Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Man your own jackhammer.., 2 May 2006
By 
R. McDonald "rossmcdonald2" (Southampton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (Audio CD)
If there has ever been a more perfect album than this I'd really like to know what it is. Put simply, it's the only one I've ever owned without a single duff track or second of wasted time - from beginning to end it never sinks below anything less than complete genius. You can listen to it as many times as you like, and you'll always discover something new: these songs are complex, epic, emotionally involving, infectious, virtuoso masterpieces on every level. The actual style is pretty hard to pin down - often it's likened to 70s or 80s style prog rock, and the influences are undoubtedly there, but this kind of description really doesn't do justice to the sheer originality and quality of this sound. Claudio Sanchez's vocal range is amazing, and the black, frequently violent and nightmarish lyrics (all part of a story, don'cha know?) are given real bite by a delivery which ranges all the way from dark and vicious to incongruously upbeat. This band deserves to go far, and with at least two more albums in this series to come I can't wait...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Even better than i first thought, 26 Mar 2004
I reviewed this album before and i thought it was good. Now it think it's awesome - I'm listening to it as i type
The title track is a classic from the moment you first hear it
Cuts Marked In The March Of Men - took some time to get into this one, but after a few listens i now really like it
Three Evils (Embodied In Love And Shadow) - as soon as i heard this i knew it was quality: strong vocals, especially the chorus
The Crowing - THE BEST: this is beyond awesome - thumping drums, great guitars and especially from 'Dear Ambellina' the volume needs to be turned up to as loud as it gets
Blood Red Summer - in some respects actually my favourite as its easiest to keep up with Claudio Sanchez's vocals
The Velorium Camper's perhaps make up a slightly weaker part of the album although they still have their own individual merits
A Favour House Atlantic - like BRS, much easier to sing along to
The Light and the Glass - solid ending
All in all i really love this album and it certainly is an improvement on The Second Stage Turbine Blade, although i'm not suggesting that that wasnt a good album, especially when it contains such quality tracks as Devil in Jersey City, Hearshot Kid Disaster, Delirium Trigger and Neverender.
Didn't really know much about the band until recently, and on the strength of this album, i want to know more...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dear Ambelina...., 21 July 2006
By 
D. Every (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (Audio CD)
Co&Ca's second album surely blows all criticism out of the water, the atmosphere, and deep into space. Offering a truly multi-faceted glimpse into their exapansive and technical style, the album furthers the storytelling elements which took root in 'The Second Stage Turbine Blade'. The underlying concept, that of 'The Bag.On.Line Adventures', is a futuristic fantasy tale detailing the trials of two protagonists which form the band's name. The scale of the story is massive,as reflected by the grandiose and overpowering title-track, but finds it way into subtler forms through track such as 'three evils' and the Camper Velourium series. The standard of all of the tracks is exceptional, with various supposed influences ranging from 70s rock to contemporary post-hardcore outfit Glassjaw. Technical wizardry and Sanchez's haunting vocals are the perfect conduit for the theme. Stand out tracks (within a stand-out album) are 'In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth', 'The Crowing' (check out the film noir-style monologue section with the furious powerchord backing) and 'The Light and the Glass'. The latter might be seen as a declaration of intent for the latest album, the way the track evolves reminds me of some, especially the last four, on 'G.A.I.B.S.4'. In short this album is the band's coming of age, and the foundation of the true musical self-discovery which forms their newest release; indivudal and brilliant without alienating first-time listeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Originality at its best, 17 Nov 2004
I first got hooked on this CD by listening to the track 'A favour house atlantic' in a mates car. The album grows and grows and you start liking pretty much every single track - not one of the songs really follows a traditional pattern which makes for a really refreshing sound that screams originality. I then bought the 'Second Stage Turbine' C&C's first album which while good does not match the superior production and growth that the band demontrate on this album. If anyone finds it hard to follow the story behind the albums the band have brought out a comic book which explains a lot - you can order it from the bands website.
In Keeping... is a great epic track and the choir at the end make this track seem huge
The Crowing - great
Blood Red Summer - great, bit more poppy one of the easier tracks to get into
Favour House Atlantic - my fav on the album
Velorium Camper tracks - ok but by no means the best
If your into bands like Funeral for a Friend, Jimmy Eat World, Hell is for Heros etc then this will be a good album to have as a nice alternative listen - it will become a fav in you CD player !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn thats funky, 20 Oct 2003
All you need to know is that if you liked the first album this will blow you away (especially the hidden track) and if you've never heard of Coheed or if you just saw them live then get into them. Coheed are destined to become a cult band that all those people who are wishing to have there music remain personal will love to own. It combines the striking beat changes and outstanding guitar melodies with the injection of some gorgeous 'poppy' sing-along choruses to the outstanding effect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bloody brilliant, 14 Sep 2005
This review is from: In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (Audio CD)
please, i beg you...
if you buy one cd this year, make it one by this band?!
they are absolutely incredible and they are going to be the next few years' biggest news.
they have got both ends of the market cornered, whether you like their more popular songs and just like to sing along, or you have been sucked into their cult-like world and sport tattoos, own all the comics and apparel and go to every concert humanly possible, coheed have something for everyone!?
very much a modern day concept band, coheed and cambria, with this cd, follow on from their predecessor with much more force and brute and go forth to explain more of their sci-fi story about the trials and tribulations of coheed and cambria and their family.
absolutely brilliant to listen to!
their third cd is comming out next week and everyone is so hyped and its no wonder?! we all want to hear what happens next! with at least another cd after the 3rd and a prequel to come, coheed have a long way to go. graphic novels to follow and a line of comic books already becoming rarely available they are a band to watch
they are so original and their stand out songs from this cd include 'the crowing' and 'the light and the glass'
-absolutely epic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 23 Oct 2004
This album is an awesome follow up to 'The Second Stage Turbine'. it combines riffy guitars with a unique brand of vocals that when combined produce and awe inspiring album, top quality!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars strange beauty, 20 Jun 2004
This has to be the best album i have heard in a long time, the vocals alone are enough to make you cream
songs can take time to get into but are well worth the effort...and some yo just easy into in seconds
best songs on the album by far are the title track, a favour house atlantic (single) and the song....the camper velourium I: faint of heart, i think the rif alone on that song is amazin
but to fully involve yourself with this band, its best 2 have both albums as they tell a story across the two albums...and the two albums which are 2 follow as well...about there creation of the people and there struggle...there people being coheed, cambria and there four sons
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 9 Mar 2004
By A Customer
i must admit that i bought this album, listened to it once and thought "what the hell was that all about?". i went to see hundred reasons and co&ca were supporting and they were amazing and so after the gig i forced myself to listen to the cd again. i soon realised that i had really missed out the first time round. after just one or two more listens the songs were stuck in my head. perhaps on my first listening i was just shocked at how different this was but once i got over that i found a truly amazing, original, catchy and progressive album. i cant recomennd this enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wow!, 18 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 (Audio CD)
What a band! Check them out, it's really a different style of music and the song 'A Favor House Atlantic' is simply incredible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3
In Keeping Secrets of Silent Earth: 3 by Coheed and Cambria (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews