Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars27
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
22
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.65+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon 2 May 2006
If there has ever been a more perfect album than this I'd really like to know what it is. Put simply, it's the only one I've ever owned without a single duff track or second of wasted time - from beginning to end it never sinks below anything less than complete genius. You can listen to it as many times as you like, and you'll always discover something new: these songs are complex, epic, emotionally involving, infectious, virtuoso masterpieces on every level. The actual style is pretty hard to pin down - often it's likened to 70s or 80s style prog rock, and the influences are undoubtedly there, but this kind of description really doesn't do justice to the sheer originality and quality of this sound. Claudio Sanchez's vocal range is amazing, and the black, frequently violent and nightmarish lyrics (all part of a story, don'cha know?) are given real bite by a delivery which ranges all the way from dark and vicious to incongruously upbeat. This band deserves to go far, and with at least two more albums in this series to come I can't wait...
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2006
Co&Ca's second album surely blows all criticism out of the water, the atmosphere, and deep into space. Offering a truly multi-faceted glimpse into their exapansive and technical style, the album furthers the storytelling elements which took root in 'The Second Stage Turbine Blade'. The underlying concept, that of 'The Bag.On.Line Adventures', is a futuristic fantasy tale detailing the trials of two protagonists which form the band's name. The scale of the story is massive,as reflected by the grandiose and overpowering title-track, but finds it way into subtler forms through track such as 'three evils' and the Camper Velourium series. The standard of all of the tracks is exceptional, with various supposed influences ranging from 70s rock to contemporary post-hardcore outfit Glassjaw. Technical wizardry and Sanchez's haunting vocals are the perfect conduit for the theme. Stand out tracks (within a stand-out album) are 'In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth', 'The Crowing' (check out the film noir-style monologue section with the furious powerchord backing) and 'The Light and the Glass'. The latter might be seen as a declaration of intent for the latest album, the way the track evolves reminds me of some, especially the last four, on 'G.A.I.B.S.4'. In short this album is the band's coming of age, and the foundation of the true musical self-discovery which forms their newest release; indivudal and brilliant without alienating first-time listeners.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2004
I reviewed this album before and i thought it was good. Now it think it's awesome - I'm listening to it as i type
The title track is a classic from the moment you first hear it
Cuts Marked In The March Of Men - took some time to get into this one, but after a few listens i now really like it
Three Evils (Embodied In Love And Shadow) - as soon as i heard this i knew it was quality: strong vocals, especially the chorus
The Crowing - THE BEST: this is beyond awesome - thumping drums, great guitars and especially from 'Dear Ambellina' the volume needs to be turned up to as loud as it gets
Blood Red Summer - in some respects actually my favourite as its easiest to keep up with Claudio Sanchez's vocals
The Velorium Camper's perhaps make up a slightly weaker part of the album although they still have their own individual merits
A Favour House Atlantic - like BRS, much easier to sing along to
The Light and the Glass - solid ending
All in all i really love this album and it certainly is an improvement on The Second Stage Turbine Blade, although i'm not suggesting that that wasnt a good album, especially when it contains such quality tracks as Devil in Jersey City, Hearshot Kid Disaster, Delirium Trigger and Neverender.
Didn't really know much about the band until recently, and on the strength of this album, i want to know more...
0Comment|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2004
I first got hooked on this CD by listening to the track 'A favour house atlantic' in a mates car. The album grows and grows and you start liking pretty much every single track - not one of the songs really follows a traditional pattern which makes for a really refreshing sound that screams originality. I then bought the 'Second Stage Turbine' C&C's first album which while good does not match the superior production and growth that the band demontrate on this album. If anyone finds it hard to follow the story behind the albums the band have brought out a comic book which explains a lot - you can order it from the bands website.
In Keeping... is a great epic track and the choir at the end make this track seem huge
The Crowing - great
Blood Red Summer - great, bit more poppy one of the easier tracks to get into
Favour House Atlantic - my fav on the album
Velorium Camper tracks - ok but by no means the best
If your into bands like Funeral for a Friend, Jimmy Eat World, Hell is for Heros etc then this will be a good album to have as a nice alternative listen - it will become a fav in you CD player !
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2003
All you need to know is that if you liked the first album this will blow you away (especially the hidden track) and if you've never heard of Coheed or if you just saw them live then get into them. Coheed are destined to become a cult band that all those people who are wishing to have there music remain personal will love to own. It combines the striking beat changes and outstanding guitar melodies with the injection of some gorgeous 'poppy' sing-along choruses to the outstanding effect.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Coheed And Cambria's second studio album `In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3' was released in 2003 and saw the band's popularity begin to rise, on the backs of the albums hit songs `A Favour House Atlantic,' and `Blood Red Summer,' which gave the band some well deserved media exposure.

With this album; the band's music became more progressive than on their debut, songs lengths expanded and the music became more intricate and complex. If you have only heard the band's later work, it may take a good few listens to adjust to the style and production, but ensure that you give it a good few listens, you'll be well rewarded.

Highlight moments include the amazing concert favourite title track `In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3,' which at eight minutes in length is still one of Coheed's most impressive songs to date. Other highlights include the fierce `The Crowing,' and all three sections of `The Velorium Camper,' which is split across three cd tracks, telling the tale of Al the Killer and his gun in a musically exciting way.

To conclude; no Coheed And Cambria fan should be without this album, from the amazing musicianship and unique songwriting to Claudio's vocal performance, this is a superb album that still makes up a large part of the band's live show and many fans still cite it as their favourite Coheed album. Buy it and find out why.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 October 2007
Nah, this album doesn't make you want to kill yourself. Pretty much the opposite in fact. All the main tracks are great, and by that I mean the 11 stated on the back. I would say that the light and the glass is the worst track, however, I haven't really listened to it for a while, but ALL the rest I love. Claudio Sanchez has a really unique voice, falcetto but the drums are pounding, and the guitar work is immense. I find myself wanting to sing along all the time, but I can't quite hit the notes that Sanchez pulls off! If you're new to Coheed I'd buy this album first, as it's on amazon at a bargain price, and it's still my favourite. The new album is out soon and I'm going to get that.
I think the best tracks are...probably The Crowing, A Favour House Atlantic, Three Evils, and the title track. However, I'd seriously give them all full marks, though The Camper Velorium parts 2 and 3 are a little weaker I think, in my opinion.
Overall it's amazing, if you get it and give it a chance you'll be all the better for it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2005
please, i beg you...
if you buy one cd this year, make it one by this band?!
they are absolutely incredible and they are going to be the next few years' biggest news.
they have got both ends of the market cornered, whether you like their more popular songs and just like to sing along, or you have been sucked into their cult-like world and sport tattoos, own all the comics and apparel and go to every concert humanly possible, coheed have something for everyone!?
very much a modern day concept band, coheed and cambria, with this cd, follow on from their predecessor with much more force and brute and go forth to explain more of their sci-fi story about the trials and tribulations of coheed and cambria and their family.
absolutely brilliant to listen to!
their third cd is comming out next week and everyone is so hyped and its no wonder?! we all want to hear what happens next! with at least another cd after the 3rd and a prequel to come, coheed have a long way to go. graphic novels to follow and a line of comic books already becoming rarely available they are a band to watch
they are so original and their stand out songs from this cd include 'the crowing' and 'the light and the glass'
-absolutely epic
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2004
This album is an awesome follow up to 'The Second Stage Turbine'. it combines riffy guitars with a unique brand of vocals that when combined produce and awe inspiring album, top quality!!!!!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 June 2004
This has to be the best album i have heard in a long time, the vocals alone are enough to make you cream
songs can take time to get into but are well worth the effort...and some yo just easy into in seconds
best songs on the album by far are the title track, a favour house atlantic (single) and the song....the camper velourium I: faint of heart, i think the rif alone on that song is amazin
but to fully involve yourself with this band, its best 2 have both albums as they tell a story across the two albums...and the two albums which are 2 follow as well...about there creation of the people and there struggle...there people being coheed, cambria and there four sons
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.