Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Film About The French Resistance, Courage, & Love
After watching Claude Berri's "Jean de Florette," and "Manon of the Spring," I became a true fan. "Lucie Aubrac" just confirms my belief in Monsieur Berri's talents as a major director and a discerning producer in cinema today.
Set in Lyon, during the French Resistance in World War II, "Lucie Aubrac," played brilliantly by Carole Bouquet, is a woman struggling to...
Published on 16 Feb. 2005 by Jana L. Perskie

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars very confusing film
The story line showed how amateurish the whole resistance organization was to begin with, though this comment does not mean to disregard the bravery of those involved, Jean Moulin started to get things onto a more professional basis before he was captured and murdered.
It was unbelievable how the heroine was able to just walk into and out of Gestapo headquarters at...
Published 14 months ago by Rodney Lunn


Most Helpful First | Newest First

20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Amazing Film About The French Resistance, Courage, & Love, 16 Feb. 2005
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac [1997] (DVD)
After watching Claude Berri's "Jean de Florette," and "Manon of the Spring," I became a true fan. "Lucie Aubrac" just confirms my belief in Monsieur Berri's talents as a major director and a discerning producer in cinema today.
Set in Lyon, during the French Resistance in World War II, "Lucie Aubrac," played brilliantly by Carole Bouquet, is a woman struggling to save her husband from the hands of the Gestapo. The film is based on a true story, and Madame Aubrac's memoir, "Outwitting The Gestapo."
Raymond Aubrac (Daniel Auteuil), is a Resistance fighter in occupied Lyon, and has participated in many acts of sabotage against the Nazis. When he is captured by the Gestapo, headed by the notorious Klaus Barbie ("The Butcher Of Lyon"), he and his companions are believed to be dealing in black market goods, and not sabotage. Lucie, five months pregnant, is terrified that she, their small son, and the new baby will never see Raymond again. With tremendous courage, she sets out, single handedly, to rescue her husband.
Claude Berri directs this thriller, love story, and historical drama with great skill. Part of the film's beauty lies in its simplicity. This is not the history of the French Resistance. It is the personal story of one woman's courage. Everyday life in Lyon, street scenes, people going about their business in wartime France, are juxtaposed with the mortally dangerous activities of Resistance fighters, and with Lucie plotting her husband's escape. The love between Lucie and her husband is palpable, and her determination and intelligence are extraordinary. The scenes where she meets with Gestapo Chief Barbie are tension-packed. And there are no words to describe the emotion evoked when Lucie meets her imprisoned husband and pretends she does not know him .
Carole Bouquet perfectly captures Lucie's fierce determination, patriotism, and passionate love, in an understated manner. Here is a woman with an all important task to accomplish, and she will do what needs to be done to perform the task successfully. There is no time, or energy, to spare on excessive displays of emotion. No room for dramatics. She is focused. Daniel Auteuil, as the exhausted, middle-aged Raymond, fighting to survive torture and imprisonment, expresses more with a look, than many can with pages of dialogue.
I highly recommend this moving film. I know that I will watch it again.
JANA
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Poignant and Realistic Drama, 17 April 2000
By A Customer
Why Hollywood never seems to learn from gems like this one - a thrilling drama (without car chases) that shows the human spirit under duress and reaction to despair and desperation. Based on a true story of the Resistance in France in 1944, it is a formidable tale of survival.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Courage under the most extreme stress, 17 Nov. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This true story of wartime Lyons and the capture of M. Aubrac shows the human spirit at its finest as his lover Lucie drives forward an audacious plan to rescue him from Klaus Barbie's Gesptapo. Tension never eases and as in all guerilla or resistance activities, there is the ever-present threat and doubt of one's comrades caused by the possibility of betrayal from within the group.

This film is a great affirmation of the human spirit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lucie Aubrac, 12 Jan. 2009
By 
John RAINONE - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having previously seen this film here on TV in the SW of france where we live.
I just can't wait to get my hands on a copy so that we can play it over...
Remembering that it is a true story, never fails to stagger one's thoughts as to how incredible this woman was.
She was une vivant melange of Joan of Arc, Florence Nightingale, Margaret Thatcher and perhaps Katherine Hepburn.
I have just ordered this film and of course, not yet received it.
Daniel Autueil is the most wonderful character actor on the french screen. We never fail to watch all of his performances and we are sure that this one will be to his usual magnificence.
In real life Lucie Aubrac was a rather tall scrawny women with not too much physical attraction..
BUT WHAT A WOMAN ! ! !
This film should be put onto the school curriculum to show just what hights womanhood can attain.
See this film and understand what love and above all, courage can achieve.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Solid WWII romance and thriller, 30 Nov. 2013
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac [1997] (DVD)
While not on a par with Berri's remarkable 2 film epic "Jean de Florette" and Manon of the Spring", this is a fairly engrossing, romantic, if somewhat
romanticized true story of a married pair of resistance fighters in WWII France. Both Daniel Auteil and Carole Bouquet are solid as the couple,
especially in their scenes together, which nicely capture the erotic tension of a married couple deeply in love, whose passion is not just physical,
but fed by the fact they admire each other as human beings as well. It's also nice to see a war film where the woman pulls off the heroics to try
and save her man, rather than the other way around.

But the darkness of occupied France seems a but sanitized here, the awful price paid by those fighting back and their innocent families is alluded too
but never fully dealt with, and there is something a bit light weight about it in the end. Bouquet keeps everything so hidden when not around Autiel t
hat she becomes somewhat opaque.

It's always interesting, but a bit stolid. Rarely truly tense, frightening or emotional. Still it's a good, decent, involving film, if not a great one.

The Pathe release is not anamorphic, and the image is only fair, which is too bad for a beautifully shot film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars very confusing film, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac [1997] (DVD)
The story line showed how amateurish the whole resistance organization was to begin with, though this comment does not mean to disregard the bravery of those involved, Jean Moulin started to get things onto a more professional basis before he was captured and murdered.
It was unbelievable how the heroine was able to just walk into and out of Gestapo headquarters at will, as was her ability to stay in the same house thoughout the entire film.
Because the film was so confusing I feel that I must now read the book to see if this is any clearer.
The CD I bought singly, but it appears to come from the Claude Berri Collection according to indications on the case, and it would have been cheaper to buy it in the collection, despite having two of the other films in the set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 24 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac [1997] (DVD)
I found this DVD extremely helpful in gaining my understanding of the French Resistance for the La Résistance topic in my French A-level. Sometimes I think the relationship between Lucie and Raymond is somewhat inaccurate but still shows a good portrayal of what was going on from various perspectives in France during this period
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars French Resistance film, 23 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac [1997] (DVD)
Very good film about the French Resistance. Gruesome in places but compelling. for anyone wanting to know more about the French Resistance this film is ideal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great true love story but a disappointingly misconceived film, 21 Jan. 2010
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac [1997] (DVD)
Lucie Aubrac is a great true love story but a disappointingly misconceived film. Lucie and Raymond Aubrac were members of the French resistance (Lucie Aubrac served both as advisor and inspiration for the Simone Signoret character in Melville's L'Armee des Ombres): he was arrested by the Germans and she moved heaven and Earth to find a way to get him out of prison before he could be executed. Their story was one of the most celebrated in the post-war years when France was desperate for heroic stories to wipe away the shame of the Nazi occupation, and it should provide the basis for a terrific movie. Yet somehow the normally reliable Claude Berri's scrupulously low-key but resolutely uninvolving effort doesn't manage it despite the considerable talents of Carole Bouquet and Daniel Auteuil in the leads and the approval of Madame Aubrac herself. We don't really know these people and we're kept too much at arm's length to really care about their fate, with the result that we're never drawn into their relationship or the story. There are few intimate moments where we feel like we're eavesdropping on a real relationship, leaving us almost with the public face of people working undercover. This tendency to take them at face value extends to the script, which ignores the controversy over the couple - some resistants felt they exaggerated their story to court publicity, others that they may have even been informers

Things do pick up in the second half, but it's only in a brief scene when a fellow prisoner recounts her intimate details about their life that her husband told him to assure her of his sincerity that the mask briefly cracks and genuine emotion intrudes. Otherwise it's strictly business, never personal. There are some effective moments and the odd detail that work: an early act of sabotage, an ID check on a train where a passenger with something to hide wordlessly `borrows' their child, the German secretary continuing her typing as Raymond is viciously beaten and the final rescue itself. But it's never really enough for a worthy film that's just too cold, too distant, as if unwilling to intrude on real people it obviously admires but is rarely able to articulate why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Thank you, 22 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lucie Aubrac (DVD)
Thank you. Great service provided. Quick delivery and exactly as described.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lucie Aubrac [1997]
Lucie Aubrac [1997] by Claude Berri (DVD)
£13.75
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews