Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in Action with a BANG!!!
I loved "Space Jam" a lot and I wanted to see "Looney Tunes: Back in Action" but I missed my chance so my dad got me "Back in Action" on DVD and me and my family LOVED IT! (Apart from my brother who was playing a PlayStation 2 game at the time!)The gags where extremely funny, the special effects and the animations were great and the film did "Looney Tunes" full justice...
Published on 17 Aug 2004

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could have been better
This film is good, I'm not denying that, but the Looney Tunes have, over the years, set a very high standard for their cartoons and after Space Jam, this is a disappointing outing for Bugs Bunny and co. when we've seen much better cartoons from them. Children will love it, as they adore seeing Daffy get fried, bombed, you name it, but I feel that the film could have been...
Published on 26 July 2004 by D. A. G. Barker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Back in Action with a BANG!!!, 17 Aug 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I loved "Space Jam" a lot and I wanted to see "Looney Tunes: Back in Action" but I missed my chance so my dad got me "Back in Action" on DVD and me and my family LOVED IT! (Apart from my brother who was playing a PlayStation 2 game at the time!)The gags where extremely funny, the special effects and the animations were great and the film did "Looney Tunes" full justice and so much more with a great style. The acting was quite good, too. Brendan Fraiser was fantastic, Jenna Elfman was good and Steve Martin was, strangly enough, great as well! (But it can't beat his performance as the mad dentist in "Little Shop of Horrors" though!) This movie is so good I don't understand why it had so many bad reviews I mean, what was WRONG with it, eh? Never mind, no matter what the answer, "Looney Tunes", thanks to "Space Jam" and
"Back in Action", are getting better and better and this film definetly sends out the message..."Looney Tunes" are definetly back in action!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Loony Fun, 24 Sep 2006
By 
Mark Baker (Santa Clarita, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Daffy Duck has had it with constantly playing second fiddle and fall guy to Bugs Bunny. He demands to be featured in the next Loony Tunes movie, but new President of Warner Brothers Comedy, Kate (Jenna Elfman), fires him instead. Daffy attaches himself to security officer/stunt man DJ Drake (Brendan Fraser). They arrive back at Drake's house, which he shares with his father Damien, only to find that the elder Drake (Timothy Dalton) has been kidnapped. Seems he was searching for the Blue Diamond, trying to keep it out of the hands of the evil ACME Corporation and their chairman (Steve Martin).

Meanwhile, the executives aren't happy about Kate firing Daffy. She has the weekend to track down the duck. So she teams up with Bugs Bunny and sets out to bring him back. Can they do it? Will DJ save his father? And just how many cameos can they fit in this movie?

This movie is absolutely hilarious. I'm not a Loony Tunes fanatic but have enjoyed them when I have seen them. Still, I found myself laughing the entire way through. While I caught many of the references, I'm sure there are lots more that die hard fans would love. Every Loony Tunes characters shows up at some point, adding to the fun. The human actors do a great job of reacting to their cartoon counterparts, and the animation, while two dimensional, fits incredibly well in the real world.

This movie is perfect for the young and young at heart who love to laugh at stuff that's completely off the wall. It entertains the entire way through, keeping the laughs flowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It could have been better, 26 July 2004
By 
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This film is good, I'm not denying that, but the Looney Tunes have, over the years, set a very high standard for their cartoons and after Space Jam, this is a disappointing outing for Bugs Bunny and co. when we've seen much better cartoons from them. Children will love it, as they adore seeing Daffy get fried, bombed, you name it, but I feel that the film could have been so much more. One to add to the collection, yes, but it just doesn't do the Looney Tunes justice after being absent from the big screen for so many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant sales concept, 24 April 2005
By 
Amanda Richards "Hotpurplekoolaid" (ECD, Guyana) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
Okay, maybe only someone in marketing or sales would really, truly, relate to the idea of changing the entire population of the world into monkeys, have them manufacture shoddy merchandise, and then turn them back into humans to buy the same products under the wondrous and versatile Acme brand.
Guilty as charged, there were several other things I liked about this movie, puerile, dumb and absolutely ridiculous as it was.
One was seeing all those favorite cartoon characters back in action, blending so seamlessly with the real actors and movie sets. Not only Bugs and Daffy, but Elmer Fudd, Wile E. Coyote, Yosemite Sam, Foghorn Leghorn, Marvin the Martian, Granny and Tweety, Taz, and even Pepe Le Pew, among others.
Two was digging out all the little gems like Scooby Doo's Matthew Lillard hanging out with his alter ego Shaggy, Brendan Fraser being a rejected stunt double for the guy in the Mummy movies, Bugs Bunny finding Nemo, the Louvre painting-hopping sequence, all the star cameos, and of course the secret agent car and gadgets.
Three was seeing Brendan Fraser, Steve Martin and Joan Cusack fighting it out for the hammiest actor award, with the full support of Jenna Elfman and Timothy Dalton. You also have to love the Acme management team, with Vice Presidents for Bad Ideas, Stating the Obvious, Nitpicking, Unfairly Promoted, Rhetorical Questions, Never Learning, Child Labor and Climbing to the Top.
Serious it may not be; over the top - definitely; corny - oh yes; but the funny parts were much greater than the whole. Let's hear it for the Dancing Yosemite Sams.
Amanda Richards, April 24, 2005
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whats up dock???? Come on its great!, 12 Mar 2007
By 
L.James-S "L.Smith" (England: Nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is the best animated movie ever!

The effects are amazingly good

and it's full with 10/10

jokes! Very good acting

and a strong, good storyline!

The evil charcter makes you

laugh your ass off and

is good for

old and young!

It's basicly about this spy's son

(stuck with daphy after daphy was fired with

his low popularity) He must find the blue monkey

before the evil gut turns the world into

monkey!

GREAT AND IS RECCOMENDED!!

:):):)

FUN FOR

EVERYONE

:):):):)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're BACK baby!!, 9 July 2004
By 
Hugh Smith - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
I am a devoted Looney Tunes fan, so i went to see this on the first day it came out.
I only have one word for it. wow.
This film has absolutely everything; car chases, comic violence, adventure, mystery, a mad professer and, of course, lots and lots and lots and lots of laughs.
The film shows Bugs Bunny and Daffy Duck travelling all around the world in search of the mysterious "blue monkey" jewel. It is up to them to find it and save the world before the mad owner of ACME co. (brilliantly played by Robin Williams) finds it and destroys the world. This race sees them travelling to Las Vegas, France, Africa and Space, courtesy of Marvin Martian. They are helped along the way by the original cast of Looney Tunes (Sylvester and Tweety, roadrunner, Foghorn Leghorn etc.), but to find the jewel, they have to get past other Looney Tunes characters (Yosamete Sam, Wile E Coyote, Elmer Fudd etc.)
The funniest bit has to be when Brendan Fraser and Yosamete Sam are in a casino in Las Vegas, and are playing blackjack. They are both looking for a specific card which will tell them where the Blue Monkey is. Unfortunately, this card has been lost somewhere in the cards, so they have to play until one of them gets it.Brendan Fraser plays first, and gets about 10 cards before getting the one he wants. Yosamete Sam is protesting during this, shouting "NO, HIT ME!!!!!!" so eventually, the dealer (Foghorn Leghorn) hits him very hard with a wooden mallet.
I would recommend this to absolutely everyone.Even if you aren't a looney tunes fan (and you would have to be insane) rent it, and you will fall in love with it instantly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
great film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Daffy Duck steals the show!, 29 Jun 2014
By 
ReviewBlog51 (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
In 'Looney Tunes: Back in Action', Daffy Duck, tired of playing second fiddle to Bugs Bunny, is fired by the Warner Bros Hollywood Studios after demanding a film role, Embittered by the company, he teams up with the also recently sacked stuntman Bobby Delmont (Brendan Fraser) in a bid to save his big movie actor father Damian Drake (Timothy Dalton). He is actually also a secret spy, and has been kidnapped by the flamboyant, evil Mr. Chairman (Steve Martin) who plans to use a diamond called the Blue Monkey to take over the world and sell more ACME merchandise.

At the same time, Warner Bros' Vice President of Comedy, Kate Houghton (Jenna Elfman) is told by the powers that be that it was a mistake to let Daffy go, and if she doesn't make him return by Monday, she herself will be fired. With the help of Bugs, she sets out to find him. Daffy and Bobby are now in Las Vegas, but are soon joined by Kate and Bugs who enter the madness they are now involved in. The quest for the Blue Monkey takes the four of them across the globe.

Now, as a lifelong Looney Tunes fanatic, this is an odd ball film for me. Maybe I was excepting another 'Space Jam', or even a 'Who Framed Roger Rabbit?' (fat chance), but I expected it to be far better than it was. The other two benefited from a solid, tight story, but 'Back in Action', whilst it does have a plot, jumps around all over the place. There are enough cameos from the rest of the Looney gang, including Elmer Fudd (now a villain), Foghorn Leghorn (as a compere at Yosemite Sam's casino), and Sylvester and Tweety (who along with their owner Granny, are Bobby's neighbours) that certainly raised a smile, but I didn't laugh as much as I thought I would.

Basically, it is a parody of a James Bond movie, but I felt like the whole thing was hastily put together with things thrown in purely for the heck of it. It was a serious thriller towards the end, which was refreshing after some of the humour previously that was perhaps a little even too childish for the famous toons. The lead actors are more than capable, the special effects were good, but for me, it just didn't gel as well as it should it done. I thought Brendan Fraser and Jenna Elfman were actually very entertaining in the roles, but it was Steve Martin that let the actors' side down, I found his 'acting' to be ridiculously over the top, and cringe worthy, he just wasn't funny.

Ironically, although he was told that he just isn't the 'star' that his rabbit co-star is, Daffy Duck made the film for me, with very clever, witty dialogue, which remained true to his selfish, egoistical, and downright crazy personality. You could say then he did get that big film part that he was pining for.

In short, 'Back in Action' is a mixed bag of tricks, I raised a smile on more than one occasion, and it is fun for the family, probably more so for the younger ones. With the lack of no real classic standout moments, I have to rate it a three star overall - worth a look, but not one to tune into very often.

Ironically, the DVD's special features made for more interesting viewing, Bugs and Daffy (in typical character) give the viewers a behind the scenes peak at how the film came about and how it was all put together. You also have a new Wile E Coyote and Road Runner short called 'Whizzard of Ow', deleted scenes, and a hidden Easter egg.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 26 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it., 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003] (DVD)
This is a great dvd and it`s in perfect condition,i cannot fault anything about it.thus the high rating.Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Looney Tunes: Back In Action - The Movie [DVD] [2003]
5.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews