safety by Underoath (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews