Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you stare at the reviews you will miss all the glory of the blu ray
Was reluctant to buy this blu ray as the reviews I had seen spoke of poor quality video and sound so I was pleasantly suprised at the quality of this film on viewing.

The film quality itself is overall suprisingly very good and much improved over the DVD versions I own. I don't claim it to be up there with the latest and greatest releases on blu ray but for a...
Published on 26 Feb. 2010 by TMUK

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great movie so-so transfer
One of my favourite movies and I was looking forward to a new remaster with lossless audio. I found the picture very soft and fuzzy at times, the audio is a great upgrade.
Published 19 months ago by KoD


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

41 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you stare at the reviews you will miss all the glory of the blu ray, 26 Feb. 2010
By 
TMUK (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was reluctant to buy this blu ray as the reviews I had seen spoke of poor quality video and sound so I was pleasantly suprised at the quality of this film on viewing.

The film quality itself is overall suprisingly very good and much improved over the DVD versions I own. I don't claim it to be up there with the latest and greatest releases on blu ray but for a 37 year old film that wasn't particularly made to a high standard its great.

The sound quality is an issue though the mix of dubbing and sync problems aren't great but doesn't render the film unwatchable. Most of the Extra's made previously available on DVD seem present and correct and the imfamous nunchak scene that was removed from the 1st UK DVD but later reinstated on a subsequent relase is there too.

All round a classic martial movie and well worth a watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional, 10 Feb. 2003
This is by far the best and greatest martial art movie ever made, it stars the best martial artist who ever lived (Bruce Lee) along with other superb martial artists including John Saxon. This leads to utterly intence fighting scenes. It is amazing but none of the stunts he pulled in the movie (such as flipping over a line of men or jumping 7 foot high in to a tree) were fake or camera tricks. The nunchuku scene performed by Lee is legendary and you will never forget it.
The plot is basically set around Lee trying to enter a drug dealers base in the form of competeing in his martial arts tornament. But also the drug dealer killed his sister so he has a personnal interst in going to assainate him.
This was Bruce Lee's best movie, but unfortunatly he died just before its release. However if you are at all interested in Lee, or any form of marial art movies, YOU MUST GET THIS FILM!!
You will never forget it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


60 of 67 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enter The World's Greatest, 12 Oct. 2001
By 
Paul Seal (Nottinghamshire, Nottinghamshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Enter The Dragon is considered by many to be the greatest martial arts movie of all time and it's almost 30 years old. It was made on a small budget which doesn't show, even in comparison to recent movies of the genre. It has exotic locations on a worldwide scale such as Kowloon, a cast of thousands and a credible actor, John Saxon who was at the time a big star but stayed second billing to Bruce Lee because when Lee was on screen nobody else got noticed anyway. There's the excellent music score by Lalo Schifrin who was the man behind the original Mission Impossible theme and of course...Action! With such varied and visually stunning styles as Tai Chi Chuan, Hapkido, Tai Kwan Do, Karate and Lee's invention Jeet Kune Do the action has never looked so unpredictable. This new DVD edition was well worth waiting for. If you've got any other version of this movie, get this anyway. For the first time in the UK it is completely uncut, with the infamous nunchaku scene reinstated, and it's even got extra scenes placed in the movie which were not even in the original cinema release. Where this special edition really shines though is in the extras. Along with the trailers and a workout documentary from 1973, it has extras on it that have been made specifically for this edition such as an interview with Lee's wife Linda Lee Cadwell who can be the only person to have known the truth about his life unlike so many other imitations such as Dragon - The Bruce Lee Story which although hugely enjoyable was inaccurate and over stylised. In the boxset you get 10 exclusive postcards, a copy of the press release brochure and lobby cards. The soundtrack has been reproduced to brilliant effect and the improved picture quality could not have been better, with the visual quality of a movie from today. If you like Bruce Lee, martial arts or action movies in general and don't buy this...You're losing out! Region 2 users usually get a bad deal with extras compared to the rest of the world, but it's nice to see that a lot of time and effort has been put into this ultimate special edition box set. Own this now!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth the price just for the special features, 1 Sept. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Enter The Dragon (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
I was familiar with Bruce Lee as an icon and had heard that he had made a significant impact in martial arts but I never really knew much about him. I purchased this film to become acquainted with the legend and it's brilliant value for money.

The film itself is good but I actually enjoyed the special features more. There are numerous documentaries on the two discs which cover the making of 'enter the dragon', Bruce Lee in his own words and footage of Bruce working out alongside commentary from family and friends.

As you will discover for yourself, the guy was absolutely amazing and it's a tragedy that he died at such a young age. Not only did he have incredible physical strength and martial arts ability, he was also very intelligent and read widely. His personal library consists of hundreds of books and he went to university, which I was completely unaware of. The talent that the man possessed is awe-inspiring and he has definitely inspired me to try and live a more productive life.

It's very rare that I take the time to watch the special features on dvds as I prefer to just watch the films but the knowledge and inspiration you will garner from the features on this dvd, is priceless. The first thought that came to my mind after watching both discs was 'I cannot believe this only cost me about £4.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Martial Arts Extravaganza, 21 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Enter The Dragon (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
This, Bruce Lee's final feature film before his untimely death, is an extravaganze of martial arts, containing some of the most visually impressive and electrifying fight scenes in the martial arts genre. It was also the first 'Hollywood' film to really bring the martial arts genre and an oriental landscape into the mainstream.

The plot is weak, but this doesn't matter, as Lee's perfromance is strong, his acting charismatic and fascinating. Within the martial arts genre, he has his own very unique and distinctive style, comprising a vast array of weird noises and manic facial expressions.

On a mission to avenge his enemy 'Han' for the deaths of his Mother and Sister, Lee systematically fights a veritable army of fighters in a special martial arts training school, eventually coming face to face with Han in a dramatic showdown.

Indeed drama, striking visuals, superb sound effects and beautifully choreographed fight scenes are in plentiful supply in 'Enter The Dragon', so much so that this should be enjoyed even by people who are not fans of the genre. Naturally Bruce Lee enthusiasts will be delighted with this succinct, yet action-packed film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bruce lee at his best., 14 Feb. 2010
By 
DJR Jones "kynfawr" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Film
If you've never seen this movie, and like Martial art films then this one is for you.
Bruce Lee plays a Shaolin monk who is recruited by a government agency to go after a traitorous member of his temple. Han, is the head of a crime syndicate that distributes drugs and prostitute and the government needs proof of his criminal activities and that's where Lee comes in. Han lives on a remote fortress island and never comes to the mainland but once every three years he holds a martial arts tournament. Lee is asked to enter this tournament to gather proof of the criminal activities and supply this information to the government so they can bring an end to the drug cartel. He goes to the Island and enters the tornament and has to compete against martial artists one of which killed his sister years past which he recently discovered after speaking to an old man.

While on reconnaissance, Lee is being captured after an epic fight and the film ends with a fight to the death in a hall of mirrors.

I have to say this film is excellent and while the acting is questionable now, for me the nostalgia of this film and Bruce Lee makes it worth watching over and over, i love it!

Extras:
Documentaries included on the disc:
1.Bruce Lee: A Warrior's Journey 1 hr 40mins (looking into Bruce Lee's life and career)
2.Curse of the Dragon. 90 Mins (Looks at the life and death of Bruce and Brandon)
3.Blood and Steel: The Making of Enter the Dragon 30 Mins
4.Bruce Lee: In His Own Words 19 Mins
5.The Linda Lee Caldwell Interview Gallery 15 Mins
6.Also included is the original electronic press kit from 1973, a series of trailers for the film, and a short clip of Bruce Lee working out on his own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good BD, but could`ve been better, 17 Sept. 2010
By 
LoBo (Bodø, Norway) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have seen this film many times on DVD. I think it is a good film with good fight scenes. I think the character named Williams is good.

Picture Quality: 4/5

I think this Blu-ray is an improvement over the DVD. I think the it looks good. I think the colours and such looks very nice, compared to my DVD.

Audio Quality: 3/5

Cheap and lazy Warner Bros didn`t even make a lossless 5.1 audio track. We only got the standard, and highly compressed lossy version from the previous DVD. If it was up to me, it would be mandatory to have every BD that is released to have a lossless audio track.

It does sadly not work like that, as you can see. I think this film would`ve sounded better if we got a lossless audio instead of the common lossy one. The DD 5.1 sounds just ok in my opinion. It lacks good bass from most the punches and kicks.

Film: 4/5
Overall: 4/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply the greatest Martial Arts movie of all, 9 Mar. 2000
By A Customer
Bruce Lee unfortunately was not able to see the final cinematic release of Enter The Dragon. He was already extremely nervous about how the movie would fair at the box office. He was a perfectionist, one of the purest exponents of Chinese Martial Arts ever to be filmed. This alone is reason enough to watch his films. Every single fight scene in Enter The Dragon was methodically coreographed by Bruce, even those when he was not present in the scene. His techniques are pure and brilliant. Sure, some people criticise this movie for having a thin plotline, but then that could be said of most of the early bond movies. Enter The Dragon is brilliant 70s kitch from beginning to end. It is like Dirty Harry, Bullit and Lee mixed into one. The soundtrack is also noteable from Lalo Schiffrin. Utterly superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Must see (spoiler), 3 Jan. 2011
By 
Mr. S. K. Mackie "seanmackie" (NW England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
In the years since his bizarre and tragic death, martial arts legend and master Bruce Lee has become an icon within the Kung-fu movie genre. Having only previously played a couple of American speaking parts before, this was Lee's introduction to Western audiences, but due to his tragic death just weeks before the film's American release, it would never be known what he would have been capable of as a box-office star. However ENTER THE DRAGON (1973), certainly was the film that made his career and it made him famous because of it and although the sadness being that he would never make it big in other films, this type of film which combined Asian art with American brutality helped its popularity with audiences who soon became obsessed with the ambition to become involved with kung-fu fighting.

Lee plays the role of a character who shares his surname Lee, stars as a martial arts expert who is recruited by the British government to infiltrate an island fortress, under the cover of being invited to a martial arts tournament, to investigate a possible slavery/drug ring led by a former nemesis of his. However he isn't the only fighter taking part in the tournament as he is accompanied on the trip by American socialite Roeper (John Saxon) who is on the run from debt-collectors and African American pimp Williams (Jim Kelly) who has a run-in with the cops. Lee is made aware of the situation going on in the island through an undercover agent Mei Ling (Betty Chung) who is posing as a geisha for the villain who hosts the tournament. The participants of the event are given luxury within the place including nice food, a stylish environment and given women to lust over but clearly something is amiss at this isolated island fortress, as Lee discovers that his nemesis Han (Shih Kien) is the host of the tournament and is also the leader of the same gang that murdered his sister. This being the simple reason for Lee wanting revenge but as the tournament kicks in, the fighters take part in brutal contests with Lee, Roeper and Williams showing their strength in fighting. However Lee becomes determined to find out information, but the death of one of the two other fighters complicates things, although he soon discovers that Han is keeping prisoners in his underground cave. This eventually sees Lee fighting it out with Han in a riotous and full-blown showdown that also involves hundreds of men using their hands and feet to fight to the death, in an action-packed finale that really did kick start the use of Kung-Fu moves in Hollywood blockbusters.

The action really does make the film exciting with its amazing fight sequences, from the first fight to the last. Lee himself choreographed his fight stunts and clearly it is obvious that he was such an excellent performer of the art. Many of the fights in this movie, more specially the ones where Lee is involved, have a surreal feeling to them. He brings a kind of grace to his action scenes that have yet to be topped by any actor alive today. Lee even brings many of his own personal philosophies to this film, which makes much sense and perhaps help to understand some of the more philosophical elements to the story. Of course, the plot is simple and slightly predictable but the action really does help it become more memorable than other action films which have tried the same kind of method. The script by Michael Allin felt like a James Bond flick but this film being much more violent than anything you'd see in a pre-Daniel Craig as Bond film. The acting is also typical of this genre though Lee does stand out well with his good speaking of English but the energy of his fighting made him become more acceptive as an action hero character. Kien Shih is compelling as the evil Han, even if his fight scenes are, at times, a bit less convincing than the master Lee's or the fact that his voicing in the film is dubbed. Lee and Shih are the performance highlights of the film. Though Saxon does a passable job, his performance is a bit unconventional at times while Kelly's dialogue in the film is wooden but obviously part of the cliches of action films of the 1970s. Another big mention deserves to go to the music which many Takeshi Castle fans will associate with the Honeycomb maze challenge on the show but in this though its cheesy, it adds to the fun of what made a great action film. Bruce Lee was forever immortalized with this film and it will be cherished and praised forever even if some fight scenes in this get too tiresome to watch. A flawed but enthralling film that certainly had everybody kung-fu fighting!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Exubrant choreography in splendid action flick, 22 Dec. 2009
By 
This review is from: Enter The Dragon (Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
British Intelligence recruits martial arts expert Lee to compete in a tournament on an island that is hosted by a dangerous criminal mastermind in an attempt to uncover his criminal operations.

The last completed feature film from one of the world's most renowned martial arts masters brings about a highly action packed plot with some splendid choreography and for many, showcased some of Bruce Lee's best talents in acting and art.

This being the first Bruce Lee film I have seen I was pleasantly surprised by his clam nature throughout but gathering enough gusto and vitality to portray the martial arts protagonist. His vision and expression for kung fu and fighting is brilliant, perfectly demonstrated in the final act and throughout.

The plot begins with Lee being taught the arts and finally appreciating the inner qualities of a true martial arts expert, which is enough for the British secret services to pick him up and send him off on a mission to exploit the dangerous criminal.

When Lee is given the outline of the history of Han the criminal, I was immediately reminded of a James Bond lined story. Now, when released that would have been a fantastic plaudits but now the perception of Britain's most famous spy has been changed over the last four decades. When Sean Connery opened the gates in the 1960's in Dr No everyone immediately saw something suave and unique, an appreciation of crime with added humour and excellent sophistication. After some awkward films and the descent in the late nineties and early noughties the perception and formality received many bad publicity but Daniel Craig's reprisal has revitalised the franchise and through all the films, it is easy to see a bit of this 1973 picture live on throughout.

But is it as good as the early Bonds? Well yes because it takes a martial foreign art and places it in a very English story. Kind of like the Leo Di Caprio Romeo and Juliet picture, a modern setting with old language. This is brilliant technique, a refreshing and gutsy attempt to define action and mystery.

Initially the plot steadies itself and when we learn about the tragedy of Lee's sister it becomes a quest for revenge. This initial back story is lost until one fleeting moment, as is the unbalanced narration.

The film's biggest selling point is the action, delivering full throttle power to the hearts of the viewers. The one on one fight sequences are well staged whilst the climatic good versus evil moment is wonderfully placed in the halls of mirrors, which is fair to say is even replicated in The Man with the golden gun, but this is by far greater. In a way it is even scary.

Lee's film brings around a fantastic feeling of full throttle action that can occasionally feel dated but regardless, is irreplaceable kick action.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 227 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Enter The Dragon (Special Edition) [DVD]
Enter The Dragon (Special Edition) [DVD] by Robert Clouse (DVD - 2004)
£19.44
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews