Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven, flawed but beautiful and fascinating
This is a long, unevenly directed story which really wants to be an epic romance and almost, but not quite succeeds. It is undoubtedly beautiful. The scenery both in Moscow and also in the scenes in Siberia is a suitably breathtaking stage for a tragic story of romance set against turn of the Century Russia. Julia Ormond is also ravishing here, and her performance...
Published on 24 April 2006 by Mr. Stephen Kennedy

versus
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I normally love costume dramas and historical masterpieces, as this has been described, but I got very bored with it half way through, and didnt like over-acted style. I didnt warm to Julia Ormonds portrayal, it seemed very false, and Richard Harris was just so irritating with those silly noises and ott acting. I admit I did laugh at the slidey ballroom floor scene! And...
Published on 4 Feb. 2009 by Heather


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Uneven, flawed but beautiful and fascinating, 24 April 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (Doha, Qatar) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
This is a long, unevenly directed story which really wants to be an epic romance and almost, but not quite succeeds. It is undoubtedly beautiful. The scenery both in Moscow and also in the scenes in Siberia is a suitably breathtaking stage for a tragic story of romance set against turn of the Century Russia. Julia Ormond is also ravishing here, and her performance underpins the success of the movie. Her Russian counterpart, the young Russian cadet Tolstoy (no relation to the author, as he frequently has to explain) with whom she falls in love when he stumbles into her train compartment, played by Oleg Menshikov, is less successful. His performance lurches somewhat heavy handedly from slapstick clown to would be troubled young man with deep feelings.

Richard Harris is wasted and gives an altogether over the top performance as the inventor of the titular machine - a steam driven contraption for chopping down the trees of Siberia, which he nicknames the barber of Siberia. The would be clever part is that Tolstoy plays the barber of Seville in the officers school performance. Robert Hrdy even crops up unexpectedly in one scene as an English language instructor.

The direction goes to lengths in certain scenes to come across as epic and is often beautifully photographed and set up - to the point where it can feel TOO staged - as in the scene on the platform where the cadets looking for their colleague search for him in such a way as their search becomes a dance for the camera. However the overall effect is pleasing enough as long as you can swallow the stageiness, mixed as it is with some truly un-stage-like milieus of Moscow and Siberia.

The dual language here works well. This does not feel like some euro film with too many cooks spoiling the broth - it is clearly a filmmakers vision (Nikita Mikhalkov), where English speaking actors speak English speaking roles and Russian actors the Russian roles, successfully giving the movie crossover appeal from the normal arthouse crowd. In particular, it is a pleasure to see a movie showing this part of history showing the Russians of the time who supported the Tsar as patriots, and the officer cadre as being a chivalrous life.

In summary I would have to say this IS a beautiful movie, worth watching - Julia Ormond is terrific, the music score is suitably melancholic, the scenery fantastic, and the story interesting - if a tad futile come the end. Worth the journey, if not the destination!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Barber of Siberia dvd, 14 April 2010
By 
C. J. Mackay (Glasgow, Scotland UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
A great film. The whole story works very well with its setting. And the vodka slips down very well, for anyone who has also toasted at parties in Russia and the FSU, this scene is worth the purchase price alone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sense of Another Place & Time, 16 Dec. 2008
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
From the very beginning I was totally absorbed in this spectacular film, and the time seemed to go by so quickly as one brilliant scene followed another. There were moments of breathtaking splendour - the dazzling ballrooms and the colourful Russian fair - and so many exquisite details that it is a film to be watched over and over again.
Julia Ormond and Alexey Petrenko were so convincing, and there was truly a sense of stepping into another place and time. The film also seemed to capture the unique Russian humour - I laughed aloud several times - as well the exhilatating moment when Tsar Alexander III gallops across the courtyard with his young son, Nicholas, in front of him. It really brought Imperial Russia alive again!

Most Beautiful Princess
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Expensive Hollywood-like modern Russian movie., 30 Oct. 2003
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Any way: it shows the true Russia, the viewer can enjoy the flavour of the pre-Revolutionary Russia with it’s luxury and poverty, nobleness and cruelty, tradition and culture.
If you’ve liked Dr Zhivago, this film is for you! But I wouldn’t call it a masterpiece though:-).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent and breathtakingly classic., 17 April 2001
By A Customer
A superb dramatic, comic, visual, costume, tragic, love epic of Russia at the turn of the century. A film that rarely flags within its near three hour length - three hours of excellent entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars breathtaking, 18 May 2004
By A Customer
This is one of the best movies I've ever watched; it's a breathtaking, heartbraking, masterpiece.
It got me mesmorised from the minute I started watching it; the light sense of humour, the youth and freshness of the actors, the wonderful storyline, all got me hooked!
I would say that the worst and yet the best thing about this movie is that it gets you so emotionally involved that you will find it quite painful to accept the turning out of the events!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A film you can not foget, 21 April 2012
By 
B. Stefan "Stefan" (Romania) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
Barber of Siberia remains one of Mihalkov's masterpieces. I saw this movie on TV around Christmas and the story (and interpretation, as well) was so touchy that I said that this movie is a must have in your DVD library. Now, that I got it, I feel good knowing that I can enjoy seeing it anytime I want.

I highly recommend anyone seeing it. It is a reference movie for the Russian cinematography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant movie, 11 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
Very good film recommended by my girlfriend in Russia. Some very good acting and a great love story of a Russian soldier and an American woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth watching!, 9 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
This is a film which centres on subjects areas not normally covered in the western film word, nevertheless it is both entertaining and thought provoking at the same time. If you are interested in Tsarist Russia, then this will be a delightful film to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful movie!, 22 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] (DVD)
This is an amazing movie that mixes both the American and Russian culture. Although Nikhita Mikhalkov is not really liked in Russia, I have always thought he is a great movie maker and The Barber of Siberia is the evidence of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Barber Of Siberia [DVD]
The Barber Of Siberia [DVD] by Nikita Mikhalkov (DVD - 2005)
£4.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews