Customer Reviews


128 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A magnificent nerve-shredder
If you read all the blurb written about this film, you'd be forgiven for thinking it was a Japanese ultra-violent "Fatal Attraction" clone. After all the plot is deceptively simple - middle-aged widower looks for new love, holds fake audition, meets girl, girl becomes mysterious, girl gets nasty...
However, "Audition" is a dark masterpiece, drifting effortlessly from...
Published on 9 Sept. 2002 by P. Sanders

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing or something?
I was surprised to read a review of this film that looked upon its structure as `a lot of 'nothing finished of by a disgusting, disjointed ending'. Having seen the film I understand how you could draw such a conclusion but I feel the point of the film has been missed if you simplify such a daring structure into those basic terms. I thought the films strongest point was...
Published on 21 Jun. 2007 by J. M. Ashe


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Best served cold, 2 Nov. 2006
By 
E. Leagas "Leagas" (England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I bought Audition on a whim with no prior conceptions other than the blurb on the back and its cover, and it will always be one of my personal favourites - however, if you watch this film with preconceptions of how it should be, if you sit down expecting to be disgusted and scared, it won't shine with full brilliance. A deeply unsettling film if you let it work its way under your skin, this one if best watched stone cold. I'm tired of hearing people say they're dissappointed with the outcome, bored with the acting or let down by the plot; the characters are normal, their lives are mundane, and the plot relies on rising unease rather than outright scare-tactics. That's not poor film-making - that's how it's MEANT to be here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pure Horror, 30 Sept. 2001
By 
The Cyclops Jesus (Belfast, N. Ireland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Audition [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Having recently got into japanese movies i though it only right to buy this title and was i in for surprise . The movie starts of slowly not really give away anything to what will happen, but i felt an air of tension thru out , in the vein of a comedy then it starts to get creepy . The main female character is one of beauty and as i saw it some what like jekel and hyde . As the movie progress it gets very weird in a freaky way and had enough scenes making me up outta my seat . I wont give nothing away but watching the final scene was like listening to someone scrape their finger nails down a blackboard..
A very chilling movie in all , made more scary because it could happen to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A slowly unfolding chiller about an unbalanced mind, 18 Nov. 2012
This review is from: Audition [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Audition isn't a gorehound movie, so if you've heard it's shocking and are expecting buckets of the red stuff, step away now.
It's a slowly unfolding character piece that requires the patience to enjoy the character performances, and the little details such as the way Eihi Shiina as 'Asami' reacts shyly to the attentions of Ryo Ishibashi's 'Shigeharu' when he begins to compliment and flirt with her after what she thinks is a failed audition. In fact, Shigeharu's friend has set up the auditions with the dual aim of finding his buddy someone of suitable wife material after a kind comment by his son makes widower Shigeharu take stock of his life.
Gently, the film shows Asami warming to the flattering attentions of an older man as their relationship blossoms. By the time strange little holes begin to appear in her background, he's hooked and fate is heading in only one direction.
The film has several eerie shots before it reaches the dramatic third act, but it's here where it makes its reputation.
With a startling portrayal of giggling psychosis, it veers between brief shocking gore and violence into a halucinatory head-trip where you're unsure what's real and then back again, leaving the viewer reeling. It all makes sense in the end, but it's messy, weird, and may leave a nasty taste in the mouth of some viewers.
For my part, I thought it was a shocking but well-executed chiller movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A distressing masterpiece from Takashi miike., 7 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
i don't want to spoil to much about the film so i'll keep it brief.

a lonely widower is convinced by his son that he should get remarried, so he and his friend hold a fake audition so that he can pick a wife out of the bunch, once he meets the woman of his dreams, he becomes emotionally attached to her, but little realizing that she is not as wonderful as she seems.

Audition isn't a horror film in the traditional sense, instead it plays out like a romantic drama for the first 58 minutes, then the last 40 minutes, it turns into a gut wrenching nightmare. i don't really have anything bad to say about the film, it delivered exactly what it promised and that was to creep you out. the cinematography is to die for, the editing is elegant and the acting is realistic as ever. the horror scenes are what get to me the most, it's almost as if Takashi miike creeped into a psychopaths house and filmed the events without them noticing, the lack of music helps build tension as you can hear the sounds of the characters, whether gasping or crawling. overall 10/10 from me. i highly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW ..., 5 Feb. 2007
By 
A. Hall (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Creepy, disturbing, atmospheric, sad, stomach-churning ... this film has it all. I actually cared about Asami despite what she frequently got up to with the *bone cutting wire*

Great acting, very sad film, more than a little nauseating in parts but not overdone. Just enough to make you squirm!

Be warned though, this AIN'T no Ring or Grudge!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 1 of a kind, 29 Mar. 2004
This review is from: Audition [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This might sound cliched, but you wont find anything like this coming out of hollywood. Audition is a film that will leave you shocked and disturbed and kind of relieved that it is only a piece of fiction after all!
Visually stunning with an accompanying score that complements the disturbing nature of this film throughout. What I found fantastic about this film is how the past resonates throughout and how an initially distorted plot can be pieced together as the film unfolds. The film, though dark and distressing, juxtaposes strong ideas of feminism and society (the old chestnut) whilst assuming a highly satirical tone all through.
The film employs the flashback technique reminiscent of 'The Ring' where scattered, coarse images of Asami's past coalesce to present a vivid portrayal of her brutal and tragic life. Asami is a paradox within a mystery and it is her sinister presence and her compulsive obsession to inflict on others the very afflictions that she experienced that endows the film with a unique brand of energy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Horror Masterpiece, 16 July 2007
This review is from: Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Takashi Miike's Audition is a disturbing and at times confusing film. That being said, try to judge it for yourself while watching it, as the film takes you on an interesting and deceptive ride that plays on our definitions of film genres and cliche devices. In this respect Miike is not unlike Tarantino. He is a director who thinks outside of the box and seemed to recognize the potential in expressing himself with this story...and used this wisely to scare the hell out of me.

The story is about a widower who decides to finally begin a search for a new wife at the suggestion of both his son and his movie producer friend. But how will he find his new bride? Well, this man's friend is of course a filmmaker and he decides to hold an audition for this widower, so he can look for an attractive girl with a history in some kind of artistic discipline (i.e. dancing, piano, ballet etc.). Our protagonist possesses a handful of applications and must choose 30 girls to audition for a part in this faux movie. His friend agrees that he must find a girl who is happy to be his wife, and happy women are never good enough actors, so whoever he chooses will convincingly not be acceptable for this fake movie role to being with. However, contrary to his friend's advice our protagonist chooses a girl named Asami, who is profoundly unhappy. She used to be a ballerina but broke her hip and feels that having to quit something she loves can be paralleled to accepted death itself. Asami is not happy but she is an attractive 24 year old girl who has intrigued our hero and he more or less chose her before the audition happens anyway. The film takes a turn as we begin to see some hints as to what kind of person Asami is and all her mysteries are gradually revealed. Trust me when I say there is plenty about Asami to reveal.

Miike gives us a film that comes off as a Romantic Comedy in the first 80 minutes and then slowly transforms into a thriller/mystery kind of film, and then smacks us over the head with it's intense climax and conclusion that is shock, horror, gore and utter madness. Audition could've easily become a one-trick-pony in it's goal to play with our understandings of genres and what to expect, but it actually goes far beyond that and rarely gets credit for doing so. This is a very sharp film on many levels and in many ways. It is smart and surprising. I highly recommend this film to anyone willing and able to deal with it's violent content. I also see this as a gateway and introduction to Miike's films and other films like his. You shouldn't regret discovering this filmmaker.

I have heard people say this is exploitative but that is likely a judgement on Miike overall, as Audition is one of his few films that really isn't exploitative at all. In fact, in terms of `gore' films Audition is not even close to Ichi the Killer but it should be taken with a warning as it is still very violent and realistic. I don't think this film deserves beyond an R-rating when we take into account the violence portrayed in "The Passion of the Christ". The limits have been pushed enough to allow films like Audition wider release in the United States without forcing either an NC-17 or no rating at all. There is almost no nudity in Audition but the violence and torture is creepy and well beyond acceptable for children to view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars japanese perfection, 26 Oct. 2006
By 
Anthony Morgan (norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audition [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Japanese director Takashi Miike introduced the world to two films in 1999. One was 'Dead or Alive',a film frantically paced, brutally violent yet darkly funny. The other 'Audition' gave the audience a starkly different experience altogether. The story centres on a widower, Aoyama, who is left to raise his young son. Moving forward seven years, with encouragement from his son he decides he needs a wife. His friend engineers an audition for a bogus movie that allows Aoyama to essentially audition for a wife

This premise is something that would not look out of place in a Hugh Grant or Julia Roberts rom com but that is the only point of comparison. Takashi unfolds the innocent story at a sedate pace allowing for involving character development. The camera style is similar to Japanese legend 'Beat' Takashi using very little movement. The director concentrates on the unfolding plot rather than dazzling visuals.

Aoyama's love interest is a respectful and polite young woman beautifuly acted by Eihi Shiina. Their relationship appears to be going well untill we delve further into her past and learn more about her intentions toward Aoyama. As the film builds up, danger rises closer to the surface until it explodes in an unflinching and shocking climax.

This film has become a figurehead of Japanese cinema and remains one of the finest examples of pioneering eastern cinema. It helped pave the way for filmmakers like Park Chan-Wook who has enjoyed international success with his masterful vengeance trilogy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Film of Contrasts, 24 July 2006
By 
J. Delaney (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
There are a few things that I have come to expect from Audition director Miike Takashi: gore, ultra-violence and mind-bending strangeness.

This film, however, without wanting to ruin the film too much, is your standard romantic comedy. For about the first three-quarters of the film it is lightly funny, slightly heart-warming, and mildly fun. And then something happens, something that changes the entire film and the way you'll look at it forever. It worked on me.

The film is much like some perverse inside joke played by Miike and Co. and I bet they had plenty of fun unleashing it on unsuspecting viewers -who were likely bored after witnessing the first half- who expected gore, got light comedy, and then were bombarded with gore when they were'nt expecting it at all!

In the end, the story goes out of the window, and, though it doesn't have the "I can't watch!" factor of Ichi the Killer, or the craziness of some of the other Takashi films, but it is horrible at parts, it is funny at parts, and so can be thoroughly entertaining.

The main character is likable, and acting is good, there is suspense, intrigue, comedy, light romantism and horror, terrible horror! But it is still not exactly complete. I almost wish the amazon rating system was too ten (or one-hundred), because I'd have given it a 7 (or 70) because it is just not special enough to be rated as perfect. The first half, the romantic comedy part, is merely average, to be fair, and the incredible violence, though incredible, just isn't worth a perfect score.

In conclusion, this is just about two different films, a nice, relatively happy, harmless one, and a horrendous, disgusting one. As the story unravels it's get more and more gruesome, and for fans of Miike Takashi, it is highly recomended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best viewed with minimum knowledge of the film..., 27 May 2005
This review is from: Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I want to review this film by revealing as little as possible about what makes the whole experience so unique. I hope you pick this review over the others on this site, as this movie is best seen knowing very little about it.
The basic premise is that widower Shigeharu Aoyama, (played excellently by Ryo Ishibashi), has been without a partner for seven long years. He's looking worn out, his teenage son tells him, subsequently suggesting he should consider remarrying. Aoyama has strong connections in the movie industry, including a man who seems to be good friends with him.
Aoyama discusses the matter with his friend, and the bizarre idea of holding a fake audition is brought up. The idea being, that Aoyama will pick 30 of the most interesting girls he can find in the C.Vs sent in, in response to radio broadcasts sent out for the lead role of the supposed movie, and then pick one of those 30 at the audition to try and form a relationship with.
It goes pretty much to plan, and Aoyama has met what he sees as his perfect woman. If you don't already know what starts to happen next, then please, please, please! Just buy the damn thing and experience it for yourself. I already knew what was coming, but it was still an amazing experience.
Trust me, this is an outstanding achievement in foreign cinema and is easily worth the full asking price. I would even go as far as suggesting you open the DVD case without looking at the inside of the box, (as it is stupidly plot revealing). All you need to know is what ive told you, and even then ive probably said too much. Buy this film, you will not be disappointed!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 313 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001]
Audition (Collector's Edition) [DVD] [2001] by Takashi Miike (DVD - 2004)
£7.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews