Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Summer Savings Up to 25% Off Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Shop now Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars21
4.1 out of 5 stars
5 star
8
4 star
8
3 star
5
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 May 2015
A very good transfer. Picture and sound quality excellent. I have only given this disc 4 stars as I am very disappointed with the fact there are no special features worth notice. I previously had the Blob on DVD which came with two commentaries absent from this transfer. Otherwise I rate it well worth buying.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 May 2015
After witnessing a meteorite crash to earth, Steve Andrews and his girlfriend, Jane Martin, played respectively by Steve McQueen and Aneta Corsaut, go to investigate. The meteorite turns out to be a small 'blob' similar to jelly. The 'blob' rapidly grows in size, when it starts to attach itself to things, namely people. After reporting the incident to the police, they flatly deny to believe their story, until it's too late.

This is a classic 50's American SC-FI movie aimed at the teenage market of the period. There were a lot of films in this genre in the 50's, mainly in Black and White, this was one of the few made in colour, and aptly fits in with the rest. Interestingly Steve McQueen is billed on the credits as Steven McQueen. The print used for this transfer is the same one that Criterion used in the U.S. Which was a new digital 4K transfer.There are no major scratches or dirt, but there is a layer of digital noise. However, it is not heavy, and not always visible, and does not spoil the enjoyment of watching the film. This is the first time that this film has been available on blu ray in the U.K. If you like the old American 50's SC-FI movies, you should enjoy this one.

Picture Quality is good, with natural colours. The original aspect ratio was 1.66:1. This transfer is in 1.67:1 which is the same as the U.S. version. The sound is in the original mono.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2003
In the opening scene, Steve an all American teenage boy (played by Steve McQueen) succeeds in convincing Jane that really cares for her, in his open top fast car (nudge, nudge, wink wink), when a meteorite suddenly crash-lands nearby. Steve and Jane then speed off in the car to investigate.
Meanwhile a curious old codger hears the meteorite and goes to check out the crater, he uses a stick to probe the thick vile viscous mass of pulsating protoplasm that oozes from the cracked meteorite. To his surprise the stuff displays a meniscus like effect and slides up the stick onto his hand and starts to assimilate his flesh at frightening speed. The old man manages to stumble onto the highway where Steve almost hits him with his car.
On seeing the state of old man, Steve and Jane decide to take him to see the Doctor. Steve sees the Blob devour the doctor and Steve’s luck runs out when he tries to convince his father and police of what just happened.
The adults think that it’s all a hoax, Steve and his close friends organise themselves to warn the townsfolk of this monster.
“The Blob” is a truly cult classic film, with a fast and furious 1950’s, Sci-Fi, Horror, blended genre, with amazing special effects for its time.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
The Blob is a classic b-movie horror and has all the flaws and idiosyncracies that implies. The acting is wooden, the effects are shoddy and the story is slim to the point of non-existent, but this is a fun ride all the same. Sometimes these films are best left in the memory than re-watched as an adult, but this one just about musters up enough nostalgic value to make it worthwhile.

In an early Steve McQueen role he atleast shows the charm and charisma he later exudes in every film, but everyone else displays the same talent most low budget movies of this era present.

The Blob is a classic monster movie which doesnt have a lot of exposition or back story to any characters and keeps things moving at a swift pace so you dont have too long to think about it.

This film is best taken for exactly what it is. A small, simple and fun film.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2010
This was one of the very early films of Steve McQueen,and even here,aged 28, he shows something of the cocky yet likeable characters that he went on to play in films such as The Magnificent Seven,and The Sandpebbles. McQueen steals the show,as a young man trying to convince the police and the rest of the small town,that there is danger in the town, in the form of a flesh-eating blob of jelly that is growing in size as it devours victims. This being the 50's, there are a few typical 50's teen themes here: A dangerous creature from outer space threatens people, and the struggle between teenagers and any figure of authority.

I got the feeling I had seen it all before, but at the time this possibly was original and frightening. This release has no added features, but the picture and sound quality of the film are excellent.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2012
Wow this film was amazing, it had a great catchy theme tune, The Blob looked amazing, it looked like Jelly but alive! o_o

The start of the film is just filler but the films does kick off and becomes awesome, wish there could have been more parts with the blob though.

As far as story lines go it's pretty average for a monster movie of its time though we only watch it for the monster really and the monster's great.

Now need to track down Beware! The Blob/Son of Blob and The Blob remake. Also beware of buying this from the seller "blue gooseberry" I was expecting the Criterion Collection edition as pictured but I got a different version. 10/10
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2015
OK 4 stars is probably pushing it a bit but I've boosted the rating because of it's nostalgic charm. It's a cult movie really with all the leeway that allows and interesting rather than horror. Steve McQueen plays an unlikely 30 year-old teenager while the films 8 year-old is played by a five year-old. There are some other curious bits of casting and a healthy smattering of wooden performances but like any cult movie you forgive them. Well worth a watch but perhaps not a revisit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2015
Completely daft, classic B-movie with incongruous theme music. Screaming female victims fall over and twist their ankle as soon as the slow moving monster approaches. McQueen keeps a cool head, saves the day and wins the girl. What they do with the blob in the end is ridiculous, but I don't want to ruin it for you. My 7-year-old son enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2007
As a child i remember watching this film and being stunned with its visual effects and fast moveing plot line, I have come back as an adult to watch this film again (which is always difficult, as things are often best through the rose tinted glass of youth) I was disapointed, yes I will admit, it IS a classic, but when you compare it to The Day the Earth Stood Still and It Came From Outer Space, The Invisible Man, it is weak, flat and obvious, plus as an extra downside, Steve McQueen is TWENTY SEVEN years old in this film but he is playing a eighteen year old "teenager" this is sooooo unbelievable and im sure in one or two shots you can even see the starts of silver-grey hair on the sides of his head!

Sometimes nostalgia is best left in the past.
11 comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2015
This film was one of the late Steve McQueen's first films so we must make allowances for the not very good acting, it is the only ski fiy films he made which I am glad about as he went on to become a very good actor.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)