Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Droning Mayhem
this album is frankly insane. 3 songs lasting just over an hour containing very few component parts, especially Hell-O)))-Ween which has basically one long riff repeated over its entire 15 minutes. this would at first appear to be boring, but that is far from being the case. you listen to this album and soon you're sucked in, not wanting the riff to end as it repeats...
Published on 3 Mar 2006 by Mr. Philip J. Martin

versus
0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The emperors new clothes
Sorry, I just don't like this. I heard a new Sunn O track and was going to get that album but the reviews all said it wasn't that good and that the older stuff was better. Having done some research the general opinion seemed to be that this is their best work. So I downloaded it, put my headphones on (proper closed back bass monster ones) set the volume to stun and...
Published on 18 May 2010 by A. J. Jordan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Droning Mayhem, 3 Mar 2006
By 
Mr. Philip J. Martin "waveset_sloth" (Yatton, near Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White 2 (Audio CD)
this album is frankly insane. 3 songs lasting just over an hour containing very few component parts, especially Hell-O)))-Ween which has basically one long riff repeated over its entire 15 minutes. this would at first appear to be boring, but that is far from being the case. you listen to this album and soon you're sucked in, not wanting the riff to end as it repeats over and over until you reach a state of almost hypnosis. the repetition is the strength of this song, as bizarre as that sounds. bassAliens is a very different matter, containing again repeated riffs throughout but with very strange sounds that actually do manage to sound like aliens in the bass amp. i assume this was the effect they were going for and if so they've pulled it off remarkably well. the final song, Decay2 [Nihils' Maw] is again very different. with guest vocals from ex-Mayhem man Attila Csihar reading from an ancient Sanskrit text, this song is again very strange, containing all manner of wierd atmospherics and effects over a simple guitar and bass track. the vocals add this track an air of eerieness and uncertainty. overrall this album is an astonishing piece of work, although in terms of other sunn O))) albums is probably just behind their best work, which is probably White1 or maybe Black One, although all their albums are excellent if a little inaccessible for newcomers to the genre. other bands of this style to check out include Khanate, Earth, Boris, Asva and Stephen O'Malley's solo work (if you can find any).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A beginners guide to drone, 25 Jan 2006
By 
N. M. Dyas (Ongar, Essex United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White 2 (Audio CD)
Well what can you say about this ep/album. If you are unfamiliar with the sound of the sub genre of doom known as drone this is a good starting point. The main instrumeents in this ep are the bass guitar and drums. To get the most of it you need a good hifi and a fair bit of volume as most notes are opperating in the very low frequencies with minor variations throughtout. To the untrained ear it sounds like just a constant hum, but there are many permitations to it. Very very few vocals and the bpm for the tracks is probably about 5, if that! more an experiment in abstract music than proper tracks. But if you want to broaden your horizons and here new and different stuff this could be for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful dark noise, 1 July 2007
By 
This review is from: White 2 (Audio CD)
An astonishing album, my personal favourite out of the Sunn O))) I've heard so far.
As the other reviews describe, track one is guitar and bass riffage that just trances out, lovely crunchy textures and very full sonically in the now-patented Sunn 0))) style.
Bass Aliens goes off on a different but no less sinister tip, with low end subs and atmospheric guitar chimes amidst subtle soundscape.
Track three takes it home with chanting (in Sanskrit!) and more subs and eerie effects.
The overall vibe of this superbly inventive album is lulling if you're used to heavy weird music. It's kind of anthropologically exotic too, taking listeners on a subterranean trip through dark chasms, almost Lovecraftian in it's evocation of the dark forgotten places under the earth which reveal strange glimpses of lost civilisations buried for eons.
This music creates vivid pictures in one's mind, especially when heard on headphones in a darkened room, like a soundtrack to a mindblowing and as yet unmade horror movie.
Who needs drugs when you have Sunn 0)))?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars If you like Sunn then you will love this, 29 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: White 2 (Audio CD)
This album isn't to everyone's taste I know but I love it. If you enjoy long droney pieces with little going on but sound then you will love this. If you don't then stay away. It feels a lot like Earth2 but with more production.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars sit back and relax its sunno))), 13 May 2005
By 
Mm Cr Potter "myowndad" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: White 2 (Audio CD)
I dont know alot about this band but I intend to find out more on the merit of this recording. It doesnt quite match their amazing live performance. its the kind of album you listen to on your own and get really annoyed when someone phones in the middle. Its probably worth getting white1 then white2 I have also heard that flight of the behemouth is supposed to be really good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars The emperors new clothes, 18 May 2010
By 
This review is from: White 2 (Audio CD)
Sorry, I just don't like this. I heard a new Sunn O track and was going to get that album but the reviews all said it wasn't that good and that the older stuff was better. Having done some research the general opinion seemed to be that this is their best work. So I downloaded it, put my headphones on (proper closed back bass monster ones) set the volume to stun and pressed play. And was totally underwhelmed. It's just...a bit rubbish really. The whole doom rock growling and wall of feedback guitar is so amateurish and old hat. Seriously, my 14 year old goth nephew and his mates could knock this kind of thing out. There is no skill, and much more importantly, there is no soul in this. Music doesn't have to be a Steve Vai or Eric Clapton guitar wankfest, but it has to have some passion, some bollocks and some integrity. This has none of them. It is pig eyed fakery of the worst kind. Lazy, contrived and cooked up in some studio to fleece goth kids from their pocket money. I'm not a goth but listening to this cetainly depressed me. Or rather paying my hard earned money to listen to this depressed me.

Amateurish music can be the best music, but this kind of half arsed 'woooooo, look at me, I'm so spooooooooky and weeeeeeird' nonsense is a joke. It's fake plastic insincerity annoys me. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

White 2
White 2 by Sunn 0))) (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews