Customer Reviews


43 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


31 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I've been waiting years for this
I saw this film originally at the cinema following a review on Film 84 with Barry Norman. Surprisingly Barry loved the film. Not for its script and plot but for it's imagery and soundtrack. Score by Ry Cooder plus some songs by Jim Steinman - heaven as far as I am concerned. So I went to see it. Barry was right. The plot is simple. Bads guys take girl. Good guy goes to...
Published on 5 Aug 2004 by Andrew Gaskell

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Go for another release
The movie in itself has been praised here by others already, so I don't have to go into details. I really like the flow of the film, the unreal setting with it's mixture of fifties and eighties youth culture and the DOPs ability to paint with light. But this DVD release is not recommended. How can you choose the 4:3 TV master for a DVD release, cropping a substantial...
Published on 11 Jun 2011 by Toru Okada


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars ROCK 'N'ROLL FABLE-TASTIC, 11 Dec 2006
By 
Simon Francis "80'S REJECT" (LONDON,ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
An extremely original concept for a film,which showcases exactly why the 80's need to be remembered.Definately Michael Pare best film,and there is great chemistry between him and the gorgeous Diane Lane which makes the film.The fight between Pare and William DeFoe is one of the greatest fights commited to celluoid.The soundtrack is next to none in terms of energy and passion,showing why jim steinman is one of the best song writers of a generation.

The film is just one constant rush of action and music,and even the tender 'love moments'are fitting,unlike many films in which the love interests slow down the film.

You would be mad to miss this film,as it shows how much energy the 80's really had
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Streets of Fire, 5 Feb 2004
Typical Walter Hill mixture of action, romance and adventure, set in a fantasy location, with great imagery and pace. Good fun, exciting blends of music and atmosphere with some memorable moments. If you don’t take it seriously a most enjoyable movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, sweet biker-lover film, 25 Mar 2008
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
This film is typically eighties! If you grew up around then, this movie will sooo take you back. It is perhaps not the most complicated plot ever; it is simple - yet it works great for what it is. You have the beautiful, the bad, and the brave - the bikers, the lovers... And on top of all, you have Jim Steinman (Meatloaf) making music: It is absolutely great! So curl up into you man or woman, and enjoy! We most certainly did!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They're going nowhere but they 're going nowhere fast,, 13 July 2005
By 
Amazon Customer (The Zenith City, Duluth, Minnesota) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
You and me, we're goin' nowhere slowly
And we gotta get away from the past
There's nothin' wrong with goin' nowhere, baby
But we should be goin' nowhere fast
It's so much better goin' nowhere fast
Jim Steinman bookends "Streets of Fire" with a couple of his operatic rock epics that make it clear he does not need Meatloaf or even Bonnie Tyler to make his songs sound great (Laurie Sargent and Holly Sherwood get the honors respectively) and director William Hill tries to get us from the big opening to the grand finale by telling a story about a guy trying to get his girl back with a little help from his friends. Ry Cooder provides the rock pulse in the middle aided and abetted by the Beaters and their raucous "One Bad Stud." There is no doubt that the soundtrack fuels this 1984 rock & roll fable that has achieved cult status with its fans, of whom I would clearly be one.
This is a biker movie where Fifties sensibilities are dressed up with a touch of haute couture, Studebakers are the king of the road, the elevated train tracks dominate the city streets, and do-wop groups do the Moonwalk. Ellen Aim (Diane Lane) and the Attackers are doing a big concert back home when the Bombers show up and kidnap the singer at the order of their leader, Raven Shaddock (Willem Dafoe). So Reva (Deborah Van Valkenburgh) who runs the local diner wires her kid brother, Tom Cody (Michael Paré), an ex-solider and Ellen's ex-flame to come home and put things to rights. He walks into the diner and the arrival of a gang of young punks gives him an immediate opportunity to demonstrate that even though he has skinny arms Tom can take care of business (plus he is way cool, as demonstrated by his giving the first punk a second opportunity to try and get his switchblade act together). He also gets a nice fire engine red convertible in return.
Of course, not even Tom Cody can take the Bombers on all by himself, so along for the fun is McCoy (Amy Madigan), another ex-soldier who gets to do the driving and Billy Fish (Rick Moranis), who is not only Ellen's manager but her (for lack of a better word) current boyfriend. Billy has a mouth on him and while Tom never slaps him down McCoy has some fun egging him on about Tom being Ellen's old flame. But getting Ellen out of the Battery is only part of the job, because Tom has to get her back home and you know there is going to be a show down between Raven and Tom (but you probably be surprised by Raven's choice of weapons).
The movie is something of a let down after the credits end, especially since the film editors do some nice wipes and freeze frames that make for a memorable title credits. That comes back for the bit set to Steve Nick's "Sorcerer" (also sung by Sargent), but the opening number "Goin' Nowhere Fast" gets you hooked and it is not until "Tonight Is What It Means to Be Young" at the end that there is that much energy on the screen. I suppose it would have been exhausting to have twice as many Steinman numbers in this film, but this is a musical where the performer needs to be on stage to sing, which is underscored by the music video on the television sets in the bar that allows Ellen to sing a third song.
There is also a problem because the chemistry between Tom and Ellen is pretty sedate. I know what I see in Ellen Aim because I had a crush on Diane Lane when she was in "A Little Romance" and in this film she is grown up enough from being on the cover of "Time" that such thoughts are no longer bad things (By the time she was nominated for an Oscar for "Unfaithful" she could not be more grown up as far as I am concerned, although her Stella in the Baldwin-Lange version of "Streetcar" was pretty good too). But whatever Tom say in Ellen is pretty much buried in the past. Her emotional high point is when she runs to him in the pouring rain, while his is the long last look he gives her at the end. As Ellen sings in "Sorcerer," they are just a "man and woman on a star street in the middle of a snow dream" (go ahead, try and prove something that metaphorical does not hold true).
Still it proves impossible for me not to just go along for the ride. After all, a boy can be the next best thing to an angel and Ellen might not be an angle but at least she's a girl and I've got a dream that when the darkness is over they'll be lyin' in the rings of the sun, but these lovers are star crossed not star kissed. But, hey, it's all we've really got tonight and when I start treating Steinman's overblown lyrics like a Shakespearean sonnet you know I have no choice in the end but to round up on this one even though the DVD does not include the memorable music videos that were released separately on video way back when.
Let the revels begins
Let the fire be started
We're dancing for the desparate and the brokenhearted
Tonight is what it means to be young
Before you know it, it's gone
Say a prayer in the darkness for the magic of love
No matter what it seems
Tonight is what it means to be young
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sheer brilliance and the best fight scene ever, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Steven - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
Sometimes described as an urban western the premise of this movie is nothing new. Directed by Walter Hill, produced by Joel Silver. With an extremely capable cast list including Michael Pare, Dianne Lane, Rick Moranis, Amy Madigan, Willem Dafoe and Bill Paxton, and even a cameo by Ed Begley Jr. this highly stylised actioner mis-fired at the box office but has earned a deserved cult status ever since its release in the 80's. Set within an eclectic retro mix of 50's and 80's and with character motivations as plain as a manila envelope you know exactly what your getting as soon as the action starts. Personally, I found Rick Moranis and Amy Madigan offensively mis-cast, but they don't spoil things too much.

The obligatory fight scene when the good guy dukes it out with the bad guy is one of the best I've ever seen. No kung fu crap, just two blokes and a couple pick axes. It doesn't get any better than this, a personal favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Streets of fire, 5 Feb 2011
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
First seen this movie back in 1984 on an Oil rig in the North Sea and found it to be great. The music and storey. Tried to find it around the late 1990, but could not. Then my wife got it on VHS. Tape wasn't that great. Then a couple of months ago found it on Amazon. The movie is a bit dated but hay still great to watch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great oldy, 15 Nov 2010
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
I have been searching for this film for years, found it on Amazon.
This film is a classic and the soundtrack is amazing. Loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars streets of fire, 30 Oct 2010
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
if you just want pure entertainment then this is the film for you. a bit cheesy but who cares?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ROCK AND ROLL ALL THE WAY, 10 Oct 2010
By 
BABU VARMA "B.K. Varma" (Trichur East, Kerala State, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
Streets Of Fire [DVD] [1984]This is one Walter Hill film that will never fade from your memories. I first saw the film on the big screen, way back in 1984, when it was released. I was a student of Medicine in KMC Mangalore at that time and the streets of the city literally roared with the sound of our motorbikes. We the KMC Medicos saw the film again and again. As soon as the end credits start rolling all the motorbikes of us students would start rumbling and roaring like the bikes in the film and then we would be doing exactly what Michael Pare and Co did in the film. It certainly was a cult film. It ran packed house for many many days. Now to the DVD. I just bought the DVD from Amazon.Co.UK a couple of days back and let me tell you my it brought back all the memories from 26 years ago. By the time the film ended in the Home Theater, I was already telling my wife that I wanted to buy a motorbike. She told me to remember that I was not a teenager any more. Guys let me tell you, this movie really rocks. I will not dwell into the storyline, acting reviews so on and so forth, because that's totally uncalled for. I personally think that this is the ultimate 'Bike-movie'. The music is truly awesome. You have to see the DVD in a Home Theater fitted with state of the art sound effects and then you will not know what hit you. The length of the movie is 90 minutes, but you will feel that it ended in less than 30 minutes. One gets so involved or rather engrossed in the film that time flies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of My All Time Favourites, 27 May 2010
By 
Reynold Pereira (Brussels, Belgium) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Streets Of Fire [DVD] (DVD)
I've seen this film several times on video years ago and when I saw that the dvd was on sale via Amazon, I purchased it immediately.

Everything about this film is great; the settings, the characters, the music and my personal favourite, the one-on- one fight scene at the end. This is one cool rock 'n' roll fable!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Streets Of Fire [DVD]
Streets Of Fire [DVD] by Walter Hill (DVD - 2009)
Used & New from: £9.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews