Customer Reviews


104 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DDF Rules!
I first saw this movie when I was about seven years old, and the only thing that I could remember was Fred's shoes lying in the street after he's been run over by a fire engine.
Fortunately, I got the video a few years later (and wore it out...I had to buy the DVD yesterday!) and totally fell in love with it.
Drop Dead Fred may not be a "typical" kids...
Published on 7 Oct 2005 by Cat

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars DVD was 'brand new in case' yet still jumped as ...
DVD was 'brand new in case' yet still jumped as if scratched when watched, tried it in various dvd players to make sure it was the disc that was faulty and it was.
Published 12 days ago by Tomhill


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DDF Rules!, 7 Oct 2005
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I first saw this movie when I was about seven years old, and the only thing that I could remember was Fred's shoes lying in the street after he's been run over by a fire engine.
Fortunately, I got the video a few years later (and wore it out...I had to buy the DVD yesterday!) and totally fell in love with it.
Drop Dead Fred may not be a "typical" kids movie...But would you expect that with the genius Rik Mayall playing Fred?
This is a sweet, funny, and...Yeah okay, I'll say it...Heartwarming movie that you can watch again and again and get something else from it each time. Anyone who thinks Rik can't act, look at his last scene with Lizzie.
I still cry to this day ^_~
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An uproariously hilarious movie!, 24 Aug 2004
By 
Kurt A. Johnson (Marseilles, IL USA) - See all my reviews
When Elizabeth (played by Phoebe Cates) finds her marriage to a manipulative, two-timing husband (Tim Matheson) on the rocks, to her chagrin, her mother moves her back home and takes control of her life. But then she makes a strange discovery, in the back of her old closet is her old jack-in-the-box, covered in the tape her mother had put there to lock in her imaginary friend, Drop Dead Fred. Opening the tape, who should pop out? Not jack, but Drop Dead Fred (Rik Mayall)!
Fred is stark raving mad, and out to cause as much mayhem as possible, but no one can see him but Elizabeth, so who still gets the blame after all these years? But Fred is back, because Elizabeth is terribly unhappy. In his own weird and wacky way, he is out to set Elizabeth on the right track, and everyone needs a friend.
This is a very funny movie, an uproariously hilarious movie! Rik Mayall (Rick from The Young Ones) does a great job of taking Fred over the top, and off to the outer reaches of wackiness. His gross humor (lots of doggy-do, nose-picking, hits to the head, and so forth) may turn some off, but is sure to please any connoisseur of craziness.
Now, is this a family-friendly movie? Well, not exactly, there are some off-color remarks and adult innuendo, but not much. The big problem is that there is one scene where you see a naked man from behind. But, other than that it is pretty good. I showed it to my kids, and they loved it. I liked that it also had a lesson of finding happiness inside yourself.
So, as for my family and I, we loved this movie, and highly recommend it to you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop Dead Fred, 27 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
This has been my favourite film for as long as i could remember! It's a definate must-see for anyone of any age; it's a truly inspirational film about facing your fears, of course mixed with amazing humour that will have you in stitches for hours! I really do think you should watch this film, it's just too good to miss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PIRATES!!!!!, 21 April 2001
By A Customer
Drop Dead Fred is a b-grade comedy that will have even the grannies wetting their knickers! Rik Mayall is in fine form playing Drop Dead Fred who relies on insults and destruction (including shaving cats, "painting" Grandma Bunce, making sweaters stripy and killing Mr Poo)to ensure his pal Elizabeth is happy so he can get back home..but Lizzy isn't happy cos her "stupid ugly fat grown up husband" has left her and she's all alone...so Fred does everything he can to get Charles back...but will this make Lizzy happy? Sure the film has it's flaws and sure you can see the boom microphones hanging over head in some shots but forget all that and indulge in the funniest "kids" film in years! Drop Dead Fred is classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I LOOOOOOOVE this film!, 22 Aug 2007
By 
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Drop dead fred is an absolutly fantastic film. I can't even remember how i heard about it - i was born a year after it was even released - but whatever it was that sparked an interest only happened recently. I read lots of reveiws without having seen more than half anf hour of the film and found them all to be dissapointing, all pointing out the flaws and negatives - which, having bought it and now looking back, i cant seem to find in this film.

The hilarious portrayal of Fred by Rik Mayall was fantastic - both brilliantly funny and also amazingly touching when it's needed. Pheobe Cates hits the character of Lizzie perfectly and just brings the tone of the film into something great. And you really have to have a respect for any actor who can keep a straight face when Rik Mayall is hopping about infront of them :o)

I do have something...not a problem...but perhaps a hinderance, i have spotted with this film. You have to have some sort of connecion with being a child...you have to be able to embrace how fun this film is and too many people, it seems, are so focused on how things should be and how things are in their reality that they cant just let go and love the humour and love in this film! I feel that even though the reception of this film seemed to bomb, for anyone who felt it as it was supposed to have been seen they will always hold thias film dear to them.

If you are a fan of Rik, if you like to laugh or if you think you still have the spark left that is echoed in this film then you NEED to see it! And if you dont you should see it anyway and it might help bring it back. There is a very good chance you'll end up falling in love with this film just as i have.x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Original: A True Classic, 25 April 2007
By 
Andrew D. Scobie "ascomrie" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I think it can be safely said that Drop Dead Fred is a true classic piece of comedy. For those who are fans of 'Bottom' and 'Guest House Paradiso' you will not be disapointed by Mayall's portrayal of Phobe Cates' imaginary Friend.

At the start of the film, Elizabeth is a court reporter who in one day loses her husband, her car and her job. Things go from bad to worse when she returns home to find her dominating and ruthless Mother waiting on her. Elizabeth is emotionally overpowered by her Mother and taken back to her Mother's restrictive house. Whilst looking through her old belongings Elizabeth stumbles upon an old jack in the box. The box is unsealed and Drop Dead Fred her childhood imaginary friend returns to her life. Fred is unable to leave until she is happy, Elizabeth must struggle with Fred's hillarious yet dangerous antics, whilst trying to rebuild her shattered life.

The plot combined with Rick Mayall's comedy genius make Drop Dead Fred a true classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Snot Face Wake APPPPPPPP!, 11 July 2000
By A Customer
The best English Actor ever, from 'Bottom' to this or this to 'Bottom' whatever came first, its just so funny, you will kill yourself at Rik Mayall, he is so funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop Dead Fred Fans Unite!, 10 Jun 2004
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
It's years since I last saw DDF, so I'm thrilled to see the dvd is being released at the end of the month. If you like Rik Mayall in Bottom, The young ones et al, then here you will see him at his finest.
In-your-face wit shines throughout this film, though if you're not a fan of surrealist images then an imaginary friend with an attitude problem might not prove too funny.
Look out for the classic scene of Lizzie sitting in the dentist's waiting room, when allt he kids are gathered, and their imaginary friends (which only the children and lizzie, now in her thirties, can see) playing together.
All in all, this film is a must for any serious comedy fan - they don't make 'em like they used to!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Drop Dead Fred!!!, 4 July 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
I just saw the film last night and it's the best film i've ever seen! It's got comedy, romance, a bit scary at times and i loved it so much i'm buying it as soon as possible! You have to watch it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Drop down laughing, 27 Jun 2012
By 
Jackiesmackie "Independently Different" (UK, Blackburn) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] (DVD)
Delightful and silly movie. I have seen this film so many times and I always have a good laugh. Did you have an imaginary friend? I know not everyone did as a child but I did. Funnily enough my friend lived in the drain in the kitchen sink and we talked while I was washing up. I even remember his name...anyway. Drop dead Fred by name is large as life and twice as ugly, naughty, mischievous, he leads little Lizzie astray, he helps her deal with her overbearing mother by giving her little tasks to do which always end in hilarious disaster! Her life falls to ruins and she seeks his help once more, Fred isn't impressed she is all grown up and really does try his best, but it isn't easy, her mum is trying to take over again and if she does, Fred will be no more. A warm and funny film chartering a relationship between a girl and her past and her struggles to be in charge of her own life. There aren't many films that warm my cockles like this one. Go crazy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991]
Drop Dead Fred [DVD] [1991] by Ate de Jong (DVD - 2010)
4.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews