Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Work!!
"Koroshiya" or "Ichi The Killer" is a remarkable work. It is sure to upset a good few because it's themes and images are strong and provocative. What makes this film stand head and shoulders above most of the dross that is force fed to the public is it's obvious artistry. The film is beautifully shot. The editing can be frenzied at times especially during action scenes...
Published on 2 Sept. 2007 by nmollo

versus
16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a pitty...
Ichi the Killer is a stunning film in its cateory, BUT this is not it!

This is the censored, horribly cut version... What a pitty!

They give you the collector's edition pack that is presented so good, with even the manga version (which I truly enjoied a lot) and then you find out the live action version is the disgacefully cut one...
Published on 5 Oct. 2006 by Charles Wolf


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What a pitty..., 5 Oct. 2006
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
Ichi the Killer is a stunning film in its cateory, BUT this is not it!

This is the censored, horribly cut version... What a pitty!

They give you the collector's edition pack that is presented so good, with even the manga version (which I truly enjoied a lot) and then you find out the live action version is the disgacefully cut one.. Unacceptable.

If you like this kind of movie, Ichi is a must but you will have to look for an imported uncut version somewhere else for this one is just no good.

Seriously, in a movie like this the censore is difficult to understand because it's taking away a big bite of the cake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Remarkable Work!!, 2 Sept. 2007
By 
nmollo (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
"Koroshiya" or "Ichi The Killer" is a remarkable work. It is sure to upset a good few because it's themes and images are strong and provocative. What makes this film stand head and shoulders above most of the dross that is force fed to the public is it's obvious artistry. The film is beautifully shot. The editing can be frenzied at times especially during action scenes yet other more gentle scenes are shot in a style reminiscent of Akira Kurosawa by which I mean in one shot without cuts. This is becoming a rare commodity in modern film and it attests to the extraordinary confidence of the director Takashi Miike.

The director is the true star of this picture. Every scene has his enveloping stamp. He truly is one of the greatest Directors this medium has ever seen.

This film has all the hallmarks that are present in other Takashi Miike specials. Comedy, Ultra Violence, Needles, Blood Fountains, Rape, Bullying and Human Excretions. As always his characters have motivation for their actions. Nothing is done without a reason. A killer may kill yet he has reasons and a philosophy.

In an American action film the characters are generally black and white and this leaves no room to tackle the darker side of humanity. In other words the characters are shallow and kill without consequence. Takashi's films explore the reasons for such behaviour and each character has a logic that explains his or her actions. So his characters as evil as they might be have a depth rarely seen in western action films. In the extraordinary film "Audition" the girl tortures her lover because that is the only way she can express her love for him.

Surprisingly I have heard this film being labelled "romantic". I would not go so far but certainly the characters are all desperately trying to find love in their own sick way.

This DVD has a very irritating Commentary track by a noisy and arrogant Bey Logan. He hardly allows his fellow guests to speak, which they begin to notice rather quickly and so that as a result clam up. Maybe Bey Logan should try listening for a change.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 39 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Steer Clear..., 30 Oct. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
'Ichi The Killer' is a great film. Unfortunately, this supposedly "Special Collectors Box" is a waste of money. Why? Because it's the censored version of the film.
Sure, the packaging and the extra features are nice, but the fact that a censored version of a film can advertise itself as being the collectors edition is frankly disgraceful.
Do not buy this. Look for an imported and uncensored version of the film instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A fascinating Box-set., 30 Nov. 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
Ichi the Killer is possibly one of the most incredible dark humoured films in existance, especially considering how little people understand the film even though they've watched it. The first disc is the uncut version of Ichi; the film is basically about Japanese mafia members, sadomasochism and a young lad who can't stop crying called Ichi. If I carry on, I'm sure I'm going to give something away that will spoil the movie, but it's well worth watching it a few times to make sure you know who everyone is, and what's going on. And remember- this is a comedy!
The second disc is a wonderful collection of interviews, backstage and gallery. If you enjoyed the film, you'll probably enjoy all of the featurettes, all of which have subtitles (except one trailer), though don't expect too much of an explanation. That's what the film's for. The same goes for the manga "version". It is not in fact a "version", it's more of a debaucherous and violent hentai movie on the theme of Ichi, akin to the cartoon series the film gets its basis from. Well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not that heavily cut., 12 April 2007
By 
Mr. Faron D. King (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
For anyone reading these reviews and thinking oh it's cut I won't bother, STOP!! I'm not sure if any of those who are complaining about cuts have seen this film uncut but I have and let me tell you the UK version isn't missing that much and believe me the quality of the UK release compared to the U.S., uncut release is unbelievable. I bought it (U.S. uncut) watched it and then sold it on ebay. It's visually poor, the sound is terrible, it has washed out colours etc. basically it looks and sounds awful and is not worth getting for the sake of it's being the uncut version. Stick with the UK release, you can see the effort that has gone in to bringing a quality product to the market. This review is purely for live action, UK release of Ichi and not the collection as a whole!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Okay for cult followers., 21 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
Not as good as I expected it to be from the status it has got. Acting a bit iffy, not as good as other Asian films I've watched. The gangsters in it are a bit wishy-washy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Extreme Cinema? Like The Crimea Was An Extreme War..., 25 Aug. 2007
By 
Brady Orme (Edgbaston, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
A lot has been written about the gore-splattered tendancies of "Koroshiya 1" (To give it it's proper title), and indeed the blood does slosh around like a perverse Sargasso Sea... But then again, Wile E. Coyote used to have entire cliffs fall onto his mangy hide. They both use their cartoon environs to make the "squeamish" factor irrelevant. Lest we forget, "Ichi" is based on a anime itself - and Miike retained that sense of the absurd that animation often has.

I suppose you could say that the movie is an offhand experiment, to examine what cartoons would emerge as once given a real-life axis.

DVD-package wise, you couldn't ask for much more in all honesty. Both the movie and it's anime familiar are present here, and with enough extras to floor a rhinoceros charging towards a local branch of Blockbuster. And to hell with those whom decrie the BBFC cuts - So you lose the infamous "Nipple Scene", so what? Unless you're Joseph Mengele, it's not necessary. Watch and learn!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT SET !! !! !! !!, 25 Feb. 2006
By 
M. Western "Zombie" (Wakefield, West yorkshire, Enagland, Eurpoe, Earth, Some random 'milky way') - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
As i write this review i have only just (2 3/4 hours ago) baught this fantastic box set! And i am amazed!!!!
The first thing i must say is that i am giving the 'Ichi the Killer' Live Version a 5 star rating as i dont really like the manga version...atall. I think its very overated in terms of violence and disturbing content! Although i probably dont like the manga version because im not into that type of film, otherwise id probably like it as all the people i know who do like mangas think its very good!
So, on with the live version, which i was very pleased with!
Im really into B-movies/zombie/slasher/gory films so the first thing i liked about this film is obviously the massive amount of blood. Ichi the killer isnt exatly the most disturbing film ive ever seen, or the most violent but it is certanly not for the faint hearted and does have some very good blood and gore special effetcs! So this is obviously a must for gore fans!!
But if you can look past the gore there is actually a pretty good film with a very strange but clever story! It also has a very strange, and mabe a little hard to understand, ending. But i wont tell you what happens as it will spoil it. The story is basically about Yakusa gangs who have a missing boss. Ichi, who, since he killed his parents, has got a very messed up mind and can, if he gets angry remember memories that people have pretended happend to him. This gets him very, very angry and he lashes out and slices people up with a strange razor that slides out of the back of his shoe! (If this is hard to understand then youll just have to watch the film your-self)
There is a pretty cool cast of characters and the acting is surprisingly good!
There are a couple of scenes that use CG (computer-generated) special effects, some of these scenes are death scenes. Im bringing this up as the CG special effects in Ichi the KIller are outdated and spoil some of the death scenes completley (and the death scenes are probably this films strong-point!) A scenes which has been particulary messeed up by these effects is the part where Ichi gets mad at a man he caught raping a girl, Ichi goes on to slice this man lenthwise. But this scene is executed by those pescy special effects which spoil it as it looks like something off a Computer Game! Although the 'hand-made' special effects (which are obviously only used for death scenes really) are great and the blood that gushes out of wounds is completley over the top! Many throats are sliced open in this film, all of them seem to stick i my mind as some of the most horrible death scenes ive ever seen! This is because the amount of blood that comes out of the cut is untrue and the sound effects used sound just like a hose or jet-wash, i am not exagurating!!!!
Overall youve got yourself an amazing Asian master piece of extreme cinema with a decent story and a brilliant DVD version, so buy it! (plus, you get the 2-disc special edition version of Ichi the Killer in this set and the 2nd disc is packed so full of extras its eyes should pop out!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I luv this film, 20 July 2004
This review is from: Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD] (DVD)
I first saw it when a friend showed it me, and i thought it was great. Im a fan of Miike's films, and this gotta be one of my faves. Call me sick i dunno lol. I brought the 3 disc one with the anime earlier today actually, and its cool^^. Nicely presented and its good to have the whole lot in one collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ichi the Killer - 3 Disc Special Collectors Box [DVD]
Used & New from: £3.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews