Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars9
4.3 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
4
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 July 2007
Recorded at the last free Stonehenge festival during the summer solstice of 1984, this DVD acts better as a documentary of the occasion for posterity than as an out-and-out hawkwind concert performance DVD. I say that because there were elements of the recording of he concert that annoyed me - for instance, fading out Motorway City and a couple of other songs and cutting out a section of Brainstorm. The footage of the concert itself is not brilliantly filmed either. That aside, this film of a Hawkwind band featuring Nik Turner playing at Stonehenge is a fairly key record in the history of the band and, musically, the performance is strong enough to keep you watching and listening to the end. The DVD opens and closes with footage from the Stonehenge site, atmospheric and an important record. So, overall, despite some flaws i would recomend this DVD to other Hawkwind fans.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2005
Anyone who attended the Stonehenge festival in 1984 would have enjoyed the ultimate in free festival anarchy. It was the time of the Convoy.. a disparate mix of dreamers and activists, idealists and anarchists. Stonehenge was the mecca, the big one. The coming together of the Clans for the annual celebration of the Solstice and the meeting of friends old and new. Hells angels and hippies co-existed with a mutual appreciation and understanding that the event was more important than social differences and so a mutual truce existed between camps.
And then there was Hawkwind. On the evening of the eve of the Solstice the band came on.. fire breathers and jugglers at the fore.. it was a Pagan celebration of the coming dawn and the massed crowd watched what was to be a fantastic performance/ritual.Presided over by the suitably attired Nik Turner the band played into the early hours.
To be at the stones at dawn, with the band playing once more..this time the track "Stonehenge decoded" was an unforgettable experience.. which I relive over and over with this tape. For those who missed the free festivals and the convoy period it has some interesting footage of the campsite and those individuals who made the event what it was.. a great festival and an important event in many peoples lives.
11 comment|26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 5 October 2006
This was one of many things on my list to replace once the old VHS machine finally packed in. The problem was always what to chose.

Recently this decision had been simplified by the realisation of both how important this recording is (read the other reviews) and how much better this is than the VHS version.

Yes this is a 20+ years old recording with simple camera angle, and the sound you expect from a bunch of musicians on a platform by Stonehenge on a solstice night. If you move past that, you find you have almost twice as many songs as previously provided on tape!

This is a must buy, espicailly if like me you managed not to be there at the time (one of those regrets!)
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2008
Like other reviewers, I was there for this event. A callow 18 year old, and never exposed to quite this extent of "freedom" before. Not like any other fests before or after for me. I recall (just) satnding stage side when the Hawks were on, seeing the "vestal virgins" spinning around on the stage. I was a little blitzed at the time, and it was a very strange and surreal experience. Likewise the sunrise being played in with Stonehenge decoded. A brilliant memory, and clearer than other times back then. Also made very special by a certain Mr. Harper, who sought out our help when preparing for his performance of Mcgoohans Blues. Hugh Lloyd Langton also made a nice appearance during Hangman. Got the old VHS recording but its only a snapshot!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 May 2009
I just had to buy this... I was there!!!! Boy it's weird to watch, after all these years! What a great concert and more importantly experience this was. The camera work is a little amateurish compared with most music Dvds, but this is a historically significant snapshot of the last free festival at Stonehenge (and kinda works well with the hippy surroundings). The festival and Hawkwind were like "hand and glove".... it's what they stood for! Great purchase and I would recommend to any fan!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
A captured moment in the long history of hawkwind with a great line up, but for all true hawkwind fans a must for the collection! The video footage looks dated but this has caught a slice of a time when festivals were free !!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2007
But missed the Hawkwind gig... can you believe it! Was there from June 1st to the very last dregs.

(Mind you, I heard Hawkwind that night and and was trying to talk this small group out of the belief that they were really aliens come to earth to teach us science, agriculture, mysticism etc. and were responsible for the flowering of ancient Egypt. They had missed their pick up and were waiting for plan B. That is to reincarnate through time and the 12 would meet (I was science, partner was Magic, he already had the other 9) at the stones at sunrise on the solstice when they would be rescued. It was surprisingly believable at the time.... Perhaps you had to be there. He called himself the Wizard and spoke in perfect rhyming couplets all the time with the best twirly oaken staff and some very interesting tea!)

My partner bought this for me and the best bit for me was the opening scenes shot around the festival. Wonderful to see it again in full flow! I admit I cried for the loss of such a wonderful festival, suddenly seeing it all again bought back such a rush of memories. I will never forgive Thatcher and her minions for "The Battle of the Beanfield" the year after....

Get it... you won't regret it. Ally Ally Ally! :o)

Les(Top of Rainbow Avenue, just next to the Windsors)
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2013
The footage and sound quality is good however Roy harper was part of this bill and had expected to see his set but my expectation stretched too far as it would have required more dvds
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2013
Uncle nic in full on white face paint and tufty hairdoo . It seemed very early 80's not terribly brilliant VT footage . A document of the band at the time and incarnation . I'm sure it's a great reminder for those there at the time .

I much prefer the full on live experience with light show that the hawks are so good at now , this dvd is of a different era
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)