Customer Reviews


46 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bin with reservations
Bought this bin when my old Brabantia eventually fell to pieces after many years of use. Design on this one seems to have gone backwards however with the spring loaded lid difficult to fit...still havn't got it to 'click' into place and when it is situ it prevents the cupboard door from closing properly. Like some of the other reviewers I have had to fit magnetic catches...
Published on 10 Nov 2010 by Mr. A. R. Macdonald

versus
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spring loaded lid
to prevent ur cupboard door from staying open sligthly, remove one of the springs from the lid this will releave pressure on the door and allow it to close fully
Published on 10 Mar 2012 by amazon shopper


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars spring loaded lid, 10 Mar 2012
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
to prevent ur cupboard door from staying open sligthly, remove one of the springs from the lid this will releave pressure on the door and allow it to close fully
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Solid Bin with reservations, 10 Nov 2010
By 
Mr. A. R. Macdonald "buster boy" (Dundee : Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this bin when my old Brabantia eventually fell to pieces after many years of use. Design on this one seems to have gone backwards however with the spring loaded lid difficult to fit...still havn't got it to 'click' into place and when it is situ it prevents the cupboard door from closing properly. Like some of the other reviewers I have had to fit magnetic catches to hold the door closed. Solidly enough made and if it lasts as long as my last one will have no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars looks good but function flawed, 22 Dec 2010
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
This product looks great, but unfortunately the spring mechanism on the bin lid tends to push whatever cupboard door you install it into, open all he time.

The cupboard door is always open buy about 1 - 2 inches all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic - instructions in review, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Good quality bin and is exactly what I wanted. Was concerned it wouldn't fit under my sink, but the actual bin lid does not need to lift up in order for it to work as designed, so there is some leeway. I had two goes at installing it. Took about an hour. As others have said, the instructions are poor (Brabantia's cupboard doors appear to lack hinge mechanisms...)

Key manoeuvres when installing:

Familiarise yourself with all the steps included in the instructions several times before starting, but I don't recommend doing them in that order. You will need a drill, ruler, pencil, screwdriver and pliers. Take the plastic liner out the bin to make it easier. There are three brackets - the larger metal one acts as a hinge, the smaller metal one mounts the lid, and the small plastic one is used to pull the bin with the cupboard door.

Keep checking at EVERY STAGE that your cupboard door will close.

Make sure you take into account the cupboard's own metal work - not just inside the cupboard but also on the door. This is key, and where I messed up the first time. Cupboard units may be joined with screws. These can be moved up or down if they get in the way but will need new holes drilling.

As your doors will likely possess hinges, you will need to mount it higher than in their diagrams. You will also need to map out in pencil for the cupboard door bracket (more later).

1. Position the first bracket high enough so that the plastic pegs don't hit your hinges/soft closing mechanism. The soft close mechanism in my kitchen comes off quite easily to give more working space. Only drill the first one of 4 holes (inferior and anterior) when installing the first bracket - then CHECK THE DOOR CLOSES. If it does, do the other 3.

2. I would then recommend putting the bin in situ using the two plastic pegs (they can be removed easily using pliers or fingers). Check door closes.

3. The other metal bracket supplied acts as a template. Use that to know how far ALONG the cupboard door to place the two screws for the plastic bracket.

4. I pencilled dots at various heights using the template and joined them to know how far ALONG the door the screws needed to be at. If you want to check that the bin lid will fit in your cupboard, the metal bracket can then be screwed in place (straightforward). Don't clip the lid in just yet (just gets in the way).

5. Position (by holding) the small plastic bracket on the door and slip it under the bin's bottom groove, in order to know at what HEIGHT on the cupboard door it needs mounting at, by drawing a horizontal line in pencil across the top of the plastic bracket. Drill the holes using your previously marked lines.

6. Take the bottom peg out the bin, and then slip the bin's groove onto the door's bracket, then put the bottom beg back on again. Clip lid in place....and hopefully, voila!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brabantia bin, 29 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. P. Gordon (Buckinghamshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Great bin. Small in size but certainly big enough so you shouldn't need to empty it that often. My husband fitted it under the sink fairly easily and quickly. I would recommend this bin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15litre, Brilliant Steel, 30 Oct 2009
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this bin as a replacement for an old plastic bin . this seems to be far more solid and robust and a far superior product . fitting was ok as well. it took about 15 minutes most of which was taken up by deciphering the instructions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Brabantia Built-in bin, 8 April 2009
By 
Yvette Rowe "Jaybiz" (BFPO) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
If you're installing this bin in a cupboard with non-flat doors, beware. Because our doors aren't flat the fittings on the door need to be placed at the lower edge (in an area thick enough to take the screws), however, the hinges for the doors then get in the way. My husband spent a good couple of hours cursing and finally ended up attaching another piece of wood to the thinner part of the door to fix the screws into. Apart from that it's a very nice bin - easy to use and so far we have no complaints.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Poor Quality, 21 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Pictorial only instructions very difficult to interpret. Lid mechanism very flimsy and poor. It's not cheap either. There must be something better available for this price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In cupboard bin, 24 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Excellent quality, strong bin, plus a good size, quite difficult to buy liners in Guernsey though and postage costs for them high online so use my normal bin liners which work just as well
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Buy!, 16 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Brabantia Built-in Bin, 15 Litre - Brilliant Steel (Kitchen & Home)
Great quality bin, good size, comes with 20x bin liners which was a welcome surprise!

Lid is a little fiddly to fit and needs occasional adjustment which is disappointing.

Overall recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews