Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cheerful 80's sitcom
This enjoyable sitcom sees young parents Angie and Nick Tyler, (Lysette Anthony and Ray Burdiss) renting out the basement flat beneath them to Angie's Mother, Daphne (Angela Thorne) and Nick's Father, Sam (Michael Elphick).
Sam is immediately attracted to the refined Daphne, but she doesn't feel the same way about him, because of what she considers to be his rough...
Published on 2 Jan. 2011 by Colin Smith

versus
7 of 17 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not the best of British.
For many people, like myself, who buy TV comedy that was originally transmitted during their youth,I would caution you before clicking to buy this bit of nostalgia. I managed five episodes before I gave up. The characters are not only glorious stereo-types but even after such a short period the joke of upper class mixing with working class had worn terribly thin. You...
Published on 25 Feb. 2007 by N. Moore


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A cheerful 80's sitcom, 2 Jan. 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This enjoyable sitcom sees young parents Angie and Nick Tyler, (Lysette Anthony and Ray Burdiss) renting out the basement flat beneath them to Angie's Mother, Daphne (Angela Thorne) and Nick's Father, Sam (Michael Elphick).
Sam is immediately attracted to the refined Daphne, but she doesn't feel the same way about him, because of what she considers to be his rough round-the-edges personality.
Sam has a heart of gold which Daphne occasionally appears to respond to, but when Sam tries to take advantage of the situation, its the cue for another rebuff from Daphne.
Angie and Nick play mostly supporting roles, as they occasionally attempt to soothe the clash of personalities between their parents.
Sam's hobby, taxidermy, is considered repulsive by Daphne, while Sam's Zookeeper friend, Wilf (John Grillo) provides him with a continual supply of material for his new found interest, while across the road lives the smooth and smarmy Major Giles Bradshaw (Neil Stacy), who wines and dines the enchanted Daphne while the envious Sam looks on.

Although not my favourite sitcom, I still find this to be a pleasant and cheerful comedy series, thanks to excellent performances from Angela Thorne and the much-missed Michael Elphick.
Picture and sound quality is good on all twelve episodes. With English subtitles.

If you enjoy this series, be prepared for disappointment because at the moment there's still no sign of the third and final fourth series being released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet funny, 7 Aug. 2005
By A Customer
Like so many classic comedy series the timing and the subtle approach is what makes it timeless. Sure there is plenty of 80's fashion but apart from that it is as funny today as ever it was. It's not up there with Only Fools or The Good Life, but it is worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another comedy gem, 8 Aug. 2008
We love this series. It's a good cast, good script and does what it sets out to. Makes you laugh! this is good comedy
so try it and see for yourself & I hope you enjoy as much as we do.
Keep the laughter coming Amazon and thank you for this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars next series, 9 Jun. 2007
By 
B. M. Rowley "jm" (australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
When oh when will the twits put the final two series of the 4 series to complete this. I have been waiting for ages I hate it when they start a show then only put part of it out I want series 3 and 4 to complete this series when oh when get act together please I can only get this over the net so get wriggle on a desperate fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3 Up, 2 Down, 24 Mar. 2009
Nice series, just as they used to do them in the good ol' times nothing dirty and lots of innuendo.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Please release all the episodes, 23 Sept. 2010
Very good series, funny, witty and left me waiting for more. Please release all the episodes.
Great acting by both Michael Elphick and Angela Thorne.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fab, 11 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very funny and entertaining. Most people would enjoy watching it. Kids would find it boring and old fashioned I am sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars traditional comedy, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I remember watching and enjoying this programme back in the 80s. I don't understand why I can't get the third series which brought the whole Daphne/Sam saga to a conclusion. Any ideas??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars roll on next series, 7 Jun. 2008
I loved this show then and it's great to watch it again. The cast and characters are so well matched.Can't wait for next series, Please hurry up
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Nov. 2014
By 
Patricia Blissett (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I love british comedy and the DVD is funny I watch it over again and again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Three Up, Two Down: Series 1 And 2 [VHS] [1985]
Three Up, Two Down: Series 1 And 2 [VHS] [1985] by Michael Elphick (VHS Tape - 2004)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews